Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
4 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
November 28, 2012

more

November 28, 2012

What a wonderful organization to be shining light on equality. Together we can bring awareness to our nation & end these issues for our generations to follow

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 28, 2012

more

November 28, 2012

I was invited to the Cracking the Codes screening in Oakland, CA, and the event and film far exceeded my expectations. Dr. Butler explained the premise of the film, played the first part and asked us to discuss the issues in the film with our neighbors. Not only did the film touch on racial issues that I have encountered in my own life, but it gave me the opportunity to learn about a complete stranger's take on the same issues. It opened my eyes to issues we face on a daily basis, but we don't notice them or choose to ignore them. There are racial inequities that have been ingrained in us for generations, and the only way to correct them is by facing them head-on. I would like to see more films produced by Dr. Butler and her kind, smart team at World Trust.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 28, 2012

more

November 28, 2012

I attended the Cracking the Codes screening in Boston, it was truly a wonderful event. Dr. Butler welcomed us into The Strand theater and invited us to take a minute to relax and breathe which helped set the tone for the rest of the event. The film was moving and inspirational, relating stories from people of all different backgrounds and inviting audience members to share their own personal experiences from one another. I really feel as though I learned a lot about the people sitting near me in that short amount of time, and ultimately learned more about myself.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 28, 2012

more

November 28, 2012

World Trust is an organization that promotes racial equity through film and dialogue. Most recently I saw their film Cracking the Codes: The System of Inequity in Oakland and it was a night I will never forget. Their founder Dr. Shakti Butler put on a beautiful presentation that allowed the FULL theater to begin frank discussions of race and the systems in place that keep us divided. As a white person I find that these conversations usually leave me filled with guilt, denial and apologetic--however Dr. Butler frames the conversation so beautifully that everyone in the room felt comfortable talking about race and connecting with one another's differing experiences. I was so moved by this experience I purchased the film afterwards.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers