Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
83 Reviews
1234.807235
| 1 2 3...9 |
Write A Review
December 5, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

December 5, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

World Vets is a volunteer organization that provides animal aid and medical care all over the world. World Vets teams are committed to providing spay neuter assistance and run large surgical campaigns almost monthly throughout the year. Additionally World Vets provides anesthesia and surgical training to veterinarians and students at their Latin America facility in Granada Nicaragua.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get them more funding in order to decrease the cost for the volunteers

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 1, 2013

more

December 1, 2013

I have not worked with World Vets in an operative yet but have seen the results. As new executive director of AAAS "Friends of the Animals" in Sosua, Dominican Republic I have seen the difference these operatives make and have participated with other vet groups here. Our anesthetic protocol is the same as used in first world countries and World Vets has always allowed us to take the lead for establishing the protocol and have been very generous with their donations.
I will have the opportunity to work with them in 2014 and will enjoy working with true professionals who have the interests of the animals in their hearts.
You ROCK World Vets! Keep up the great work!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I cannot see any improvement that would be necessary from my groups experience.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 1, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 1, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

World Vets Operative, November 11, 12, 13, 2013
In November of 2013, the World Vets team joined staff and volunteers of the Asociación De Amigos Por Los Animales De Sosúa to conduct an extremely successful operative in an area known as La Cienega which has many, many pet owners who wish the
best for their pets.
Thirteen members of the World Vets team lead by Dr. Joe Zulty and 20+ AAAS staff members and volunteers conducted 139 spay/neuter operations over the three-day event. As a result of their work and the publicity generated by AAAS, we also have 80 more pets lined up for services to be provided by another volunteer vet in November. The operative produced excellent results, and those results will extend well beyond the time the World Vets team was able to spend here.
In addition to spay/neuter operations, both in preparation for and during the operative, additional services were provided that will improve the quality of life in the local community for residents and their pets, including vaccinations for Rabies, Distemper and Leptosporosis. Many went home with a new leash and collar/shampoo and dog food.
AAAS: Who Are We?
AAA Sosua was established on the North Coast of the Dominican Republic in 1998. At that time, animal welfare was almost unheard of as many people here could barely support their families and free services for animals were non-existent
AAAS was started by a small group of people who believed that pet owners, if given a choice, would want to improve the condition of their pets. As they could, the founders used their own funds to pay local vets to spay/neuter some of the local dogs. Seeing a positive response, they looked for a way to be able to help more animals.
Over the years, many dedicated animal healthcare professionals donated their time as they could. Our volunteers scavenged for supplies and medicines to use for the “MASH clinics” and distributed what they could to those in need.
We decided to build a base of operations where supplies could be collected and stored, and visiting vets could work comfortably doing as many surgeries as they desired. We establish and maintain the best anesthetic protocol on the North Coast and have trained health care professionals as well as dedicated volunteers who assist in all areas. This established base only exists because people throughout the world have donated from their hearts and allowed us to continue to purchase and maintain necessary supplies and equipment to expand.
Over time we have established a trust with the Dominican people, and they seek out our services.
We also needed a way to be able to increase the number of animals we could help. Within the clinic, we can do a maximum of 20 surgeries per day.
AAAS and World Vets Partnership
The World Vets Teams that have joined us here over the past two years have been instrumental in allowing us to increase the number of animals we can help. Having multiple veterinarians and skilled technicians working in areas around the North Coast helps set up a continuing relationship that can be maintained at our clinic. When you are working in an area with thousands of dogs/cats, it is necessary to offer a high volume operative that allows people to make the choice and see the benefits of spay/neuter. This inspires others in that area to make good choices for their pets as well.
As the photographs show, pet owners who observe the professionalism of World Vets, combined with a safe, humane anesthetic protocol, go home with more than a sterilized, vaccinated pet with a new leash/collar, shampoo and some food. They have observed and felt an overwhelming concern for their pet and will take that home with them and share it with their neighbors, thus helping to advance our cause.
The World Vets partnership with AAA Sosua has truly made a difference for the many animals here on the North Coast. They have given us hope that if we continue to work together, more pet owners will have a choice and will make the choice that is in the best interests of their pets.
We sincerely thank World Vets for their help, kindness and professionalism and look forward to future visits and more outstanding results..
This was posted on behalf of a Board Member by Animal Helpr.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Solicite and use more resources for training that is required

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 24, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 24, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

World Vets is a great organization. I've gone on 5 World Vet trips, all very different but similar in the good we do! What can be more satisying than playing a major role in improving a dog or cat's life, prolonging it, bringing happiness to owners in need and making a dent in the pet overpopulation problem. On each trip a varied group of individuals, with a common purpose, come together together to help each other, the community ans especially to provide skills to help the animals. I love World Vets and feel so good about their giving me the "opportunity to give back to needy pets and their people.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

??

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 23, 2013

more

November 23, 2013

World Vets is amazing! They help animals that have no one there to help them- whether it is in a poor country or during a disaster. One of the really great things about World Vets is that almost all of their veterinarians are volunteers which makes it possible for donations to stretch further. Animals in poor countries are just as deserving of care as other animals- and this organization makes that possible. The work they do is invaluable and fills an important need that is not otherwise being filled. I am also impressed that they work with the Navy every year to help animals alongside the doctors who are helping people on the humanitarian aid missions. Overall, a great group! I am a loyal supporter and fan of the work they do.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 21, 2013

more

November 21, 2013

What a great program! I volunteered with World Vets in Nicaragua as a veterinary student and this program far exceeded any expectations I could have ever had! World Vets has these trips down to an art- how to effective set up field locations from nothing and bring together a team of volunteers from all over the country, and help them to do great things. When we first arrived in Nicaragua, we hung out for a bit at the airport waiting for everyone to clear customs. This really gave you time to start to get to know people. Our team was a collection of vet students, pre vet students, techs, and vets. I was amazed to find the diversity of our team included seasoned private practice vets to a boarded Critical Care Specialist to super enthusiastic vets 3-4 years out of school. The tech on our team was unbelievable and the vet students and pre vet kids were jumping at the bit ready to get to clinic days. I think the major benefit of world vets trips is the diversity of skills and experiences and people that come together to change lives. It took about the first half of our first clinic day to get in the groove, but soon everyone's skills were assessed and we fell into a groove of really doing some high quality, high volume spay/neuter surgeries. Animals were monitored from pre medication to induction of anesthesia to surgery to recovery carefully by volunteers and we were even able to spare a doctor to work out front to do preventative care treatments (like deworming) and help medical cases.

Because of how diverse our team was, we were able to handle the amputation of a dog's leg that had an open fracture for over a week. When bones poke through skin and stay that way for days, the animal gets very sick. This animal was septic and multiple doctors had to work very quickly during surgery to amputate the limb while a couple of the other doctors worked hard giving different drugs to keep the dog stable. It was a happy ending as the dog (although three legged) recovered. We took care of animals that would have been taken care of otherwise. Talking to patient owners was inspiring and you really felt like you were improving lives as you worked.

As a vet student, I was given ample opportunity to perform surgery under the careful guidance of other vets. One patient I was performing a spay on was not doing well under anesthesia, so the supervising vet assisted (as my student surgical skills are much slower than seasoned vets) so we could get the patient off the table and into recovery. I feel like I was given the perfect amount of opportunities to learn and grow in my skills as well as appropriate standard of care for the patients and their well being.

Our days off on the World Vets trip was a BLAST. We wandered around town, took a boat ride, climbed around a volcano. It was a great balance of clinic and non clinic time on this trip and we had a lot of fun.

I can attribute our great experience to the great team leader that world vets sent to run the trip. Her calm, supportive, kind nature was spectacular and she was able to inspire everyone to work to their full potentials while still having a very good time.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 19, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
November 19, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I volunteered with group leader Suzanne Coleman. The first dog that surgery was performed on was taken from the shelter "in case it died". It did die, from a 10x overdose of expired Xylazine. The group leader took no responsibility and several other animals died, including owned animals. We did not vaccinate or educate the community. We did not have enough sterile equipment. Students obtained only 1/10th of the experience that Dr King and her assistant promised. Our pictures were used without our knowledge or permission on the website and facebook, showing our trip as a success. We voiced our concerns and no one listened, and in-fact several of us received very rude emails from Dr King. Our money was used inappropriately and we did nothing sustainable to help the local community. We felt taken advantage of and that we did more harm than good. This organization looks great from the outside and makes a lot of money for the board, but does little to help animals locally.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

dissolve it.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

None

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

November 15, 2013

more

November 15, 2013

La organización World Vets, me dio una experiencia muy bonita para aprender sobre como hacer OVH y Castraciones en perros y gatos. Antes de que yo fuera a aprender en Nicaragua, no tenía ni sentía que tuviera seguridad en mi misma para hacer este tipo de operaciones. Estoy muy agradecida con todos los que hacen posible que esta organización funcione y de ayuda para formar mejores veterinarios como para ayudar a personas de escasos recursos con sus queridas mascotas.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 1, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 1, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Mil millones de GRACIAS GIGANTES a world vets por la hermosa labor que hacen! Son verdaderos super heroes que nos inspiran a seguir trabajando cada dia por un mundo mejor!! Desde Adoptame -Paraguay nos sentimos muy honrados de haber sido bedecidos con su visita y ojala puedan llegar cada vez a mas lugares!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 31, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Infinitas gracias a World Vets desde el fondo del corazon, mas alla del servicio comunitario que brindaron, la calidez humana que tienen es increible! conocerlos fue una experiencia inolvidable y poder trabajar en conjunto fue un honor! Adoptame con Amor y responsabilidad les espera de nuevo con los brazos abiertos!! saludos y mucho amor desde Paraguay!! ♥

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers