Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
79 Reviews
1234.797475
Previous | 1 2 3...8 |
Write A Review
March 9, 2014

more

March 9, 2014

I participated in the World Vets IVM Program in Nicaragua in December 2013 and it was one of the most meaningful and enjoyable experiences I've ever had. Not only did I make new friends and hone my veterinary skills, but I was able to help a community of people and their animals who really needed it. The IVM programs and the work of the Nicaraguan vets have made a tangible difference in the city of Granada. There are fewer stray animals and the work horses seen throughout the city are healthier and more robust than they've ever been. Two aspects of the World Vets organization that I find not only admirable but also crucial is their focus on client education and the concept of one health. By educating clients about maintaining healthy work animals not only does the animal feel better and live longer, but the people who work with them have a more robust animal who can better help them with their work. In this way, the whole community is improved.
I would certainly recommend this trip to anyone and encourage them to participate. Everyone on the team including undergraduate students, veterinary technicians, veterinary students, and veterinarians all have something to gain from this experience and also all have something to give. I participate in another World Vets trip as soon as I can.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 26, 2014

more

February 26, 2014

I went on a World Vets IVM trip to Nicaragua last year over Spring Break during my first year of veterinary school, and it was definitely one of the best choices I've ever made and I would repeat it again and again. Not only was it my first field veterinary medicine trip, but it was also my first time out of the country, and I couldn't imagine a more positive experience than what I had with World Vets. That trip inspired me to be a world traveler and opened my eyes to the good that could be done abroad in the realm of veterinary medicine, so it changed my life, as well as the lives of all of the animals that we spayed, neutered, vaccinated, and administered parasite control to during the IVM program. I especially loved having the opportunity to perform spays and neuters as the primary surgeon when I was only a first year vet student with the close guidance of several veterinarians with their own differing techniques, as our curriculum generally only begins surgery instruction during the third year. My passion for surgery was ignited and fueled by World Vets, and it was an incredible combination of helping animals, their owners, communities, and having a fantastic vacation while learning lifelong technical skills all at the same time. During our free time, my new lifelong friends and I enjoyed exquisite and authentic Nicaraguan cuisine, explored a volcano and bat cave, went zip lining in the canopy of a coffee plantation, and went horseback riding in the backstreets and countryside of a small nearby town. One of the days of the trip, we branched out from the World Vets surgery training center and traveled to a nearby community to provide a large scale spay and neuter clinic and had such a positive turnout that we simply didn't have enough hours in the day to sterilize all of the dogs and cats, and even a rabbit! I feel that veterinary trips like these to countries with fewer resources for animals than we have in the US are extremely important to everyone involved on both the giving and receiving ends. Overall, my first World Vets experience was an incredible one, and it definitely won't be my last.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

make the IVM trips longer - my trip was only 8 days long and it flew by. I wasn't ready to leave!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 25, 2014

more

February 25, 2014

I participated in the World Vets IVM Program in Nicaragua a couple summers ago, and it was by far one of the best professional development and personal experiences I have ever had. The surgical cases ranged from the typical spays/neuters to hermaphrodites and mass removals. Vet students of any year are allowed to perform the procedures (under supervision), which is great since most vet schools don't begin surgery until 3td year. At the outreach clinic we saw animals for everything from routine vaccination and deworming to broken limbs and chemotherapy. As someone who wants to pursue international vet med, it was extremely important for me to see exactly how much can be accomplished at a site with limited materials. Resourcefulness is just as important as technical skill, and witnessing these procedures first-hand is very important to learning how to handle any situation that comes up. I watched both the American vets work and the Nicaraguan vets, which was very helpful to learning the different techniques that are out there.
Not only was the medical experience great, but the World Vets program schedule also gave us time to explore on our own and experience the Nicaraguan culture. We visited a coffee plantation, made our own chocolate, zip-lined from the forest canopy, and even went paddle-boarding at the beach. The people are friendly, the accommodations are lovely, and the food was delicious!
The World Vets mission is one identify with strongly, and for the important work that they do, I would go on another trip in a heartbeat. If you are interested in international medicine, believe in the spaying/neutering campaign, or are interested in early surgical experience, then this program is for you! Pre-vets also learn valuable skills of pre-medicating, placing catheters, monitoring anesthesia, and may even become surgical assistants. I encourage everyone to experience at least one trip!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

If I could change one thing about the program, I would make the session lengths longer. My trip was 10 days, but I would have loved to be able to stay and help in the clinic even longer!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

February 11, 2014

more

February 11, 2014

My World Vets trip was, by far, one of best things I have ever done in my life, and I hope to do as many trips as possible in the future. This non-profit organization provides opportunities to become involved in spay neuter clinics around the world. The shared compassion and efforts of these volunteers make lasting differences in, not only the lives of the animals that are being helped, but also for the animals' families. In addition to offering free spay neuter services for the animals in the community, the veterinarians, who volunteer their time and skills, are also able to help others with medical conditions that may otherwise go untreated. World Vets is making a positive impact through their active involvement in providing aid to animals in developing countries around the globe. In working with World Vets not only did our team make a difference in the lives of others, but the people and animals we worked with also left quite the amazing impression.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Consider pilot equine programs in areas with existing spay neuter programs.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 1, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 1, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

World Vets veterinary clinic in Livingston on 11-June 13.
Together with the hotel owners, local community authorities and the animal lovers we were desperately seeking aid for stray dogs on our town. The situation was bad with lots of sick stray dogs and no vet clinic in the town. The nearest
vet clinic is in Puerto Barrios which is half an hour away and accessible by boat only. There are numerous strays dogs. Malnourished, ill, and frequently injured by vehicles, they roam the streets in search of food and water.
In addition there are many, mainly indigenous, families living along the Rio Dulce river between Livingston and Rio Dulce Town. In order to protect their land, people use dogs but can’t afford to feed them let alone vaccinate and sterilize them. The dogs continue to reproduce and the problem multiplies rapidly therefore increasing the population of underfed and sick animals. People have no means to bring their sick animals to Puerto Barrios. The bites by vampire bats on dogs and people are not uncommon. We were alarmed!
The preparation of the project took us few months and at the end a group of enthusiastic and generous veterinary doctors came to town to give us a helping hand. During the 3 days clinic World Vets (assisted by the eager to learn 12 students from the San Carlos Guatemalan University) attended almost 370 patients and spayed and neutered 145 cats and dogs! Everyone was truly amazed by the number of patients and at the level of commitment of the field team. The whole team worked very hard, from the early morning till the evening, taking every patient that arrived, performing their tasks for 3 days in a hot temperature, in improvised conditions. It was all of a great help and the project was a great success. People were more than pleased with this opportunity. They commented that “it was the best thing they have done for their pets”. We hope that with this visit of WorldVets we started a continuous and sustainable collaboration and that at the end we will come to have a town without sick and abandoned animals. Our desire would be to continue to develop more projects together with the WorldVets organization...Thank you Worde Vets you were fantastic! We hope we see you back soon!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 16, 2014

more

January 16, 2014

World vets is a truly wonderful non-profit organization that strives to improve the health and wellbeing of animals by providing veterinary aid and training in developing countries and by providing disaster relief worldwide. World Vets exists to improve the lives of animals and humans worldwide. I volunteered with World Vets as a Vet Student on a project in Nicaragua. I was so moved by my experience there that I returned to my vet school as a student ambassador for World Vets to help spread the word about the organization. We we’re able to help so many animals and their owners in Nicaragua. The faces of the dogs, cats, children and owners will remain in my mind, continuing to reinforce and revitalize my passion for veterinary medicine. Not a single initial conversation with friends, employers, or coworkers goes by without one of my many World Vets stories being told. I would highly recommend this organization to anyone looking to make a difference in a community.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

allocate more funding to the organization to provide more materials and thereby help more animals

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

December 5, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

December 5, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

World Vets is a volunteer organization that provides animal aid and medical care all over the world. World Vets teams are committed to providing spay neuter assistance and run large surgical campaigns almost monthly throughout the year. Additionally World Vets provides anesthesia and surgical training to veterinarians and students at their Latin America facility in Granada Nicaragua.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get them more funding in order to decrease the cost for the volunteers

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 1, 2013

more

December 1, 2013

I have not worked with World Vets in an operative yet but have seen the results. As new executive director of AAAS "Friends of the Animals" in Sosua, Dominican Republic I have seen the difference these operatives make and have participated with other vet groups here. Our anesthetic protocol is the same as used in first world countries and World Vets has always allowed us to take the lead for establishing the protocol and have been very generous with their donations.
I will have the opportunity to work with them in 2014 and will enjoy working with true professionals who have the interests of the animals in their hearts.
You ROCK World Vets! Keep up the great work!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I cannot see any improvement that would be necessary from my groups experience.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 1, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 1, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

World Vets Operative, November 11, 12, 13, 2013
In November of 2013, the World Vets team joined staff and volunteers of the Asociación De Amigos Por Los Animales De Sosúa to conduct an extremely successful operative in an area known as La Cienega which has many, many pet owners who wish the
best for their pets.
Thirteen members of the World Vets team lead by Dr. Joe Zulty and 20+ AAAS staff members and volunteers conducted 139 spay/neuter operations over the three-day event. As a result of their work and the publicity generated by AAAS, we also have 80 more pets lined up for services to be provided by another volunteer vet in November. The operative produced excellent results, and those results will extend well beyond the time the World Vets team was able to spend here.
In addition to spay/neuter operations, both in preparation for and during the operative, additional services were provided that will improve the quality of life in the local community for residents and their pets, including vaccinations for Rabies, Distemper and Leptosporosis. Many went home with a new leash and collar/shampoo and dog food.
AAAS: Who Are We?
AAA Sosua was established on the North Coast of the Dominican Republic in 1998. At that time, animal welfare was almost unheard of as many people here could barely support their families and free services for animals were non-existent
AAAS was started by a small group of people who believed that pet owners, if given a choice, would want to improve the condition of their pets. As they could, the founders used their own funds to pay local vets to spay/neuter some of the local dogs. Seeing a positive response, they looked for a way to be able to help more animals.
Over the years, many dedicated animal healthcare professionals donated their time as they could. Our volunteers scavenged for supplies and medicines to use for the “MASH clinics” and distributed what they could to those in need.
We decided to build a base of operations where supplies could be collected and stored, and visiting vets could work comfortably doing as many surgeries as they desired. We establish and maintain the best anesthetic protocol on the North Coast and have trained health care professionals as well as dedicated volunteers who assist in all areas. This established base only exists because people throughout the world have donated from their hearts and allowed us to continue to purchase and maintain necessary supplies and equipment to expand.
Over time we have established a trust with the Dominican people, and they seek out our services.
We also needed a way to be able to increase the number of animals we could help. Within the clinic, we can do a maximum of 20 surgeries per day.
AAAS and World Vets Partnership
The World Vets Teams that have joined us here over the past two years have been instrumental in allowing us to increase the number of animals we can help. Having multiple veterinarians and skilled technicians working in areas around the North Coast helps set up a continuing relationship that can be maintained at our clinic. When you are working in an area with thousands of dogs/cats, it is necessary to offer a high volume operative that allows people to make the choice and see the benefits of spay/neuter. This inspires others in that area to make good choices for their pets as well.
As the photographs show, pet owners who observe the professionalism of World Vets, combined with a safe, humane anesthetic protocol, go home with more than a sterilized, vaccinated pet with a new leash/collar, shampoo and some food. They have observed and felt an overwhelming concern for their pet and will take that home with them and share it with their neighbors, thus helping to advance our cause.
The World Vets partnership with AAA Sosua has truly made a difference for the many animals here on the North Coast. They have given us hope that if we continue to work together, more pet owners will have a choice and will make the choice that is in the best interests of their pets.
We sincerely thank World Vets for their help, kindness and professionalism and look forward to future visits and more outstanding results..
This was posted on behalf of a Board Member by Animal Helpr.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Solicite and use more resources for training that is required

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 24, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 24, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

World Vets is a great organization. I've gone on 5 World Vet trips, all very different but similar in the good we do! What can be more satisying than playing a major role in improving a dog or cat's life, prolonging it, bringing happiness to owners in need and making a dent in the pet overpopulation problem. On each trip a varied group of individuals, with a common purpose, come together together to help each other, the community ans especially to provide skills to help the animals. I love World Vets and feel so good about their giving me the "opportunity to give back to needy pets and their people.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

??

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3...8 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers