Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
69 Reviews
123.5217445
| 1 2 3 4...7 |
Write A Review
November 25, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
November 25, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

World Vision is a good charity and they do a lot of good for disadvantaged children in struggling communities. As a child sponsor I would like to see fewer brochures and expensive printings sent to me and more money directed to the children and communities in need. I also would like to see a CEO salary more in line with the $150k per year charity average than the $380k they currently pay. I often wonder if I am paying $35 per month to the benefit of my sponsored child or to the $380k per year benefit of a CEO?

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unsure

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
November 14, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

The work done by World Vision is very important but I would like less money be spent on publications sent to donors which ends up in the trash.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 4, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
November 4, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

We have been associated with World Vision for approximately 35 years. My wife and I helped with phone calls to raise donations in the mid-70's and she worked as an Administrative Assistant there for a year or two in the 70's also. We have been monthly donors to World Vision for 25-30 years. We have always found the people at World Vision to act with the highest integrity. They demonstrate concern for the people whom they serve and they also demonstrate concern in regards to accountability for the donations received. Every time we have asked any type of a question, they have responded immediately. They provide us impact statements for the projects we support. We periodically research charities and World Vision in particular, to make certain that we are being good stewards with our giving. We have never been disappointed in World Vision. They have been a wonderful witness for God's love.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 23, 2012
9 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
October 23, 2012
9 people found this review helpful

scam scam scam... notice on their website there is nowhere a reasonable person can find to cancel their account or their autogiving.. after giving for almost a year i attempted to cancel the account ,, you can not find a place on the website to cancel.. you go to the faq no answer you go to the search box enter cancel or cancellation, nothing comes up.. you call the 800 number the person their can not find out ont he web how to cancel either.then when they tell you over the phone they will cancel for you and you ask for an email confirmation all of a sudden their system cna not email you that information you need to wait for a letter to come in the mail... so now i sit and wait to see if this is cancelled or not..its surreal that they make it impossible to cancel trying to drag one more last payment out of you....what a shame, exceot what a great lesson that my 12 yr old now learned that just because someone has a good looking website does not make the reputable..now this week i will teach how to blog about this and how to forward this information to the appropriate authorities..

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 16, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 16, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

World Vision continues to impress me. We sponsor children in Africa to help educate them, encourage and empower them in their lives. We donate to individuals who do marathons that are sponsored by World Vision as well since together, they raise funds to create provide water wells that will last forever to help those in Africa. This organization embodies Christ's calling to serve the poor, the oppressed and those in need of love and care.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Lopez Lomong, Sudanese-American-Olympian spoke at our church's youth group recently. He's a World Vision spokesperson, having been a direct beneficiary of the power of Christian love. He advocates for this group because he knows the desperate need of those in Africa. Also, many in our church have donated their time running the Chicago marathon on behalf of World Vision, raising $80,000 to create wells in Africa. I'm called to give thanks to them as they represent the hands and feet of Jesus Christ.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I asked them to discontinue sending snail mail (which wastes resources) and they responded affirmatively! My money goes farther with them.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What specific problem, purpose, priority, or project prompted your gift?

Lopez Lomong impressed me. Additionally, I've recognized that I should give more to authentic Christian missions instead of my wealthy suburban church that I attend since I now question their stewardship of precious financial resources. Further, I've seen a shift within some leaders in my church from Christlike behavior and doctrine to Pharisaical, judgmental, political worldviews. I'm sad that my church has been corrupted by sin (pride & greed) but will continue to serve this community with my spiritual gifts, especially now that I've witnessed significant failure to comply with Christ's mandates to love and serve God & our oppressed neighbors. I give great thanks that I can contribute meaningfully to Christ's mission through World Vision.

Why did you make your donation at this time?

His calling, my gratitude for his guidance and blessings.

What would you tell others about this organization?

Pete Sterns, son of World Vision's CEO, is a leader in our youth community. Additionally, Dave & Char Mahar, Mark & Randi Lundgren, and many others have been humble servant leaders for World Vision in my village. I learn much from them and am indebted.

October 8, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
October 8, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

One of my favorite things about World Vision is the fact that out of their 40,000 employees, 95% of them are indigenous to the country where they serve. Giving locals jobs simply continues the support that people in a poor area are getting and it also allows those being served to have aid workers that are familiar with their customs. I have been a child sponsor for over 4 years and a volunteer ambassabor for nearly 2 years.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 24, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
September 24, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

My daughter who is 17 committed my family to a $35 monthly donation. This charity did not ask if she was 18, ask for ID or if she had permission to commit my family. I find that this is poor practice for an organization who is looking for world class recognition.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unlikely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 13, 2012
16 people found this review helpful

more

August 13, 2012
16 people found this review helpful

The following are two reviews for two different sponsored children through World Vision and two different situations entirely: one for a short lived sonsorship in Ghana, and  one that came to an abrupt end by World Vision in India this month.
1) I sponsored a girl in Ghana, but could not shake
the feeling that I was being ripped off by the local "charity".  I received a picture of a different girl, and when I called WV in the US to find out what was going on, was literally told that children change as they get older. Mind you, I had just started sponsoring the girl a few months earlier, so she must have turned into a different person within a few months. After insisting hat this was a different human being, they agreed to look into it. I never heard back about it. I also asked the WV employee on the phone how much oversight they had over Ghana employees, as I never heard back form the sponsored child after sending her mail. I was of course reassured that I had nothing to worry about. In the course of the following weeks, I sent another letter and parcel but never received an answer. Instead, I got a "progress report" (fill in the blank card) that was clearly filled out by an employee. He/she had the audacity to draw three lines in the back (drawing area for children) and write "vase" and "tree" next to them. The "drawings" were done with the same ballpoint pen, yet I had sent the girl color pencils and crayons. The girl being 10 years old, I expected her to at least draw her own drawing (what else is the point of it?!)and fill in the blanks on her report herself. (My name is ____ I am ___ years old... nothing fancy here!) When I called to inquire, the WV staff were ignorant to the fact that this 4th grader lived in a country with English as its official language and reminded me that they operated in countries where translators were needed!! They must have passed on my complaints, because I received 4 letters within 2 weeks, one thanking me for "all the gifts". The letters  were typed and kept referring to the girl as "the child". I decided not to keep sponsoring some corrupt Ghanaian employee's villa any longer and wrote one last good bye letter. Sadly, I will never know if this girl ever even knew she had a sponsor, or if she ever benefited from any money I sent. ............................................................. 2) I have been sponsoring a girl in India for the past 5 1/2 yrs, during which time, I only received two "progress reports" that were not even filled out by her herself, but by the WV employee in the respective office, though at the time of the last one she was in 4th grade and had taken English since 1st grade. Yesterday, I bought back to school gifts I wanted to send to her. When I logged into my online account last night to look up the address, a different child was presented to me as my sponsored child, in a different part of India, whom I had presumably started sponsoring 3 weeks ago?! I called up the office today and they informed me that WV was no longer needed in my sponsored girl's region and that they are stopping operations there. I no longer could sponsor her, write to her, find out about her, would never be able to get in touch with her due to their child protection policies, and in short, should just get over it and sponsor that other child they already signed me up for or any other child I chose. I am completely heart-broken, because I had planned on visiting her, on the day I made this commitment (it was never a matter of "if" and always a matter of "when") , I had commited to myself to see her through college and make sure that, when she is old enough, she would know that she has someone who can help her if she ever were in need. In short, I was determined to make this specific girl's life better and give her a real chance in life. While the monthly gift goes to the community, I had hoped that through letters, books, writing utensils, writing paper, an atlas, etc., she would gain an appreciation for school, and through an education have a better life. Now, I won't ever know anything about her. I never ever thought sponsorship could come to such an abrupt and unnatural end. The WV employee on the phone commended me for taking such interest in a person I do not know, and reminded me that child sponsorship never really goes directly to the child anyway, but to the community... yet, THEY create this bond on purpose by sending out a photo and a name, so that, as a sponsor, you associate ONE person with your gift. How would I not feel saddened to know that all this was taken away form her and me without as much as a prior notice.
Also, I never knew if she ever received any of the books, letters, pens, pencils, toys, etc. that I sent her. I am now looking to find a different organization where communication is more open. I feel burned by World Vision and can't get over the fact that I will never know if "my little girl" ended up on the street, in a brothel, as a child bride, or in college. And I will NEVER stop wondering.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 10, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
August 10, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

I have been sponsoring a girl in Mexico for two years. I gave 100 dollar special gift . I did get a picture of her with her gifts which was nice . The letter seemed fake though like it wasn't her talking. Also the letter had the wrong name on it. I called the field office and they said I was her only sponsor and not to worry. Besides thevthank you letters for money she never wrote.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unlikely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 6, 2012

more

August 6, 2012

I am proud to be associated with Red Cross in Kenya. Red Cross Kenya is doing a good job in disaster management and crisis resolution whenever there is an incident in any corner of the country, Red Cross arrive there first and provide first aid for the victims. As a Life member i am satisfied that my donations and efforts are not going to waste.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers