Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
52 Reviews
1234.826925
| 1 2 3 4...6 |
Write A Review
December 27, 2012
28 people found this review helpful

more

December 27, 2012
28 people found this review helpful

I love animal and I dont think that I could live without them. So thank you The World Animal Awareness Society! I love all of your amazing videos! Keep up your great work and thank you for all the information that you gave us. Thank you so much!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A little

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Okay

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Unsure

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 26, 2012
30 people found this review helpful

more

December 26, 2012
30 people found this review helpful

**THIS IS THE UPDATE TO A REVIEW THAT HAS SINCE BEEN REMOVED FROM THIS WEBSITE. I WELCOME ANY RESPONSE FROM TOM MCPHEE, CHAIRMAN OF WA2S, IF HE CAN REFUTE ANY OF THE FACTS CONTAINED HEREIN**

*Originally posted 12-24-12*

Tom McPhee, Founder, Chairman of the Board and Executive Director of The World Animal Awareness Society, owes me money. I was laid off by Tom McPhee a little over two years ago -- shortly after the events recounted in the @evolotuspr review below. He had been paying me late for months, then reduced checks, then reduced late checks, until finally he wasn't paying me at all. Now, it's my fault for not leaving when I saw the writing on the wall. Still, I did legitimate work for Mr. McPhee and the WA2S for months while Tom's promises of better days (and back pay) never came true. He laid me off owing me $4000 -- he even signed a contract saying as such. Not even any interest charged, or setting any defined time to keep up his end of the bargain -- just a straight up $4000. Over the course of the next year, he paid me $300, and it was like pulling teeth just to get that much. The last time I talked to Tom McPhee was about a year ago, on Facebook. I had bills to pay too, and sick of Tom's excuses for non-payment, I demanded a more structured payment schedule. He basically told me to get bent. That was a year ago, and in the months since, he has not made a move to get me one red cent of what he owes me. I've moved on. It's not worth it to sue, and even if I did, he probably wouldn't pay me. However, as a remnant of my time at WA2S, I'm still subscribed to their Youtube channel. I saw there a video of Tom McPhee "Pimping" WA2S for P4A. In the video's description was a link to this website, proclaiming that WA2S was a "Top-Rated Non-Profit" for 2012. That got me angry. I have not been affiliated with the group for two years. I have no idea of its current structure. For all I know, they could be doing great work. But seeing a website call them Top-Rated for anything, when I KNOW FOR A FACT THEIR CHAIRMAN OWES ME $3700 AND HAS FOR TWO YEARS, well, let's just say that irks me a bit. And for that reason, I cannot rate them any more than one star. I would give them less, but apparently, you have to give them at least one. Sincerely, Robert Felts -- FORMER Post-Production Supervisor for WA2S/Man Smiling Moving Pictures
*UPDATE 12-25-12*

I've just exchanged text messages with Tom, & I can inform anyone reading this that the Chairman of the Board for WA2S, Tom McPhee, has RENEGED on his contract. He admits I worked for him; he admits he owes me money; and he continues to refuse to pay me. Why? Because he's a deadbeat, and he knows it.

This is the pattern with Chairman Tom: Agree to a contract, accept the services rendered, don't live up to his end of the deal, obscure and obfuscate when the wronged-party wants their money, tell said party they can go ahead and sue but it will do them no good cuz he won't pay anyway, and then spin it in forums like this as if it's some great opportunity for him to grow as a human and organization.

Don't believe me? Just read his response to the @evolotuspr review several spots below this one. At the end of his meandering essay of a response, he admits a donor stepped forward to pay his outstanding debt. And yet, Mr. McPhee refused to pass that money along and pay off his contractually obligated debt. Instead, he says he will let their review stand, as the "airing-out" of such "grievances" is payment enough. So, I guess you're even-stevens now? No more debt? As if the only options are between paying a legal debt and letting a web review stand!?

As I say, this is a pattern with this man. After reading my initial review that has since been removed from this website, Tom texted me on Christmas Day -- my first contact with him in over a year. In it, Tom confirmed he was RENEGING on his contract. I think people can now clearly see that the word of Tom McPhee means absolutely nothing.

A contract with Tom McPhee isn't worth the paper it's printed on. Tom McPhee is a serial failure who has left a trail of broken promises and bad debt across every project he's undertaken since I've known him. He's a used-car salesman with a video camera. I have reason to doubt he even cares about animals.

YOU CAN VIEW THE ORIGINAL, HANDWRITTEN CONTRACT SIGNED BY TOM MCPHEE ON MY LAST DAY WITH WA2S AT:

(http://i1264.photobucket.com/albums/jj491/ClintStarpit/Tom-Mcphee-Contract_zpsf3560a05.jpg)

(please copy & paste address in your browser, without the parenthesis of course)

Written in Tom's very own hand-writing, and witnessed by former WA2S CEO Michelle Way, you can see Chairman Tom agreed to pay me the sum of $4000 for services rendered. To date, I have received a grand total of $300 of the $4000 he owes me.

YOU CAN VIEW THE TEXTS CHAIRMAN TOM SENT ON CHRISTMAS DAY, CONFIRMING HIS RENEGING AT:

(http://i1264.photobucket.com/albums/jj491/ClintStarpit/Screencaps/mcphee-text-message_zps900294d1.jpg)

In it, you can see that Tom has gleefully and unilaterally declared his debt paid-in-full. How does he come to that conclusion? Well, obviously it's a result of me publishing this review. It's all just another opportunity for Tom and the WA2S to "mature into the powerful, responsible corporate non-profit that we expect of ourselves." What a joke! You wanna be responsible, Mr. Chairman-of-the-Board? HOW ABOUT PAYING YOUR DEBTS! I hope this is a cautionary tale for all those interested in working for, volunteering for, or considering entering any kind of relationship with Tom McPhee/WA2S. He will promise you the sky, but deliver only empty air. And when the time comes to pay the piper, he will cut you loose like you never existed. He is a man not to be trusted.

**UPDATE 2 - 12-27-12**

Tom, your silence is deafening. Are you gonna answer these charges? Or are you just gonna post more cookie-cutter reviews from these volunteers you've snowed into thinking you're legit?

You wrote a book trying to refute (unsuccessfully) the @evolotuspr review. Where's my book!?

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 10, 2012
30 people found this review helpful

more

December 10, 2012
30 people found this review helpful

I saw “An American Opera” on January 29, 2009 at the Michigan Theater in Ann Arbor, Michigan. "An American Opera" is a documentary made by Tom McPhee of World Animal Awareness Society about the crisis facing domestic animals in the aftermath of Hurricane Katrina. It was an amazing movie which moved me to tears, opened my eyes, and (eventually) moved me to action on behalf of another group of helpless animals. One of the messages that I took away from "An American Opera" - and World Animal Awareness Society in general - is that you have to get out there and do something. As corny as it sounds, everyone can do something - everyone has some resource (if not money, then time or skills) that can help animals, which subsequently can make our world a better place. I realized that I needed to utilize my professional skills to advocate on behalf of animals who do not have a voice and to make people aware of the many injustices that still face animals today. I have always considered myself an "animal person," but after becoming aware of the amazing work done by the World Animal Awareness Society I realized how passive I was in this belief. Tom McPhee and World Animal Awareness Society are doing important work to raise awareness of the many, many issues facing animals around the world. I encourage everyone to familiarize themselves with the stories told by World Animal Awareness Society and then to reflect on what resources you have that you can utilize to help remedy some of the problems identified by WA2S.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 7, 2012
29 people found this review helpful

more

December 7, 2012
29 people found this review helpful

I found out about this wonderful Non-profit Organization many years ago, during Katrina and the BP oil spill. They were there on top of taking care of all the animals, who were in need. They also have gone to other areas of the World helping all animals. All the money donated help also with the dogs roaming in the Detroit area too! A worthy cause, that sure can use some extra money during certain times helping our, with money or to be a Volunteer! Please come to the help of our animals at join WAAS or WA2S group! Thanks to Tom and his group! God bless them for caring! Barbara Kwiatkowska

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 6, 2012
29 people found this review helpful

more

December 6, 2012
29 people found this review helpful

Had the pleasure of meeting Tom & the WA2S group during BP Oil spill Grand Isle Louisiana I was impressed at the dedication & passion of these amazing people. We had the pleasure of volunteering our boat & time to take them out into the marshes to observe the effects of the oil on wildlife the birds & fish We throughly enjoyed the day & would do it again

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

December 6, 2012
22 people found this review helpful

more

December 6, 2012
22 people found this review helpful

Winthrop University really enjoyed having Tom McPhee come to our campus. He was so great to host and really spent time w/ students getting to know them and talked to them about their concerns. We loved having Tom on campus. His presentation " A Crude Awakening: When Animals and Humans Collide" was quite interesting and the panel he brought together via skype made this a unique event as it was first time we had ever hosted a skype panel. I recommend Tom as he gives you 110 per cent and is one heck of a guy. You meet him as a lecturer you are bringing to campus, he leaves as a new "friend for life". Tom rocks!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 6, 2012
30 people found this review helpful

more

December 6, 2012
30 people found this review helpful

I've worked with the WAAS and it's a very creative and highly organized outfit. Tom is a compassionate and very effective leader.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

December 6, 2012
28 people found this review helpful

more

December 6, 2012
28 people found this review helpful

I am proud to be associated with the World Animal Awareness Society as Senior Editor. Founder Tom McPhee's efforts are relentless and infectious. WA2S deserves recognition as a Great Non-profit.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 5, 2012
9 people found this review helpful

more

December 5, 2012
9 people found this review helpful

I feel obliged to mention that this organization cheated my company out of money it owed us. In 2010 we signed a contract to perform work for WA2S. We extended very favorable terms because of the nature of the organization, and agreed to allow them to pay after the work was done. However they never paid their bill, claimed they were impoverished, ignored repeated attempts to settle, and avoided collection letters. I stopped short of engaging a lawyer because as a small business it would just put us deeper in debt to collect what WA2S owed. It's the only time we've been cheated, and it's ironic that it was an "ethical" organization who did. In the meantime the organization's leader continued to travel, buy camera gear, and spend money he claimed they didn't have. It's a mystery that WA2S was named a "great nonprofit" by this site. WA2S acted dishonorably, dishonestly, and violated a legally binding contract.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Okay

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

December 5, 2012
28 people found this review helpful

more

December 5, 2012
28 people found this review helpful

I have volunteered with many animal rescue organizations who always promise if there are funds they will reimburse my expenses. Wa2s was the first to actually do that! So when you give to Wa2s, know they don't abuse their volunteers like other groups, and this will help keep a strong group of volunteers who can created quality real unbiased information on the human / animal intersection!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

help the World Animal Awareness Society change the world! Volunteer