Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
53 Reviews
1234.981135
Previous | Next
Write A Review
April 25, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
October 3, 2013

Pittsburgh's World Affairs Council has brought a variety of programs to the students at Our Lady of Grace School in Scott Township for several years. From global video conferences to international sp... more

April 25, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

The World Affairs Council of Pittsburgh has been able to provide a variety of dynamic programs and experiences to my students, building 21st century global citizens and leaders who understand their role in the world today. With the Council's help and resources, we have been able to start our own club at school, and I now have middle schoolers regularly discussing current events in a new and exciting way by talking about the ethics of governance, our moral obligations, and their role in making a positive difference in this world!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make sure EVERY every state had at least one World Affairs Council with its programming accessible to schools (they currently help bridge this by offering videoconferencing).

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 3, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Pittsburgh's World Affairs Council has brought a variety of programs to the students at Our Lady of Grace School in Scott Township for several years. From global video conferences to international speakers, we have been able to collaborate with the council on a number of in-school programs. As a result of the interest sparked by the World Affairs Council, we have developed a world affairs club for students in grades 5-8.

Our students actually look forward to spending the extra time learning about their role in a global society, and they LOVE to talk about international issues! The Council and its programs like the Student Ambassador program for middle school students have been invaluable. They have ignited a spark in our kids that continues to glow and grow stronger each year! From the first day of school, students have been asking what our international theme for the year will be and what special activities the Council has planned for us. I know that I look forward to working with the World Affairs Council just as much as my students do, and I STRONGLY encourage others to get involved!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 18, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 18, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

The World Affairs Council has opened my eyes to different cultures around the world. As a student in suburban Pittsburgh, it has given me a new perspective through video conferences with other teens around the world. Their programs have greatly influenced my goals and aspirations for the future.
April 17, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 17, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I am a teacher at Upper St. Clair High School. The World Affairs Council has gone above and beyond in supporting academic achievement in our school. The programs they present to our students provide real world experiences and insights that compliment our classwork. Not only do they provide great programs, but they helped one of our students to make a contact with a Lt. Col. from the US Army War College who is an expert on Afghanistan. The student was able to conduct an interview with the Lt. Col. for insights into the "Peace and Conflict Studies" the student was preparing. Thank You.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 28, 2012

more

September 28, 2012

The World Affairs Council literally "brings the World to Pittsburgh" by inviting international leaders, scholars, and decision-makers to Pittsburgh to share their insight on very timely events that shape our world. Council members and participants have the opportunity to meet and enter into discussion with these international leaders and experts. The World Affairs Council of Pittsburgh is a very vibrant organization. I had the privilege of visiting Brussels and Prague with fellow Pittsburgh professionals via the World Affairs Council- an opportunity to learn first hand about the European Union and the challenges facing Europe from economic and political perspectives. What a tremendous opportunity!!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 27, 2012

more

September 27, 2012

The Worlds Affairs Council has been instrumental in directing the development of a virtual cross cultural exchange experience for high school students in the Pittsburgh area. As a support coordinator with CIEE they have offered me their expertise, support and partnerships allowing hundreds of high schools the opportunity to participate in a unique virtual classroom across cultures with participants spanning the globe from Brazil to China. Too name a few, students from Germany, Denmark, Brazil, China and America have come together throughout the school year to share ideas, thoughts, traditions and cultures in an effort to gain awareness and understanding about the cultural differences that exist. Through this project students from varying cultures are learning how to relate and respond to the differences that will not only enhance their current learning experiences but will impact their future as they prepare for college and the global workplace they will soon enter into.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers