Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
12 Reviews
1234.755
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
September 27, 2013

more

September 27, 2013

They are very committed in reaching out to all people in the community and helping to make a positive difference.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

No changes needed, their work is excellant.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 15, 2013

more

September 15, 2013

i need help i am old man go to them they help me. they speak me i understand and give me drive to pick up food from food bank. They fill up form aplicacion food stamps medikedde, hospital and medecin. i bbecoming American citizenship they helping me imygracion aplicacion. thank you very nice pipel

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 12, 2013

more

September 12, 2013

The title may be wordy but these guys simply rock!
Dads kids moms neighbors grand parents & friends join together to have a good time and share a weekend afternoon or morning doing something that feels right. From gardening to walking from making sandwiches to meditating - its good family fun
and whats better than to be able to do it with the community - which means embracing the rich cultural, linguistic, faith, culinary diversity of this amazing county. On a personal note - these guys go out of their way to make you feel at home amidst strangers (you can feel it) and you leave the events knowing that you didn't just add another email address to your contact list but made a life long friend!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

send their events to add to my calendar regularly & remind me to participate & send me tools to invite other volunteers & tools to spread the word & send me tips on how to help organize more events

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 9, 2012

more

May 9, 2012

The Icc does alot of ways to reach out to the community. They help people when they are in need.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 9, 2012

more

May 9, 2012

These people are just KIND and they manage to mix it with being the most professional and tightly-knit community group too. I didn't feel I was wasting my time (and I've volunteered lots in DC, soup kitchens, sandwich making nights in other places - bad organizing can really be the saddest thing for everyone concerned). I really felt alive when I was there, and that we were on the cusp of something great. I had such a fun time organizing and felt part of the family immediately. Lots of different people show up and their background philosophy is quite zen/sufi, it's quite great to see people like that who are also so active and know how to do things efficiently, it's how development organizations should be, philosophically sound, and practical. Great vision, 100% recommended! PS- I Just read that shoddily written negative review and felt compelled to write a tiny bit more in response. My two cents: firstly, there is nothing 'going on' "behind the scenes" at Worde, take it from someone who was there for over a year (as opposed to that reviewer who claims he had just ONE meeting and seems only to be able to write/think with dollars in mind)- I think it's clear from his/her vague ramblings that it's just some bitter individual trying to pose as a regular person (hence the laughable 'happy new year' at the end of the vitriol, are you kidding?), the only thing I agreed on was the advice that you absolutely SHOULD get in touch with everyone who works with Worde, whoever you can,, do your homework completely- they are a great group with a positive aim to bring people together. In this money hungry world it would not be possible or feasable for WORDE to put on as many community events as they do if their intentions weren't straight, it would just make no sense. So don't let one dumbo reviewer tarnish their image, go meet them, talk, if you have a goal in mind, pursue it with honest intentions and most of all, use your own judgement and intelligence just like I did. I'm quite sure you'll come to the same conclusions I've written so clumsily here. Thanks :) J.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give it more even more support than it currently has.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

It made me realize we are all one.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Happy in my heart.

May 9, 2012

more

May 9, 2012

This is truly an organization that goes beyond the call of duty to care for and help others. You can tell that the people who are heading this are genuine about the cause. I'm very impressed with quality and workmanship that goes into each event and look forward to Volunteering for them again.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 20, 2011

more

June 20, 2011

I was introduced to WORDE and its president Dr. Hedieh Mirahmadi two years ago. I find work performed by WORDE (articles, publications and seminars) on counter radicalization and clearing misperceptions of Islam very valuable in my day to day life. WORDE has been unique in its approach towards anti-radicalization by inviting community members to become part of the solution with policymakers. Their efforts are directed towards addressing root causes of homegrown terrorism instead of finding solutions for the symptoms. I find Dr. Hedieh Mirahmadi to be very knowledgeable in her field. She engages proactively with community members in understanding their concerns and offer balanced advise.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

In my day to day life at work and help my teenage boys gain better understanding of mainstream vs radical Islam.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

June 16, 2011

more

June 16, 2011

WORDE has led efforts in the US to develop counter radicalization strategies at the grassroots level for several years, well before the issue became a major domestic issue in the US.

WORDE's innovative report "A Community Approach to Countering Radicalization" has been well received by
policymakers from the FBI, ODNI, NCTC, and Capitol Hill. Even in the greater Washington DC area, I've seen how the publication has mobilized communities to develop strategies to counter violent extremism.

Having personally known WORDE's President, Dr. Hedieh Mirahmadi, and worked with her for over a decade, I know that it has taken great personal courage at times to address these issues. Despite criticism from organizations that are hesitant to address homegrown terrorism, she has taken the issue head on and stood firmly to her ground.

WORDE has worked with Muslim communities throughout America, leading research from LA to DC in addition to major Muslim community centers throughout the world, including the UK and Indonesia, where WORDE's work has been instrumental in program implementation.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

having attended many speaking engagements of WORDE representatives in the US and watched their conferences and speaking engagements abroad via the internet. I have also read their informative reports and publications.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

try to highlight the importance of WORDE's unique position as an educational organization that works directly with policymakers and government officials, as well as with Muslim communities at home and abroad.

June 13, 2011

more

June 13, 2011

I'm a government official who has worked with WORDE for over 3 years. I work with them because they provide policy solutions, and don’t merely speak about issues. They reach deep into the Muslim-American community and this allows them to brief Members of Congress and USG officials on what the community is actually thinking- something very valuable to policymakers. I have seen WORDE officials speak at major conferences put on by the US Intelligence Community, as well as on panels in Congress and in various think tanks around Washington, DC. They are well respected by those in Congress, executive branch agencies, and by think tank professionals.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

The paper they have produced on CVE related to the Muslim Community is groundbreaking. Its suggestions have been seriously considered by USG officials.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wish they had the ability to have a larger presence in the media to help push back against Islamist extremists. We need more groups like them.

June 6, 2011

more

June 6, 2011

As an academic professional actively involved in the issue of countering violent extremism, I have worked extensively with WORDE and have found the organization to be one of the most effective working the issue today. Through a variety of interesting and effective programming and publications, WORDE works to undermine radical narratives and promote religious tolerance, civic engagement, and peaceful conflict resolution. One need not look further than its recently created International Cultural Center (a Washington D.C. community center funded entirely by the local community) for evidence of WORDE's tangible contribution. Additionally, WORDE has organized a number of discussions between members of the Muslim community and senior government officials, where participants were given the opportunity to make their voices heard. Indeed, WORDE's ability to maintain credibility with both local communities and the U.S. government is a testament to the organizations effectiveness and balance.



WORDE's director, Dr. Hedieh Mirahmadi is one of the foremost experts on means of countering radicalization within Muslim communities in the United States and abroad. Few have her combination of academic credentials and on-the-ground experience and in the numerous occasions Dr. Mirahmadi and I have participated in events together I have found her both knowledgeable and engaging. Through her extensive work with Congress and the U.S. government, she has proven to be a leading voice on these issues.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Hearing WORDE representatives speak in public and private; reading their publications and participating in programming

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Increase their national exposure.

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers