Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
52 Reviews
1234.826925
Previous | Next
Write A Review
July 11, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 11, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

My name is Bill Gabbard. I was FOH Director of Operations for 6 weeks at Hurricane Katrina, LSU Animal-Rescue Command Post.
I also founded the group: Japan Earthquake Animal Rescue and Support, which acted as the internationally-recognized, leading communication lifeline to the world during
the immediate, post-disaster rescue-efforts, as well as the first, biggest, and longest running, ongoing support-effort on the island, providing support for the local-rescues.

I was introduced to Tom, (and how he rolls), when he called, stated that he wanted to come to Fukushima to get our story, ....and then within a matter of hours..he did-so!
In the world of organizing rescue help and support, someone who can document your situation or story, and then relay that message to the world,... is probably the single most important connection/friend you can make.

This is a man and an organization who get-in , and get the story, ...and then they get that story to the people who can act-on it, and actually make a vital difference. Conversely, if the story is fluid, or changes..they follow that too. They are literally the ESPN of the animal-world.

WA2S is simply all-business. They are not waiting until the story fits into "Anderson's" schedule. They are not sitting around until all the accommodations are in place and "Wolf's deli-tray" has arrived...like the mega-media outlets tend to do. Currently, there is nothing that even comes-close to what Tom and his team are doing at WA2S....nothing that is acting-on what's going on RIGHT NOW..in the animal-world.
This is not a news-outlet that will run the obligatory animal-story... if it will turn a profit.
They are an unbiased, non-profit organization that can bring the bright-spotlight to the real issues, which gets word-out, and the ball-rolling.... to affect a real change.

In closing, I was very impressed with Tom's vision, what WA2S is doing, and what they hope to do in the future.
I firmly believe that they will do what they say. :)

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Multiply it, grow it, clone it...People actually seeing with their own eyes...is what affects change.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 21, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
December 8, 2012

Thank you for listening and actually doing something to help get to the truth about what is happening not only here in the Gulf but also other ecologically troubled spots that need the sterilizing lig... more

June 21, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

\The World Awareness Society is a remarkably fantastic organization. They joined with our non-profit in a time of need and volunteered help during one of our oil spill surveys and at a very crucial time. The professional connections which they helped us foster were invaluable in helping us with almost instant credibility with the major media corporations and other production companies.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 8, 2012
29 people found this review helpful

Thank you for listening and actually doing something to help get to the truth about what is happening not only here in the Gulf but also other ecologically troubled spots that need the sterilizing light of national attention. Thanks for helping us to continue the investigations.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 19, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

June 19, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

As a professional filmmaker and videographer concerned with animals, I am thankful that World Animal Awareness Society exists to tell the important stories that are often times looked over and ignored by other media outlets. They play a critical role in raising our awareness of non-human animal issues that that affect our communities.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

See them get bigger

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 26, 2012
30 people found this review helpful

more

December 26, 2012
30 people found this review helpful

**THIS IS THE UPDATE TO A REVIEW THAT HAS SINCE BEEN REMOVED FROM THIS WEBSITE. I WELCOME ANY RESPONSE FROM TOM MCPHEE, CHAIRMAN OF WA2S, IF HE CAN REFUTE ANY OF THE FACTS CONTAINED HEREIN**

*Originally posted 12-24-12*

Tom McPhee, Founder, Chairman of the Board and Executive Director of The World Animal Awareness Society, owes me money. I was laid off by Tom McPhee a little over two years ago -- shortly after the events recounted in the @evolotuspr review below. He had been paying me late for months, then reduced checks, then reduced late checks, until finally he wasn't paying me at all. Now, it's my fault for not leaving when I saw the writing on the wall. Still, I did legitimate work for Mr. McPhee and the WA2S for months while Tom's promises of better days (and back pay) never came true. He laid me off owing me $4000 -- he even signed a contract saying as such. Not even any interest charged, or setting any defined time to keep up his end of the bargain -- just a straight up $4000. Over the course of the next year, he paid me $300, and it was like pulling teeth just to get that much. The last time I talked to Tom McPhee was about a year ago, on Facebook. I had bills to pay too, and sick of Tom's excuses for non-payment, I demanded a more structured payment schedule. He basically told me to get bent. That was a year ago, and in the months since, he has not made a move to get me one red cent of what he owes me. I've moved on. It's not worth it to sue, and even if I did, he probably wouldn't pay me. However, as a remnant of my time at WA2S, I'm still subscribed to their Youtube channel. I saw there a video of Tom McPhee "Pimping" WA2S for P4A. In the video's description was a link to this website, proclaiming that WA2S was a "Top-Rated Non-Profit" for 2012. That got me angry. I have not been affiliated with the group for two years. I have no idea of its current structure. For all I know, they could be doing great work. But seeing a website call them Top-Rated for anything, when I KNOW FOR A FACT THEIR CHAIRMAN OWES ME $3700 AND HAS FOR TWO YEARS, well, let's just say that irks me a bit. And for that reason, I cannot rate them any more than one star. I would give them less, but apparently, you have to give them at least one. Sincerely, Robert Felts -- FORMER Post-Production Supervisor for WA2S/Man Smiling Moving Pictures
*UPDATE 12-25-12*

I've just exchanged text messages with Tom, & I can inform anyone reading this that the Chairman of the Board for WA2S, Tom McPhee, has RENEGED on his contract. He admits I worked for him; he admits he owes me money; and he continues to refuse to pay me. Why? Because he's a deadbeat, and he knows it.

This is the pattern with Chairman Tom: Agree to a contract, accept the services rendered, don't live up to his end of the deal, obscure and obfuscate when the wronged-party wants their money, tell said party they can go ahead and sue but it will do them no good cuz he won't pay anyway, and then spin it in forums like this as if it's some great opportunity for him to grow as a human and organization.

Don't believe me? Just read his response to the @evolotuspr review several spots below this one. At the end of his meandering essay of a response, he admits a donor stepped forward to pay his outstanding debt. And yet, Mr. McPhee refused to pass that money along and pay off his contractually obligated debt. Instead, he says he will let their review stand, as the "airing-out" of such "grievances" is payment enough. So, I guess you're even-stevens now? No more debt? As if the only options are between paying a legal debt and letting a web review stand!?

As I say, this is a pattern with this man. After reading my initial review that has since been removed from this website, Tom texted me on Christmas Day -- my first contact with him in over a year. In it, Tom confirmed he was RENEGING on his contract. I think people can now clearly see that the word of Tom McPhee means absolutely nothing.

A contract with Tom McPhee isn't worth the paper it's printed on. Tom McPhee is a serial failure who has left a trail of broken promises and bad debt across every project he's undertaken since I've known him. He's a used-car salesman with a video camera. I have reason to doubt he even cares about animals.

YOU CAN VIEW THE ORIGINAL, HANDWRITTEN CONTRACT SIGNED BY TOM MCPHEE ON MY LAST DAY WITH WA2S AT:

(http://i1264.photobucket.com/albums/jj491/ClintStarpit/Tom-Mcphee-Contract_zpsf3560a05.jpg)

(please copy & paste address in your browser, without the parenthesis of course)

Written in Tom's very own hand-writing, and witnessed by former WA2S CEO Michelle Way, you can see Chairman Tom agreed to pay me the sum of $4000 for services rendered. To date, I have received a grand total of $300 of the $4000 he owes me.

YOU CAN VIEW THE TEXTS CHAIRMAN TOM SENT ON CHRISTMAS DAY, CONFIRMING HIS RENEGING AT:

(http://i1264.photobucket.com/albums/jj491/ClintStarpit/Screencaps/mcphee-text-message_zps900294d1.jpg)

In it, you can see that Tom has gleefully and unilaterally declared his debt paid-in-full. How does he come to that conclusion? Well, obviously it's a result of me publishing this review. It's all just another opportunity for Tom and the WA2S to "mature into the powerful, responsible corporate non-profit that we expect of ourselves." What a joke! You wanna be responsible, Mr. Chairman-of-the-Board? HOW ABOUT PAYING YOUR DEBTS! I hope this is a cautionary tale for all those interested in working for, volunteering for, or considering entering any kind of relationship with Tom McPhee/WA2S. He will promise you the sky, but deliver only empty air. And when the time comes to pay the piper, he will cut you loose like you never existed. He is a man not to be trusted.

**UPDATE 2 - 12-27-12**

Tom, your silence is deafening. Are you gonna answer these charges? Or are you just gonna post more cookie-cutter reviews from these volunteers you've snowed into thinking you're legit?

You wrote a book trying to refute (unsuccessfully) the @evolotuspr review. Where's my book!?

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 6, 2012
28 people found this review helpful

more

December 6, 2012
28 people found this review helpful

I am proud to be associated with the World Animal Awareness Society as Senior Editor. Founder Tom McPhee's efforts are relentless and infectious. WA2S deserves recognition as a Great Non-profit.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 5, 2012
9 people found this review helpful

more

December 5, 2012
9 people found this review helpful

I feel obliged to mention that this organization cheated my company out of money it owed us. In 2010 we signed a contract to perform work for WA2S. We extended very favorable terms because of the nature of the organization, and agreed to allow them to pay after the work was done. However they never paid their bill, claimed they were impoverished, ignored repeated attempts to settle, and avoided collection letters. I stopped short of engaging a lawyer because as a small business it would just put us deeper in debt to collect what WA2S owed. It's the only time we've been cheated, and it's ironic that it was an "ethical" organization who did. In the meantime the organization's leader continued to travel, buy camera gear, and spend money he claimed they didn't have. It's a mystery that WA2S was named a "great nonprofit" by this site. WA2S acted dishonorably, dishonestly, and violated a legally binding contract.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Okay

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

September 28, 2012
27 people found this review helpful

more

September 28, 2012
27 people found this review helpful

World Animal Awareness Society is a wonderful non-profit that brings attention to the human-animal intersection from around the world. They get my vote!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

help the World Animal Awareness Society change the world! Volunteer