Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
68 Reviews
123.545
Previous | 1 2 3...7 |
Write A Review
October 8, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

more

October 8, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

I have seen WV's work first hand in Uganda & Rwanda. The holistic economic development model they are implementing in their area development programs is incredible. The people they employ are 95% in country employees which I find to be superior to other organizations because they aren't sending westerners to these countries.

I have also sponsored many children over the years through their sponsorship programs. It's not perfect and none of them are, but when you look at scale and impact of your money, $1 becomes more like $5 because they can influence local governments and make large scale change because they go into communities for 15+years at a time. Working on poverty is difficult, and if the Clinton Global Initiative and The Gates Foundation and Tom's Shoes is working with WV, I think they must be doing a darn good job.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 23, 2014

more

February 23, 2014

I'll guarentee you that most people complaining on here could never be satisfied. That truth is to be taken into consideration.
I have been a sponsor with World Vision for almost 3 years. I sponsor 4 African children. I have visited two of them; one in Swaziland and another in Zimbabwe. They
were both different experiences, but each country is different and you have to expect some of that.
What World Vision is doing for these poor people is amazing. They are working with broken, starving, sick people and giving them the tools and means to survive, and these folks thrive. It may take 15 + years to bring them to a place of SELF-SUFFICIENCY but they do it. They don't just drill a well and go away. They teach them to maintain their wells and at the same time create jobs for their futures. That goes without saying in their clinics, schools and agricultural efforts.
I only hope that everyone of these negative posts were followed by a call to the headquarters and an attempt to clarify things, because this is NOT the World Vision I have come to know. The Rep I speak to is professional, and will resolve any problem that I ever have. It's a shame how cruel some people speak, and quite frankly that attitude alone disqualifies anything they have to say, in my opinion.
Thank-You World Vision for valuing the broken, destitute children of the world. It's working.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

December 17, 2013

more

December 17, 2013

I have experience evaluating 2 projects of WVI, one in Africa and one in Montenegro. They are a good org. and having been around HQ., I can say they are not top-heavy in administrative costs. They do not force Christianity on anyone, in my experience. The beneficiaries in the Montenegro project were Muslim, and they were not even aware that WV is a Christian org. They approach development in an anthropological sound way--again, in my experience.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2005

November 23, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 23, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I've been giving just at Christmas, and after the reviews I think that will stop. I'm shocked at the huge salary the CEO is getting. I refuse to ever donate to the Red Cross because of the ridiculously high salary their CEO is getting. So, sorry World Vision, I'm finished with you.

Barbara, Colorado

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Change their operating system

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 16, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

November 16, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

I read a negative comment on here about what the CEO makes. Do you ask these questions when you buy a cell phone plan? Or how about that takeout burger you bought? Amazing what we value here. CEO's of companies as large as WV organization make double to triple the money. The CEO's actually take a pay cut to work for WV. Yes it is a lot of money. In a perfect world everyone would work for free. But honestly the qualifications to run a charity that operates in numerous countries around the world while advocating for change...... You don't think you need someday who knows what they are doing?? If they make mistakes they put everyone volunteering/working and those people they are trying to help in extreme danger in some of these places. The grand scope of what they accomplish isn't simple!
And the CEO's of these charities have chosen to leave other higher paying positions to do this. Smaller charities don't accomplish the same degree.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Show the success stories more. Provide statistics of accomplishments.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 7, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
May 15, 2013

Back in 1989, World Vision commissioned an internal study to see how much of each donor dollar was getting to the poor. The internal report showed less than 10% was received by the poor. How could thi... more

November 7, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

This organization misleads their donors about how much money goes to the end recipient. They say they only spend 15% on overhead, but that is only for the fundraising office. Each additional office takes additional monies. In some cases there are 5 additional offices taking cuts before the poor receive any benefit. I would estimated that only 10-20% of the original donated monies actually get to the programs helping the poor.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

They are so large and have so many levels that the monies get used up in the many levels of management, facilities, salaries, and benefits for staff that there is little left for the poor. They need to drastically slim down their overall overhead (they will respond and say they only spend 15% but they won't admit that is 15% for each level).

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 15, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Back in 1989, World Vision commissioned an internal study to see how much of each donor dollar was getting to the poor. The internal report showed less than 10% was received by the poor. How could this be?

World Vision is a large multi level organization. Each level takes a cut (1 -
Fundraising office, 2 - International office, 3 - Regional office, 4 - Country office, 5 - Project office). After all of the salaries and administrative cuts at each level, there was not much of the dollar left for the poor.

This report caused terror in the organization and the findings were quickly suppressed. Senior staff realized there was a big problem and there was a multitude of meetings to try to cut expenses, but sadly it never happened.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

This organization used to be a lot leaner, with less overhead. The staff at that time really cared about the poor and were very concerned about stewardship. It is my hope that World Vision returns to its roots.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Somewhat badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 26, 2013

more

August 26, 2013

Something really stinks here. They run these sleazy TV commercials and then keep the money that is sent in for themselves. They should be GIVING 90% of the donations they get, not keeping it.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

A complete audit and change of leadership.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 29, 2013

more

June 29, 2013

I BELIEVE THE COMMERCIAL THAT SHOWS YOUNG CHILDREN BEING SOLD IS VERY OFFENSIVE AS WE ALL KNOW WHAT GOES ON IN MANY FOREIGN COUNTRIES. IT ONLY GIVES PEOPLE IN OUR COUNTRIES MANY IDEAS, WHICH SHOULD NOT BE ALOUD.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

CHANGE THE COMMERCIAL, OR TAKE IT OUT COMPLETELY.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 28, 2013
5 people found this review helpful

more

April 28, 2013
5 people found this review helpful

I have been sponsoring different children in WV since 1991. My last child finished high school and promised to pay for her college. She and I used to write letters, more than the usual thank you or cards for Christmas. She became part of myfamily. she even called me "aunt". Anyway, I paid for her first semester in college and after that WV just kept telling me and sending me notices that I needed to pay my monthly dues. I called to tell then that paying for her college was more than four times my monthly dues. I thought WV would be more interested in me paying for her college than in paying WV dues for a child who doe snot live in the community anymore because moved to the city to go to college. Few months later and without any communication they stopped sending me ANY communication. WV did not send me any letters to pay for teh second semester so I am assuming she is not in college any longer. And, I have not received any letter from her. Who knows what she was told! Disgusting! How Christian is this! They are just interested in making a profit!!!!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 26, 2013
8 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
March 26, 2013
8 people found this review helpful

As a son of a non-profit CEO I am also outraged by the salaries of STC and World Vision executives. As a leader in Christ, you are called to sacrifice, not enrich yourselves. My father would at times pay his staff before himself - indeed even sometimes borrow. They rested on their faith, meeting for prayer every morning, and God did not fail to provide the needs of the staff and my family, as well as the constituents of the organization around the world.

I am ashamed that I have supported these two organizations for a decade without ever researching the salaries you pay yourselves. Enjoy your reward now Mr. MacCormack and Mr. Stearns, and encourage your cohorts to fully embrace theirs as well. For it is built upon the suffering of those whose stories you exploit for gain. Consider yourselves paid in full.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unsure

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3...7 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers