Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
71 Reviews
123.5633845
Write A Review
November 29, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 29, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I have been giving to World Vision for over ten years. I've always received thank you's from children in Africa for sending letters, pictures, and gifts that WV sends to me to send to sponsored child. I still give for different things throughout the year because I cannot afford to sponsor a child every month. I'm shocked to see people complain about how much the CEO makes. People from all over the world donate and 95% goes directly to the poor while the other 5% goes to the people who advertise and send supplies. Do you remember the computer that won over a million dollars on Jeopardy donated all of the winnings to WV? And that was just one donation! Also, I'm shocked to hear people are offended by WV showing TV ads of young girls in Human Trafficking crisis. People care more about dogs and cats than children and babies in America! Hello, slavery IS real and it should never be tolerated in any part of the world, especially in America, especially to children! Awareness is KEY! We need to stop this and if you're offended, how do you think the children feel being tortured every day? You want to sweep them under the rug so you don't have to be reminded of it? How would you like to live it? I thank God for WV and any other charity that helps the voiceless and the helpless. Bless you all who work for Jesus!
February 23, 2014
4 people found this review helpful

more

February 23, 2014
4 people found this review helpful

I'll guarentee you that most people complaining on here could never be satisfied. That truth is to be taken into consideration.
I have been a sponsor with World Vision for almost 3 years. I sponsor 4 African children. I have visited two of them; one in Swaziland and another in Zimbabwe. They
were both different experiences, but each country is different and you have to expect some of that.
What World Vision is doing for these poor people is amazing. They are working with broken, starving, sick people and giving them the tools and means to survive, and these folks thrive. It may take 15 + years to bring them to a place of SELF-SUFFICIENCY but they do it. They don't just drill a well and go away. They teach them to maintain their wells and at the same time create jobs for their futures. That goes without saying in their clinics, schools and agricultural efforts.
I only hope that everyone of these negative posts were followed by a call to the headquarters and an attempt to clarify things, because this is NOT the World Vision I have come to know. The Rep I speak to is professional, and will resolve any problem that I ever have. It's a shame how cruel some people speak, and quite frankly that attitude alone disqualifies anything they have to say, in my opinion.
Thank-You World Vision for valuing the broken, destitute children of the world. It's working.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 8, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
October 8, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

One of my favorite things about World Vision is the fact that out of their 40,000 employees, 95% of them are indigenous to the country where they serve. Giving locals jobs simply continues the support that people in a poor area are getting and it also allows those being served to have aid workers that are familiar with their customs. I have been a child sponsor for over 4 years and a volunteer ambassabor for nearly 2 years.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 6, 2012

more

August 6, 2012

I am proud to be associated with Red Cross in Kenya. Red Cross Kenya is doing a good job in disaster management and crisis resolution whenever there is an incident in any corner of the country, Red Cross arrive there first and provide first aid for the victims. As a Life member i am satisfied that my donations and efforts are not going to waste.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 16, 2012
7 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
July 16, 2012
7 people found this review helpful

I've read many of the reviews that others have listed for WV. We have 3 children that we sponsor through WV since 2007 and have had a life-changing experience sponsoring these children! I've conducted a LOT of research into this non-profit, which has become my favorite. I've read many critical comments that I actually believe to be erroneous or that have had gaps of critical information missing in their complaints. If you're unhappy or you feel displeased about your sponsorship, I think you should call and voice your concerns as you might be mistaken, have an honest misunderstanding and you might find yourself pleasantly surprised. :)

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 28, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
May 28, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

To those of you that say that Rich Stirns is hypocritical for the money he receives. I disagree. The bible states in 12:48, "But the one who does not know and does things deserving punishment will be beaten with few blows. From everyone who has been given much, much will be demanded; and from the one who has been entrusted with much, much more will be asked." Rich Stirns makes a lot of money. That is not bad! God has blessed him with much, and with that He expects much. I believe that Rich Stirns heart is not where his money is, he is a giving man who has been blessed and does all he can for the glory of the Lord. Take the log out of your own eye before you sit here and point at the splinter in others. God knows where Stirns heart is and no one else is to judge but the Lord himself. I appreciate all that Stirns has done for this nation and for the world. I believe he is a man who has been given much and has done much with what he is given. He is a great man and I will continue to sponsor World Vision for years to come.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 29, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
July 29, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

We sponsor 3 children with World Vision. Recently our church teamed with WV to reach out to a newer region in Ethiopia. I was able to travel with them and see a village that had been helped for 19 years by World Vision along with our new village where WV has been there 2 years. WOW is all I can say. I was so entirely impressed by the work of World Vision. I came away truly understanding child sponsorship and that it means life to its fullest for a child AND community. I saw how fresh water REALLY is needed, they need to learn farming techniques, they need schools and medical clinics. WV is there to help provide those needs to struggling areas. I cannot say enough about the terrific work of World Vision!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Seeing HOW they reach out and help struggling communities. I saw first hand what a difference it makes to the life of a child and community. I was so impacted that now I volunteer to find sponsors for kids.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Not send so many snail mails. They don't bother me - but I have friends that get tired of the mail.

January 15, 2010
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 15, 2010
1 person found this review helpful

I have been giving to World Vision since 1989 and have nothing but praise for the organization. 87% of their donations go directly to the people in the countries that need it. They are in over 100 countries around the world providing humanitarian relief efforts 24/7. I would highly encourage anyone to join them in helping the people of Haiti. They have 370 staff members on the ground although most of them are shell shocked from this disaster and need relief themselves. So please donate now to help the people of Haiti. Thank you!

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

It consistently gives to the poorest of the poor by teaching, training, providing basic services but also by helping people to help themselves. I know adults that were sponsored as children that are now leading productive lives.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every week

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers