Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
83 Reviews
1234.807235
| 1 2 3 4...6 |
Write A Review
September 6, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

September 6, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

So I was looking for a way to travel and be useful and apply the only thing I know which is veterinary medicine and one day after collecting the mail...a journal fell open to a page with an article about World Vets. Not only did the opportunity check all the boxes above but also provided a chance to work with new vet students which I had done before and loved. So there I had it - everything I wanted wrapped into one great trip. And I was not let down. I have to admit that in the back of my mind I was not too sure about the true need for spay/neuter services in a Central American country but I was gratified to experience that what we had to offer was indeed much needed, wanted, and appreciated. And, I was pleased to learn that we were able to offer more than just surgery services. This was easily one of the best experiences of my life and the World Vets program is one I will continue to be a part of.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

So far there are no changes I would make.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 5, 2013

more

September 5, 2013

I had the opportunity to be an intern for the World Vets IVM Program in Granda, Nicaragua and it was a life changing experience for me. I had the time of my life and am/was so proud to represent such an awesome organization. I learned more about spaying and neutering than I could have imagined. I was given many hands on opportunities in the clinic and during the community outreach days. The education World Vets provides to the people of the community to help improve animal welfare is invaluable. They are teaching people how to care for their animals which in turn is improving the animal population and animal lives in the city of Granda. The housing and amenities were fantastic. I could not believe that I had the ability to be on the internet, had hot water, and air conditioning. My trip with World Vets gave me an amazing opportunity to meet so many new and interesting people. If you are interested in a veterinary trip I could not recommended a better organization to go with. My only recommendation to people going on trips with any group going out of the country is be willing to take anything unusual that may happen and chalk it up to a great experience. Sometimes water in all of Granda would go out or the whole city would lose power or the internet would go out. These things are out of the organizations hands, so be prepared to take these unusual things with a grain of salt and enjoy the experience.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 22, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

August 22, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I have been a volunteer with World Vets for 3 years, and I have a great deal of respect and admiration for all the people I have met during the six spay & neuter campaigns I have participated in. Most recently I traveled with my World Vets team to a remote area in Guatemala. It was a pilot project to the town of Livinston, and it was a huge success ! I have gained a lot of experience on each one of the trips I have been on, and I hope to continue with a trip or two a year. I also think it is money well spent, and I would not hesitate to recommend World Vets to anyone wanting to help make a difference !

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 29, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 29, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have participated in week long spay/neuter World Vet clinics in countries throughout both Central and South America over the last several years. Each experience brings me closer to what really is important in a veterinarian's life, to not only help an animal of total innocence live a healthier, longer life in the care of a person who really loves their pet, but also to educate local veterinarians and animal rescue groups to realize their incredible potential in places requiring such a need. Each experience was filled with hard work, adventure, and meeting individuals from all over. Each experience has created a fantastic memory that gives me the desire to always want to return.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Lower the costs for veterinary students, techs, and assistants.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 5, 2013

more

March 5, 2013

I have been on three missions with World Vets and plan to do at least one a year throughout the duration of my career. The experience is always very rewarding and everyone is so appreciative of the work we do. As volunteers and representatives of World Vets we are treated with respect and kindness by clients and organizational members themselves. In my opinion, that speaks volumes of the organizations reputation! My work fulfills me in so many ways however, my work with World Vets is fulfilling in a completely different way and I walk away knowing I have made a difference!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 11, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 11, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

My entire experience working with World Vets was simply amazing. I volunteered as a vet tech working in Granada, Nicaragua during the debut of the International Veterinary Medicine Program. It was very well organized and the World Vet staff showed endless compassion, patience and they enjoyed their work wholeheartedly. The impact made, not only for our four-legged friends, but for the people of Granada, in just one session (10 days) was immeasurable. Our schedule also allowed for ample time to visit/explore the culture while visiting. I strongly recommend anyone to volunteer with this outstanding organization and I know I am ready to plan my next expedition with WV!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 8, 2012

more

June 8, 2012

I have been on one World Vets trip to Granada Nicaragua. It´s great knowing an organization is making a difference but nothing is more rewarding and life-changing than getting to see it first hand. I am truly amazed with the services World vets provides....which is all free by the way. They are a hard working group of people with a clear simple vision...to help the plight of animals. While volunteering I saw the careful and thoughtful planning involved with working in another country and the relationships developed with the Nicaraguan vets to provide the best quality medicine. Had a blast teaching, meeting people, and exploring as well! If you are looking for an organization to volunteer your time to or donate World Vets is an amazing organization to start with.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 3, 2012

more

May 3, 2012

I have volunteered twice with World Vets and will join them again this October. Originally I volunteered knowing very little about this organization, apart from their web site. Upon signing up and actually attending my first trip, I quickly discovered the following: World Vets is a driven, committed organization. They don't cut corners and they do everything in their power to ensure the animals in the locations they assist receive the most Veterinary care they can offer. Volunteers are treated with respect, and are given a nice balance of "free" time versus "work" time. And as a non-Veterinarian, I was thrilled that the trips allowed me to learn and master new skills. This is a top-notch organization and I look forward to supporting it for many years to come.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 31, 2012

more

January 31, 2012

This will be my 3rd World Vets trip this coming March. I love going on these trips. World Vets is a great organization and a great experience. The trips are well organized, fun and hard work. It is a very rewarding experience on a personal level. The locals are so happy to have us there and happy to learn about how to make animal lives better. It is a tough world for animals in these countries and with World Vets presents it will help to improve the lives of the animals and their people.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

January 23, 2012

more

January 23, 2012

Truly a great organization to work for. I went to Thailand during the floods in 2011 to help out with animal rescue. The team that I worked with showed more heart, and the true sprite of volunteerism. I feel honored to be able to help out a great cause and hope to do more work.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers