Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
70 Reviews
123.5428645
Write A Review
August 6, 2012

more

August 6, 2012

I am proud to be associated with Red Cross in Kenya. Red Cross Kenya is doing a good job in disaster management and crisis resolution whenever there is an incident in any corner of the country, Red Cross arrive there first and provide first aid for the victims. As a Life member i am satisfied that my donations and efforts are not going to waste.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 16, 2012
7 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
July 16, 2012
7 people found this review helpful

I've read many of the reviews that others have listed for WV. We have 3 children that we sponsor through WV since 2007 and have had a life-changing experience sponsoring these children! I've conducted a LOT of research into this non-profit, which has become my favorite. I've read many critical comments that I actually believe to be erroneous or that have had gaps of critical information missing in their complaints. If you're unhappy or you feel displeased about your sponsorship, I think you should call and voice your concerns as you might be mistaken, have an honest misunderstanding and you might find yourself pleasantly surprised. :)

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 9, 2012
11 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
July 9, 2012
11 people found this review helpful

I sponsored seven children and did not find out the truth about sponsorship for many years. All of the thousands of dollars that I paid all those years to ensure that my sponsored children had food, clean water, education, and medical care were wasted. In addition, I gave multiple $500-$1,000 "gift notifications" to World Vision to buy things for specific children, for example to purchase oxen (twice), to build a home, and to build and stock a chicken farm. When inquiring about a specific child who I had sponsored for seven years, I was told that she was being fed three times per week at school. OK, so World Vision feels that three meals a week constitutes the child being fed? What about the rest of the time? No food help from World Vision. I also learned that yes, the child receives a medical exam once per year, but not treatment of any health problems. My child needed iron tablets, which cost pennies, but World Vision would not provide those to my child. It makes me sick to think of the thousands of dollars I gave to World Vision now that I know almost no good was done with any of it. Donors, beware!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unlikely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

June 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I only hope the money I give will do good for the child I am sponsoring and his family as well as his village. I did receive a letter from my sponsor child's parents thanking me for sponsoring their child, it was a nice letter. I hope World Vision will only become more efficient with funds and continues to try to help people as best as they can. I'm not a Christian but I think this is the best charity to help a sponsored child, and that is what really matters.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 7, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 7, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

We have donated monthly to support a child for a couple years now and we think it is the best nonprofit organization out there. We love how they help people and how they get their donors involved in helping others. We also think how they break down their finances is reasonable and purposeful. If any employee is making a lot of money, we trust the organization to have good reason for it. It is easy for us to say that they make too much and the money should go to help others, however we trust them and believe that their hearts are in the right place and I'm sure they use their own money to be generous to others as opposed to lavish spending.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 31, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

more

May 31, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

For those of you debating about what the World Vision President makes: The email circulating is false, but only in that it refers to World Vision (Canada). The President for World Vision U.S. is the one that makes nearly half a million a year salary. The email was correct, however it should have noted World Vision U.S. President Richard Stearns and (not) World Vision Canada President Dave Toycen. Regardless, they're under the same umbrella. If you still don't believe it's true look it up, it's all public info. Here it is on Forbes: http://www.forbes.com/lists/2010/14/charity-10_World-Vision_CH0194.html

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unsure

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unsure

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
May 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Unfortunately I did not do my research when I sponsored two children from World Vision, to see what their employees or CEO's are paid, or even researched what the children are learning. I was already a sponsor with Compassion International for 3 children at the time and another sponsor had a child with World Vision so I chose a couple also. Since then, which has been almost 6 years now, I have noticed the difference between Compassion and World Vision and I would prefer to give more support to Compassion. I do believe World Vision does a lot of good work but I like the openness of Compassion and how they do things regarding the paperwork and the finances. I was actually a volunteer level II Advocate until this past January when I had to give it up due to Shingles affecting me physically, I still have them. I would never tell anyone not to choose World Vision nor would I promote them, I tell everyone that they are a good organization but I do prefer Compassion. Every years since I became a sponsor Compassion has continued to show good results through Charity Navigator.

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

tours and field trips taken to a couple of the countries where I sponsor children. I actually was able to meet two of my children on two different trips. I and others on the tour received a tour of the Compassion Local Offices to see how they handle the letters that are sent to the children; also tours of some projects, and actually visited some of the homes of some sponsored children. There was a distinct improvement between Compassion sponsored children and non-sponsored children.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I don't believe I would change anything.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What specific problem, purpose, priority, or project prompted your gift?

I did not not make a gift, I sponsor children and partner with 3 child survival projects as well as include a separate donation for their HIV/Aids program. I was prompted by the Lord to become a sponsor. The Earthquake in Haiti did prompt me to send in a separate donation just for those with Compassion who had lost families and homes in Haiti.

Why did you make your donation at this time?

See above.

What would you tell others about this organization?

I would tell them just what I told the various churches that held Compassion Sundays, that Compassion was a reliable, caring, loving organization that only wants the best for the children of the world, especially in third world countries, that they are honest, trustworthy, and care more about helping the children not only survive but to come to know Jesus Christ. They also care more about how their money is used to help the children, which includes their families, their projects, their communities and eventually even their countries.

May 28, 2012

more

May 28, 2012

No doubt it is a good charity and the goal is admirable. Still $380.6 K is a lot of money for someone whose goal is to help. If he made !00 K less, think of how many more children could be helped. As a percentage of the money involved, his salary is probably not exhorbitant. Nonetheless, the more he takes, the less goes to the children. I guess the Salvation Army needs to go overseas. I did not volunteer time. Just a pretty good chunk of money in 2011. Those who give a physical effort God bless and more power to you. You are good people. . . . all of you and Mr. Sterns as well.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unsure

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

May 28, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
May 28, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

To those of you that say that Rich Stirns is hypocritical for the money he receives. I disagree. The bible states in 12:48, "But the one who does not know and does things deserving punishment will be beaten with few blows. From everyone who has been given much, much will be demanded; and from the one who has been entrusted with much, much more will be asked." Rich Stirns makes a lot of money. That is not bad! God has blessed him with much, and with that He expects much. I believe that Rich Stirns heart is not where his money is, he is a giving man who has been blessed and does all he can for the glory of the Lord. Take the log out of your own eye before you sit here and point at the splinter in others. God knows where Stirns heart is and no one else is to judge but the Lord himself. I appreciate all that Stirns has done for this nation and for the world. I believe he is a man who has been given much and has done much with what he is given. He is a great man and I will continue to sponsor World Vision for years to come.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 23, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 23, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Alvin, the email you are referring to is completely false. Snopes even ran an article on it: http://www.snopes.com/politics/business/charities.asp

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers