Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
84 Reviews
1234.809525
Write A Review
October 31, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 31, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Infinitas gracias a World Vets desde el fondo del corazon, mas alla del servicio comunitario que brindaron, la calidez humana que tienen es increible! conocerlos fue una experiencia inolvidable y poder trabajar en conjunto fue un honor! Adoptame con Amor y responsabilidad les espera de nuevo con los brazos abiertos!! saludos y mucho amor desde Paraguay!! ♥

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

I have volunteered with World Vets in 5 different countries over the last several years. The experience has been life-changing. Not only is the volunteer experience excellent but more importantly I have seen first hand the impact of their work. They work in some of the poorest areas of the world, helping animals that are often in desperate need of veterinary attention. Every place I have volunteered, the community has expressed a deep sense of gratitude and appreciation for World Vets work. On a project in Ecuador, people and their pets were lined up the entire length of the street early in the morning so that they could get their pets spayed and neutered. Some people had walked for hours to get there. It makes me feel really good to be a part of something that is making such difference. I also appreciate that World Vets puts a huge emphasis on involving local veterinarians, sharing knowledge and building local capacity. Their programs go way beyond just helping animals too. They are transforming peoples lives and improving their communities. As a volunteer I have always felt appreciated and it is clear that everyone on the team plays a vital role. The lead veterinarians does a great job of keeping the team on task and making sure things run smoothly. Its very clear that everyone in this organization is very dedicated to improving the lives of animals. It is very hard work but very rewarding! I think they are a great organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 25, 2013

more

October 25, 2013

No me queda mas que agradecer de corazón a World Vets y sus voluntarios por el trabajo incansable de esos dias que estuvieron por Paraguay. Excelentes personas, excelentes profesionales! Aprendi mucho trabajando con ellos y esa enseñanza hoy la aplico en mi vida cotidiana.. Muchísimas gracias y les esperamos de vuelta siempre! Todavía hay mucho mucho por hacer :)

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 25, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 25, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have seen World Vets grow from a very small organization to the respected international NGO that it is today. The organization has always demonstrated the highest level of integrity and has accomplished an amazing amount toward the improvement of animal welfare in developing countries as well as responding to the needs of animals in disaster situations. Their Latin America Veterinary Training Center is just one of their very successful programs which is dramatically improving the level of veterinary medicine in some of the poorest countries of the world. Not only are the needs of the most vulnerable population of animals being addressed, but they are teaching the next generation of veterinarians in Central and South America to provide a very high level of compassionate care to all animals. The work they do is outstanding and as a board member I can attest to the fact that they are fiscally responsible and consistently demonstrate an intense focus on the betterment of animal welfare in areas of the world where the need is the greatest. World Vets is truly a top notch organization.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 24, 2013

more

October 24, 2013

Soy parte de una organización en Paraguay que se llama Adoptame con amor y responsabilidad, nosotros soiicitamos la visita de World Vets y este año en setiembre tuvimos la grata oportunidad de recibir al equipo y trabajar con ellos en favor de los animales del Bañado, una de las zonas urbanas más pobres de la capital.
El sentimiento en común de otros voluntarios como yo fue de admiración hacia la profesionalidad, entrega, solidaridad y cariño sincero hacia los animales que en todo momento demostraron todos y cada uno de los miembros del equipo. Cada día terminaba con veterinarios acostados entre las mantas que cubrian a los animales para darles más calor y ayudarlos a recuperarse.
Nuestra organización tenía un poco de experiencia realizando jornadas de castración ya que sabemos que es el único camino posible para evitar tantos animales abandonados en las calles, pero la experiencia de World Vets nos ayudó a cambiar los protocolos de anestesia, a lograr una mayor asepsia, a hacer más simple para lograr mayor volumen y más seguridad. Con insumos que nos dejaron hemos continuado la labor de castrar y esperamos seguir haciéndolo con la siguiente visita.
Para nosotros fue un placer conocerlos, no solo como veterinarios sino como personas cálidas y profundamente humanas!
Luego de la visita tuve oportunidad de escuchar la conferencia de Cathy y comprender mejor la misión de la organización, eso cambió bastante mi visión de lo que es necesario para cambiar la vida de los animales en mi ciudad. Anteriormente solo trabajábamos con animales sin dueño que eran abandonados en las calles pero puede comprender la importancia de ayudar a las personas que no tienen recursos suficientes para hacerse cargo de sus mascotas. Ya que las crías abandonadas en cajas en las calles como realidad cotidiana solo cambiará cuando los animales que viven en familia estén castrados. Esperamos con ansia la siguiente visita ya que sabemos que podremos compartir el sueño común de más y más animales viviendo con mayor salud y bienestar.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

No se me ocurren cambios

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 23, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 23, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Trabajar con World Vets ha sido una experiencia que ha cambiado mi vida, soy voluntaria desde el 2011 he participado en 5 campañas de esterilización en CUSCO- PERÚ- SOUTH AMERICA y desde la primera vez que trabaje con ellos pude conocer gente maravillosa, voluntarios de todo el mundo a los cuáles solo les interesa ayudar sin importar lugar, clima, o condiciones en las cuáles ellos trabajan durante todo el día. Aprendí mucho acerca de esterilizar perros y gatos, técnicas que nunca había visto en la escuela de veterinaria, y que sin ningún tipo de egoísmo los doctores de World Vets me enseñaron, técnicas rápidas y muy seguras, desde la anestesia hasta el post operatorio. La preocupación por cada uno de los pacientes es maravillosa, además de proveer servicios de desparasitación, consultas, vacunación, entre otras. Ser voluntaria de World Vets es para mí un sueño hecho realidad, gracias a cada una de las visitas de World Vets a mi ciudad y de pasarme aprendiendo sin perder ni un solo detalle del manejo de todos los dias de clínica, es que pude graduarme de la escuela de veterinaria, hice un trabajo de investigación relacionado al material que usan para reemplazar la sutura dérmica, gracias a esto pude conseguir mi diploma y convertirme en Veterinaria, sintiéndome más que feliz y agradecida con esta experiencia, además de ser considerada como parte de World Vets, lo cuál me hace sentir mucho ORGULLO!
Yo me estoy preparando para algún día poder ir a Granada Training center, y aprender más de World Vets, ademas de seguir ayudando animales de manera segura y con más preparación. Gracias a las donaciones que recibe World Vets muchísimos perros y gatos reciben ayuda, evitando así cualquier tipo de sufrimiento animal. Mi ciudad Cusco está más que agradecida con toda la ayuda que provee World Vets, ¡¡¡ayuda gratuita!!! (no mucha gente ayuda a los animales en Perú).
Ellos muchas veces entregan medicinas para el dolor, antibióticos, y tratamientos tópicos sin ningún costo, además de las esterilizaciones. World Vets es una organización maravillosa que provee ayuda sin esperar ninguna retribución a cambio! Gracias a Dios por esta la oportunidad que me dio de conocer a gente tan maravillosa!
---------------
Working with World Vets has been an experience that has changed my life , I volunteer since 2011 in five sterilization campaigns in my city CUSCO - PERU -SOUTH AMERICA and from the first time I worked with them I met wonderful people, volunteers from all the world which are only interested in helping regardless of location , climate, or conditions under which they work all day . I learned a lot about dogs and cats spay and neuter, never seen before techniques in my veterinary school , and without any selfishness World Vets doctors taught me, fast, very secure techniques , from anesthesia to post-op . Concern for each of the patients is wonderful , besides providing deworming services , consultations , vaccinations , among others.
Volunteering with World Vets is my dream come true , thanks to each of the visits of World Vets to my city and spend learning without losing a single detail of the management of all clinical days is that I graduated from veterinary school , I did a research paper related to the material used to replace the skin suture , thanks to this I could get my degree and become a veterinary , feeling more happy and thankful for this experience , besides being considered voluntary World Vets .
I am preparing to one day be able to go to Granada Training center , and learn more about World Vets , in addition to continue helping animals safely and more prepared . Thanks to the donations received World Vets many dogs and cats are helped, avoiding any kind of animal suffering. My city Cusco is more than grateful for all the help that provides World Vets , free help ! They often deliver pain medication , antibiotics, and topical treatments at no cost , plus sterilizations. World Vets is a wonderful organization that provides help without expecting any reward in return! Thanks God for the opportunity and for let me know very wonderful people!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 1, 2013

more

October 1, 2013

Splendid company providing a much needed service in various parts of the world. I am a registered veterinary technician/nurse and I was invited to participate in in the summer training program. It was a privilege to work with such splendid vets and to provide a much needed service in a foreign land. However, it was the enthusiasm and the energy of the students that made it all worthwhile. I have volunteered in made such programs and this is one of the best. Logistically, it was well put together and organized, the medical staff and the people in charge with arranging the housing, the catering and the transportation did an absolute first rate job, so much so that we could concentrate on teaching the students and taking care of the animals, without other concerns. I met many wonderful friends on this adventure and will return to work with the company frequently. I'm already planning my next 2 or 3 world vets adventures. I was very humbling to around such great students and it was definitely one of the highlights of my professional career to date. Top class company with first rate personnel at the helm. Bravo!!! Long may it continue!!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I really can't think of anything.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 6, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

September 6, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

So I was looking for a way to travel and be useful and apply the only thing I know which is veterinary medicine and one day after collecting the mail...a journal fell open to a page with an article about World Vets. Not only did the opportunity check all the boxes above but also provided a chance to work with new vet students which I had done before and loved. So there I had it - everything I wanted wrapped into one great trip. And I was not let down. I have to admit that in the back of my mind I was not too sure about the true need for spay/neuter services in a Central American country but I was gratified to experience that what we had to offer was indeed much needed, wanted, and appreciated. And, I was pleased to learn that we were able to offer more than just surgery services. This was easily one of the best experiences of my life and the World Vets program is one I will continue to be a part of.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

So far there are no changes I would make.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 5, 2013

more

September 5, 2013

I had the opportunity to be an intern for the World Vets IVM Program in Granda, Nicaragua and it was a life changing experience for me. I had the time of my life and am/was so proud to represent such an awesome organization. I learned more about spaying and neutering than I could have imagined. I was given many hands on opportunities in the clinic and during the community outreach days. The education World Vets provides to the people of the community to help improve animal welfare is invaluable. They are teaching people how to care for their animals which in turn is improving the animal population and animal lives in the city of Granda. The housing and amenities were fantastic. I could not believe that I had the ability to be on the internet, had hot water, and air conditioning. My trip with World Vets gave me an amazing opportunity to meet so many new and interesting people. If you are interested in a veterinary trip I could not recommended a better organization to go with. My only recommendation to people going on trips with any group going out of the country is be willing to take anything unusual that may happen and chalk it up to a great experience. Sometimes water in all of Granda would go out or the whole city would lose power or the internet would go out. These things are out of the organizations hands, so be prepared to take these unusual things with a grain of salt and enjoy the experience.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 22, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

August 22, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I have been a volunteer with World Vets for 3 years, and I have a great deal of respect and admiration for all the people I have met during the six spay & neuter campaigns I have participated in. Most recently I traveled with my World Vets team to a remote area in Guatemala. It was a pilot project to the town of Livinston, and it was a huge success ! I have gained a lot of experience on each one of the trips I have been on, and I hope to continue with a trip or two a year. I also think it is money well spent, and I would not hesitate to recommend World Vets to anyone wanting to help make a difference !

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers