Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
62 Reviews
1234.838715
| 1 2 3...7 |
Write A Review
July 29, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 29, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I've known Tom McPhee since An American Opera was in it's infancy stage. What a wonderful experience it has been to watch the metamorphosis from 'Opera' to the Haiti Project, and the creation of WA2S.
The people behind the scenes of WA2S are passionate souls that live and breath this
organization to get THE WORD AND TRUTH out about what is happening in the animal/human intersection.
I cannot say enough about the necessity of WA2S to continue with their mission and message to the world!
From a basement video reel and soundboard to an international sensation, Tom McPhee, the creator of the World Animal Awareness Society is one of the most beneficial Non for profits I have had the honor and gift of being a part of - with pride....It's been like a Chrysalis watching it grow and develop it's wings and now flying high, their important, imperative work is never done.
May WA2S continue to be a conduit to the masses!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Donate more money for the every day operations and upcoming projects so they may continue with there very important messages.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 13, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 13, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I am happy and proud to be able to say I have known Tom for many years now. I have never seen more energy and passion from a person in all my life. I think it's very obvious this is the case with Tom and World Awareness Society in all that is done on a daily basis.

Such good stuff!!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 11, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 11, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

My name is Bill Gabbard. I was FOH Director of Operations for 6 weeks at Hurricane Katrina, LSU Animal-Rescue Command Post.
I also founded the group: Japan Earthquake Animal Rescue and Support, which acted as the internationally-recognized, leading communication lifeline to the world during
the immediate, post-disaster rescue-efforts, as well as the first, biggest, and longest running, ongoing support-effort on the island, providing support for the local-rescues.

I was introduced to Tom, (and how he rolls), when he called, stated that he wanted to come to Fukushima to get our story, ....and then within a matter of hours..he did-so!
In the world of organizing rescue help and support, someone who can document your situation or story, and then relay that message to the world,... is probably the single most important connection/friend you can make.

This is a man and an organization who get-in , and get the story, ...and then they get that story to the people who can act-on it, and actually make a vital difference. Conversely, if the story is fluid, or changes..they follow that too. They are literally the ESPN of the animal-world.

WA2S is simply all-business. They are not waiting until the story fits into "Anderson's" schedule. They are not sitting around until all the accommodations are in place and "Wolf's deli-tray" has arrived...like the mega-media outlets tend to do. Currently, there is nothing that even comes-close to what Tom and his team are doing at WA2S....nothing that is acting-on what's going on RIGHT NOW..in the animal-world.
This is not a news-outlet that will run the obligatory animal-story... if it will turn a profit.
They are an unbiased, non-profit organization that can bring the bright-spotlight to the real issues, which gets word-out, and the ball-rolling.... to affect a real change.

In closing, I was very impressed with Tom's vision, what WA2S is doing, and what they hope to do in the future.
I firmly believe that they will do what they say. :)

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Multiply it, grow it, clone it...People actually seeing with their own eyes...is what affects change.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 11, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 11, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

A wonderful organization. very organized and very effective. tom moves mountains for this great cause.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

June 21, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
December 8, 2012

Thank you for listening and actually doing something to help get to the truth about what is happening not only here in the Gulf but also other ecologically troubled spots that need the sterilizing lig... more

June 21, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

\The World Awareness Society is a remarkably fantastic organization. They joined with our non-profit in a time of need and volunteered help during one of our oil spill surveys and at a very crucial time. The professional connections which they helped us foster were invaluable in helping us with almost instant credibility with the major media corporations and other production companies.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 8, 2012
29 people found this review helpful

Thank you for listening and actually doing something to help get to the truth about what is happening not only here in the Gulf but also other ecologically troubled spots that need the sterilizing light of national attention. Thanks for helping us to continue the investigations.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 19, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

June 19, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

As a professional filmmaker and videographer concerned with animals, I am thankful that World Animal Awareness Society exists to tell the important stories that are often times looked over and ignored by other media outlets. They play a critical role in raising our awareness of non-human animal issues that that affect our communities.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

See them get bigger

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 17, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

June 17, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I am a proud new Board Member and just so thrilled to be writing this review for WA2S.org.

Tom has an incredibly insightful organization, providing information, raw footage and pathways of self discovery for anyone interested. As a rescue volunteer and healthcare professional, I have
seen many human/animal junctions, interractions and have asked myself some pretty powerful questions, along my pathway of self discovery.

Any and every response you have, whatever you learn, observe or commit to........keep watching.
Never shield yourself from all lives, all species and all humanity.......

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Engage more people, share information and awareness.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 17, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

June 17, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

My name is Jon Price. I am a liberal arts student and a freelance journalist. I was writing a piece on the online mini-series produced by the "A2WS" executive director Tom McPhee. Subsequently doing research on the project I was pleased to find that The World Animal Awareness Society is a great organization with a great cause. I whole heartedly support their efforts to save animal lives and would recommend the charity to anyone with a philanthropic bone in their body.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 17, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

June 17, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

My name is William Bellottie, I am the Director of Operations for Detroit Bully Corps. We have had a great experience interacting with the World Animal Awareness Society. We have watched the census work in the city of Detroit & found it refreshing to have an objective look at the stray issue in the city. Detroit Bully Corps has worked with WA2S on a few projects & we also participated in the Town hall meeting hosted by WA2S. I find the work that WA2S does to be objective, distinct & refreshing. WA2S certainly has the endorsement of Detroit Bully Corps.

Sincere Regards,
William J. Bellotiie
Detroit Bully Corps- Director of Operations

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 9, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

more

June 9, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

My organization, Carol's Ferals was the lucky recipient of a contest sponsored by World Animal Awareness Society to help us increase our online presence through social media. Being a hardcore rescuer and not well versed in all the ins and outs of Google applications and all that entails, WA2S Executive Director, Tom McPhee came to spend a full day and a half training myself and my social media consultant on how to boost awareness of our group's mission to End Feline Overpopulation in West Michigan through community education and empowerment. With our mission specifically geared toward Trap-Neuter-Return and with education of the masses being of GREAT importance, the award given to us by WA2S is invaluable. Tom worked closely beside us and trained us on the next phase of our reaching out to the people who we need to make a difference I our communities. There is no way that we could have figured this out on our own. Why is this so important to my organization? Because it's the FUTURE! And the insight provided by Tom and the insertion of his message into my brain is going to make it possible for my organization to get its message out as the ever-changing social media landscape changes. Executive Director and Founder, Carol Manos

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would clone Tom so that his message could reach other small animal welfare organizations and help better their opportunities to end animal suffering on our planet.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

help the World Animal Awareness Society change the world! Volunteer