Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
17 Reviews
1234.941185
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
October 8, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 8, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I learned about the World Business Academy in December 2013 when this "think tank" of 28 years approached the public to gain a broad base of supporters in order to accomplish their most recent and very important goals: "Close the last remaining nuclear power plant in California and get California off fossil fuels within ten years."
I was so taken by the high level of ethical and intellectual pursuits of the various members of this academy (90 +- Fellows) and their illustrious careers. Every time I heard a name mentioned or an event the WBA's founder, Rinaldo Bruteco, was involved in I did due-diligence and each time discovered this is an organization which 'walks the talk' and is here to make a positive difference for the greater good.
I have a family charitable foundation and work with 50-60 NGOs for the past eight years though my experience with non-profits began decades ago. I couldn't be more impressed than I am with WBA.
Cheryl Tomchin
Tomchin Family Foundation

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 31, 2014

more

October 31, 2014

As a parent and grandparent I am deeply concerned about the world my family will live in 10, 20, and 30 years from now. The work that the World Business Academy is doing gives me hope.
We need the money and expertise of business leaders (along with groups of activists) to make the changes that
will save our planet. Rinaldo Brutoco, Matt Renner, and the other staff and fellows, are deeply dedicated to do what they can to address the drastic shifts that are occurring from climate change.
When I listen to the radio show they offer, I always learn so much and realize that it's extremely challenging to get reliable information and insight from the main-stream media.
Rinaldo puts his heart and soul into the WBA, and I feel that it's up to us to let folks know about the unique work that's being doing. Tell others about their mission—to inspire business to assume responsibility for the whole of society. It's up to us to do what we can to support their vital work.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 31, 2014

more

October 31, 2014

This organization has gone above and beyond for the future of clean, renewable energy for California and the planet. Their dedicated team, passionate efforts, and community engagement are remarkable.
October 28, 2014

more

October 28, 2014

When one wants to make a difference, it's important to align with like-minded souls. That's easy to do at the World Business Academy, because it only attracts the most committed, heart-centered and filled-with-integrity (and humor, thank God) people. Every time I attend a meeting, I leave renewed and inspired. And I love the inter-generational nature of the group, bound by a shared interest of serving the whole. It's rapidly becoming one of my favorite social gatherings as well. Thank you to Rinaldo Brutoco and his stellar team, led by a young and talented Executive Director, Matt Renner. Rinaldo and his wife. Lalla, have tirelessly and selflessly served not only Santa Barbara, but by extension, the entire planet for over 20 years. They have been the true backbone of it all. I am very proud to call myself an Academy Emissary, and hope I do justice to this position.
October 24, 2014

more

October 24, 2014

The climate is changing - we feel it everyday. Changes need to be made in our personal lives and in the lives of businesses who use natural resources and sometimes abuse them. If factories and power plants and new sources of power can all be required to act in a responsible manner and find the advantage in operating in a clean and healthy manner, the necessary changes will come faster. There has to be a clear benefit to all parties to get some momentum going. My impression of the World Business Academy is that this org is educating both businesses and the public about where the dangers lay, what viable realistic measures can be taken, and what needs to change so that our society will have a chance to survive.
I like it that this org bases it's message for change on scientific facts and thorough investigations into the options available in new power and water sources as well as working to close current menaces like the Diablo Canyon nuclear power plant that is sitting on several fault lines and contributing to higher cancer rates in the area around the plant.. The World Business Academy understands the urgency of the problems in California and the world and is the first org I know of that is acting on all fronts at once - through legislation, referendums, education, and public forums. The meetings give me some hope for the future of our planet. I am inspired to help and make changes in my own life. Tana
October 24, 2014

more

October 24, 2014

I've been a member of the Academy since 2011 and a Board member since 2014. What has both intrigued and impressed me have been the rigor with which the Academy conducts the research that contributes to making its White Papers, projects and "on the ground" initiatives so effective.

An
example of this is evidenced with the work the Academy engaged in to hold Southern California Edison accountable for the extreme danger and extraordinary price tag of their faulty nuclear reactors in San Diego County - specifically San Onofre. As the only business group representing ratepayers in the oversight hearings at the California Public Utilities Commission (CPUC), the Academy's contribution was unique and powerful. The Academy gained intervenor status with the CPUC in order to successfully help make the case against restarting the dangerous steam generators and running them at reduced power, as Edison was proposing. Additionally, the Academy argued to reject Edison's minuscule $94 million proposed settlement and successfully secured for rate payers a $1.4 billion dollar settlement.

Building on the success at San Onofre is the continuing Academy Safe Energy Project. The Project’s goals are straightforward and achievable: to permanently close California’s remaining nuclear power plant and replace all energy derived from nuclear and fossil fuels with a 100% fossil-fuel free energy system within ten years, creating a replicable model for the planet. Bold, Audacious and Achievable!

Truly, the Academy lives the credo that "The Future of Business is Making the Future Its Business!"
October 24, 2014

more

October 24, 2014

The undeniable truth around climate concerns should have every single person on this planet pushing to change the direction we have been heading. One organization, founded on the idea that all businesses (and individuals) have a moral, environmental and social responsibility of putting the well-being of the planet senior to profit and irresponsible practices, is the World Business Academy. One of the major ongoing projects is the “Safe Energy Project;” that has a focus on ridding the state of California of nuclear energy and replacing with 100% renewable resources. I invite everyone interested in the above to join this group and support “an idea whose time has come,” and create a massive shift in the thinking and future of this amazing planet we are here to protect and enjoy.
October 7, 2014

more

October 7, 2014

Not only does this “THINK TANK” do the thinking to find solutions to economic, political, social and environmental problems nationally and globally, it also “TAKES ACTION” to assure that these solutions are implemented. This is why I became an Associate of the World Business Academy.
October 7, 2014

more

October 7, 2014

This is an exceptional organization with a global focus to shift the business paradigm to one of giving back rather than 'taking', all the while, remaining profitable. More specifically, it has some projects in the works that are critical to the well-being of all of humanity and the world we live in. For example, the Safe Energy Project...to close California's remaining nuclear power plants and replace them with renewable energy, to name but one. The people affiliated with this organization are true leaders. worth checking out!
September 9, 2014

more

September 9, 2014

I first heard about World Business Academy as one of the member organizations coming together as part of the Emerging Business Alliance. Then saw Rinaldo Brutoco's name as an underwriter for the Move to Amend documentary. Then, when I read the research being published by the Academy and started listening to their podcast, I had my mind completely blown.

The academy has empowered me as an environmentalist, as an activist, as an entrepreneur, and as a leader to be more effective and well-informed to support the transition to renewable energy infrastructure and resource abundance through global collaboration.
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers