Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
79 Reviews
1234.797475
| 1 2 3...8 |
Write A Review
November 23, 2013

more

November 23, 2013

World Vets is amazing! They help animals that have no one there to help them- whether it is in a poor country or during a disaster. One of the really great things about World Vets is that almost all of their veterinarians are volunteers which makes it possible for donations to stretch further. Animals in poor countries are just as deserving of care as other animals- and this organization makes that possible. The work they do is invaluable and fills an important need that is not otherwise being filled. I am also impressed that they work with the Navy every year to help animals alongside the doctors who are helping people on the humanitarian aid missions. Overall, a great group! I am a loyal supporter and fan of the work they do.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 21, 2013

more

November 21, 2013

What a great program! I volunteered with World Vets in Nicaragua as a veterinary student and this program far exceeded any expectations I could have ever had! World Vets has these trips down to an art- how to effective set up field locations from nothing and bring together a team of volunteers from all over the country, and help them to do great things. When we first arrived in Nicaragua, we hung out for a bit at the airport waiting for everyone to clear customs. This really gave you time to start to get to know people. Our team was a collection of vet students, pre vet students, techs, and vets. I was amazed to find the diversity of our team included seasoned private practice vets to a boarded Critical Care Specialist to super enthusiastic vets 3-4 years out of school. The tech on our team was unbelievable and the vet students and pre vet kids were jumping at the bit ready to get to clinic days. I think the major benefit of world vets trips is the diversity of skills and experiences and people that come together to change lives. It took about the first half of our first clinic day to get in the groove, but soon everyone's skills were assessed and we fell into a groove of really doing some high quality, high volume spay/neuter surgeries. Animals were monitored from pre medication to induction of anesthesia to surgery to recovery carefully by volunteers and we were even able to spare a doctor to work out front to do preventative care treatments (like deworming) and help medical cases.

Because of how diverse our team was, we were able to handle the amputation of a dog's leg that had an open fracture for over a week. When bones poke through skin and stay that way for days, the animal gets very sick. This animal was septic and multiple doctors had to work very quickly during surgery to amputate the limb while a couple of the other doctors worked hard giving different drugs to keep the dog stable. It was a happy ending as the dog (although three legged) recovered. We took care of animals that would have been taken care of otherwise. Talking to patient owners was inspiring and you really felt like you were improving lives as you worked.

As a vet student, I was given ample opportunity to perform surgery under the careful guidance of other vets. One patient I was performing a spay on was not doing well under anesthesia, so the supervising vet assisted (as my student surgical skills are much slower than seasoned vets) so we could get the patient off the table and into recovery. I feel like I was given the perfect amount of opportunities to learn and grow in my skills as well as appropriate standard of care for the patients and their well being.

Our days off on the World Vets trip was a BLAST. We wandered around town, took a boat ride, climbed around a volcano. It was a great balance of clinic and non clinic time on this trip and we had a lot of fun.

I can attribute our great experience to the great team leader that world vets sent to run the trip. Her calm, supportive, kind nature was spectacular and she was able to inspire everyone to work to their full potentials while still having a very good time.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 19, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
November 19, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I volunteered with group leader Suzanne Coleman. The first dog that surgery was performed on was taken from the shelter "in case it died". It did die, from a 10x overdose of expired Xylazine. The group leader took no responsibility and several other animals died, including owned animals. We did not vaccinate or educate the community. We did not have enough sterile equipment. Students obtained only 1/10th of the experience that Dr King and her assistant promised. Our pictures were used without our knowledge or permission on the website and facebook, showing our trip as a success. We voiced our concerns and no one listened, and in-fact several of us received very rude emails from Dr King. Our money was used inappropriately and we did nothing sustainable to help the local community. We felt taken advantage of and that we did more harm than good. This organization looks great from the outside and makes a lot of money for the board, but does little to help animals locally.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

dissolve it.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

None

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

November 15, 2013

more

November 15, 2013

La organización World Vets, me dio una experiencia muy bonita para aprender sobre como hacer OVH y Castraciones en perros y gatos. Antes de que yo fuera a aprender en Nicaragua, no tenía ni sentía que tuviera seguridad en mi misma para hacer este tipo de operaciones. Estoy muy agradecida con todos los que hacen posible que esta organización funcione y de ayuda para formar mejores veterinarios como para ayudar a personas de escasos recursos con sus queridas mascotas.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 1, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 1, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Mil millones de GRACIAS GIGANTES a world vets por la hermosa labor que hacen! Son verdaderos super heroes que nos inspiran a seguir trabajando cada dia por un mundo mejor!! Desde Adoptame -Paraguay nos sentimos muy honrados de haber sido bedecidos con su visita y ojala puedan llegar cada vez a mas lugares!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 31, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Infinitas gracias a World Vets desde el fondo del corazon, mas alla del servicio comunitario que brindaron, la calidez humana que tienen es increible! conocerlos fue una experiencia inolvidable y poder trabajar en conjunto fue un honor! Adoptame con Amor y responsabilidad les espera de nuevo con los brazos abiertos!! saludos y mucho amor desde Paraguay!! ♥

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

I have volunteered with World Vets in 5 different countries over the last several years. The experience has been life-changing. Not only is the volunteer experience excellent but more importantly I have seen first hand the impact of their work. They work in some of the poorest areas of the world, helping animals that are often in desperate need of veterinary attention. Every place I have volunteered, the community has expressed a deep sense of gratitude and appreciation for World Vets work. On a project in Ecuador, people and their pets were lined up the entire length of the street early in the morning so that they could get their pets spayed and neutered. Some people had walked for hours to get there. It makes me feel really good to be a part of something that is making such difference. I also appreciate that World Vets puts a huge emphasis on involving local veterinarians, sharing knowledge and building local capacity. Their programs go way beyond just helping animals too. They are transforming peoples lives and improving their communities. As a volunteer I have always felt appreciated and it is clear that everyone on the team plays a vital role. The lead veterinarians does a great job of keeping the team on task and making sure things run smoothly. Its very clear that everyone in this organization is very dedicated to improving the lives of animals. It is very hard work but very rewarding! I think they are a great organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 25, 2013

more

October 25, 2013

No me queda mas que agradecer de corazón a World Vets y sus voluntarios por el trabajo incansable de esos dias que estuvieron por Paraguay. Excelentes personas, excelentes profesionales! Aprendi mucho trabajando con ellos y esa enseñanza hoy la aplico en mi vida cotidiana.. Muchísimas gracias y les esperamos de vuelta siempre! Todavía hay mucho mucho por hacer :)

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 25, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 25, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have seen World Vets grow from a very small organization to the respected international NGO that it is today. The organization has always demonstrated the highest level of integrity and has accomplished an amazing amount toward the improvement of animal welfare in developing countries as well as responding to the needs of animals in disaster situations. Their Latin America Veterinary Training Center is just one of their very successful programs which is dramatically improving the level of veterinary medicine in some of the poorest countries of the world. Not only are the needs of the most vulnerable population of animals being addressed, but they are teaching the next generation of veterinarians in Central and South America to provide a very high level of compassionate care to all animals. The work they do is outstanding and as a board member I can attest to the fact that they are fiscally responsible and consistently demonstrate an intense focus on the betterment of animal welfare in areas of the world where the need is the greatest. World Vets is truly a top notch organization.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 24, 2013

more

October 24, 2013

Soy parte de una organización en Paraguay que se llama Adoptame con amor y responsabilidad, nosotros soiicitamos la visita de World Vets y este año en setiembre tuvimos la grata oportunidad de recibir al equipo y trabajar con ellos en favor de los animales del Bañado, una de las zonas urbanas más pobres de la capital.
El sentimiento en común de otros voluntarios como yo fue de admiración hacia la profesionalidad, entrega, solidaridad y cariño sincero hacia los animales que en todo momento demostraron todos y cada uno de los miembros del equipo. Cada día terminaba con veterinarios acostados entre las mantas que cubrian a los animales para darles más calor y ayudarlos a recuperarse.
Nuestra organización tenía un poco de experiencia realizando jornadas de castración ya que sabemos que es el único camino posible para evitar tantos animales abandonados en las calles, pero la experiencia de World Vets nos ayudó a cambiar los protocolos de anestesia, a lograr una mayor asepsia, a hacer más simple para lograr mayor volumen y más seguridad. Con insumos que nos dejaron hemos continuado la labor de castrar y esperamos seguir haciéndolo con la siguiente visita.
Para nosotros fue un placer conocerlos, no solo como veterinarios sino como personas cálidas y profundamente humanas!
Luego de la visita tuve oportunidad de escuchar la conferencia de Cathy y comprender mejor la misión de la organización, eso cambió bastante mi visión de lo que es necesario para cambiar la vida de los animales en mi ciudad. Anteriormente solo trabajábamos con animales sin dueño que eran abandonados en las calles pero puede comprender la importancia de ayudar a las personas que no tienen recursos suficientes para hacerse cargo de sus mascotas. Ya que las crías abandonadas en cajas en las calles como realidad cotidiana solo cambiará cuando los animales que viven en familia estén castrados. Esperamos con ansia la siguiente visita ya que sabemos que podremos compartir el sueño común de más y más animales viviendo con mayor salud y bienestar.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

No se me ocurren cambios

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers