Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
71 Reviews
123.5633845
Write A Review
February 14, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

February 14, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

We sponsor 4 children and having read "A Hole in Our Gospel" over the Christmas holiday I felt compelled to add another... Maybe more down the road. We are at a stage in our life where we feel that we have been so blessed that it is time to give others opportunities that they may not otherwise have. We have been involved with WV for almost 10 years. I was introduced to the organization through a Women if Faith Conference.
I love the concept of having a personal relationship with a specific child. Most charities you just give but don't really establish a relationship with any recipients.
I also think it is very wise to take on communities as well where the children.
3-4 times a year we receive personal letters and periodic updated from WV as well about each child and that child's community.
Two if our Kids are Christian, one is Muslim and one is Buddhist. I have found myself judging less and praying more as I learn about the lives of these kids. Of course I hope that the two non Chistians may be called to Christ at some point in their life ... However, that is not why I am helping them... If that occurs then Praise God and the Holy Spirit.
I really didn't do alot of homework before we started supporting this wonderful organization. About a year ago I did some and felt positive about it financially. I just learned about the CEOs salary amount. I think a this person deserves the amount but he no doubt has done very well before he came on board in the private sector.... but wouldn't it be so awesome if one his own he chose to forego a good portion of the amount returning it to the organization... Maybe in his own way he has already done something comparable. I
I also believed that some of the expenses for fundraising could be trimmed. If I could see a reduction in both these areas, my rating would be the highest possible!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 14, 2013
12 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
1 previous review
August 3, 2012

I sponsored 3 children in Uganda. I had the chance to visit 2 in 2011. One child had none of the items I sent her and couldn't afford the school fees to attend the school my dollars given in her name ... more

January 14, 2013
12 people found this review helpful

Poor oversight and no accountability! I was sponsoring 3 children in Uganda through World Vision for about 1 1/2 yrs. I had the opportunity to visit them and found one child did not know he had a sponsor until 10 days before I arrived though I had received mail supposedly in his name and thank you notes for gifts I had sent. The other child had only a few letters I had sent but nothing else though I had received letters regarding other gifts in her name, and she was not in school because the family could not afford the fees though my sposorship money was supposed to pay for her school. The WV rep said my money supported community projects not the individual child which I felt bordered on fraud. I ended my sponsorship though I continue to support the children though private means. After I contacted WV to discuss this they said they were "investigating" and I have heard no concrete results from this "investigation". Beware large organizations-know where your money goes!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 3, 2012
10 people found this review helpful

I sponsored 3 children in Uganda. I had the chance to visit 2 in 2011. One child had none of the items I sent her and couldn't afford the school fees to attend the school my dollars given in her name was supporting. The second child didnt even know he had a sponsor until 10 days befor I came, though I had been paying for over 1 1/2 yrs. Also I brought a friend who was a native speaker and who told me the WV reps. were not telling me the truth about what the child and his famiy were saying. Also when I left the WV staff gave this family a letter saying I did not want to sponsor them because they "lied" about not having a sponsor. I contacted the office in Seattle and sent them all the letters I had received in the children's names, as well as the phony dismissal letter, etc. and WV said they would "look into it". A year later and they still have no response. WV is too big and there is no accountability. Zero stars!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 24, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
December 24, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

I have been a long time donor to the charity and have a high regard for its work. I would however hope that less funds be spent on the glossy brochures that I receive (which do nothing to influence my giving other than create a negative perception as to overhead costs).

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unsure

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 20, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
December 20, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Easily our favorite charity! We sponsor a child and have had our kids pick items from their Christmas catalog to give.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 1, 2012

Our favorite charity, my wife and I have sponsored three children consecutively. For the first two kids we were notified when the kids and their community did not need our help any longer. They asked if we would like to sponsor another child. We did. It is awesome they get the children and their communities self sufficient. They also have many opportunities to give with matching donations as high as twelve times our donation.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 26, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 26, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

We sponsor 2 children with World Vision and love the work they're doing. We do not hear from these children directly very often, but we do receive updates from their communities. These children are in very remote parts of Africa--our little girl is from the Congo. Some similar Christian charities lack the capacity to create infrastructure in such inaccessible places. Proud to stand with World Vision in the Congo which has had 2 civil wars that have killed over 6 million people. Violence is still ongoing in parts of that country. Love that World Vision is working to create self-sustaining communities by partnering with those communities to prioritize needs and create local solutions-- a hand up--not a hand out. Finally my sponsorship dollars not only benefit our sponsored children--they benefit the ENTIRE community. We also sponsor with another Christian group from Colorado that requires children to come to their church based centers. World Vision is a Christian humanitarian group that helps everyone regardless of their religion. I think this is an especially powerful way to share God's love.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 25, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
November 25, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

World Vision is a good charity and they do a lot of good for disadvantaged children in struggling communities. As a child sponsor I would like to see fewer brochures and expensive printings sent to me and more money directed to the children and communities in need. I also would like to see a CEO salary more in line with the $150k per year charity average than the $380k they currently pay. I often wonder if I am paying $35 per month to the benefit of my sponsored child or to the $380k per year benefit of a CEO?

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unsure

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
November 14, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

The work done by World Vision is very important but I would like less money be spent on publications sent to donors which ends up in the trash.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 4, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
November 4, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

We have been associated with World Vision for approximately 35 years. My wife and I helped with phone calls to raise donations in the mid-70's and she worked as an Administrative Assistant there for a year or two in the 70's also. We have been monthly donors to World Vision for 25-30 years. We have always found the people at World Vision to act with the highest integrity. They demonstrate concern for the people whom they serve and they also demonstrate concern in regards to accountability for the donations received. Every time we have asked any type of a question, they have responded immediately. They provide us impact statements for the projects we support. We periodically research charities and World Vision in particular, to make certain that we are being good stewards with our giving. We have never been disappointed in World Vision. They have been a wonderful witness for God's love.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 23, 2012
10 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
October 23, 2012
10 people found this review helpful

scam scam scam... notice on their website there is nowhere a reasonable person can find to cancel their account or their autogiving.. after giving for almost a year i attempted to cancel the account ,, you can not find a place on the website to cancel.. you go to the faq no answer you go to the search box enter cancel or cancellation, nothing comes up.. you call the 800 number the person their can not find out ont he web how to cancel either.then when they tell you over the phone they will cancel for you and you ask for an email confirmation all of a sudden their system cna not email you that information you need to wait for a letter to come in the mail... so now i sit and wait to see if this is cancelled or not..its surreal that they make it impossible to cancel trying to drag one more last payment out of you....what a shame, exceot what a great lesson that my 12 yr old now learned that just because someone has a good looking website does not make the reputable..now this week i will teach how to blog about this and how to forward this information to the appropriate authorities..

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers