Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
53 Reviews
1234.981135
Write A Review
April 17, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

April 17, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I am a social studies teacher at Elizabeth Forward. Over the past three years World Affairs Council has provided our district with a variety of speakers who have lived abroad. The sharing of experiences and cultural background with our students has been extremely valuable. World Affairs Council has literally brought the world to Elizabeth!!!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

provide even more speakers!!!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 5, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 5, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

The World Affairs Council of Pittsburgh is so helpful and really work to help others!
The organization helped me and literally changed my life when I received a scholarship to study abroad in Spain. I have recommended this organization to many of my fellow classmates in my high school. I was
also able to take part in a World Affairs Summer Seminar this past June. I now have knowledge of many ambassadors and foreign policy/issues and government around the world. Without this organization this wouldn't have been possible. I feel highly about The Council!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Suggest more scholarships for travel

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 4, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 4, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I am a high school student that has benefitted from the World Affairs Council of Pittsburgh exponentially. My connection with the Council has lasted all through high school. Throughout freshman and sophomore years, my social studies class would attend various workshops offered by the council. Topics included The Arab Spring of 2011 and the G20 Summit in Pittsburgh. A panel of riveting speakers introduced the topic, and then the congragation would break into smaller groups in which a more in-depth discussion could be benefitted from. These events were always very enriching and helped bring the concepts we discussed in class in a real-world light.

However, the council has done much, much more for me. I applied to the Global Travel Scholarship in my junior year. After a very in-depth application process which included several essays, recommenations, and an interview, I was selected for the scholarship. Due entirely to the hardwork of the council members in securing funding, I was able to spend five weeks in Morocco without paying a dollar.

I had dreamed of traveling my entire life. However, as one of four children in a single parent family, I could never have achieved that goal on my own. Everytime I think back to the unthinkable generosity that I recieved from the council I am overcome with gratitude. Morocco changed how I look at life in countless ways. I was able to improve as a student and a human being. I was able to connect with people from another culture. Without the Council, I would not be who I am today.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 4, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 4, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

The Students at Pine-Richland School District have enjoyed the benefits of World Affairs Council programs for many years. Whether through guest speakers in the classroom, student competitions like Academic WorldQuest, or summer internships, Pine-Richland students' education is highly enriched. The importance of a globalized education cannot be understated. The World Affairs coiuncil is a great resource for me as a teacher.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 3, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 3, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

In my many years of teaching, the World Affairs Council of Pittsburgh has provided to Upper St. Clair High School students numerous critical and cutting-edge programs, ones that have inspired young minds while increasing global awareness and sensibilities for hundreds of young thinkers. Programs such as the US Army War College Student Symposium and various video conferencing events with important policymakers, authors, and key global-thinkers has allowed me to extend the classroom way beyond its walls. Simply put, the WAC's critically important programs have allowed me to bring the world to my students in ways that simply be impossible otherwise.

More feedback...

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 3, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 3, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

Excellent, up to date, important insight on the major issues of the day impacting our society and our students. I would highly recommend this program to anyone who would augment their curriculum or to any school who would like to challenge their students to think. Learning is not a science it is a shared experience and with the World Affairs Council of Pittsburgh it becomes magical.

Michael Cunningham
World Class Schools
Del Valle High School

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nonthing

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 2, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

October 2, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

The council has provided my students with invaluable opportunities that we otherwise would not have had access to. From lunch with the French Ambassador to the United States, the U.S. Army War College presentations, to the multiple video conference opportunities that the Council offers...the students are put into contact with people, "who have been there" and have real-world knowledge in regard to international relations. They and I are appreciative of the programs (and the people) that the World Affairs Council of Pittsburgh produces.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 2, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 2, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

The World Affairs Council had offered invaluable opportunities to my students. Their Global Travel Scholarships have enabled students to travel who would never have had such an opportunity otherwise. In addition to the scholarships the Council provides the students with the supports that they need to have a successful experience: reassuring reticent parents, the chance to hear about the experiences of prior scholars, and naturally lots of information about how to have a successful trip. Travel is often life-changing, and for my students who have been lucky enought to participate it has had a lasting effect.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

If I had it I would give them money so that they can expand their activities.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 2, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 2, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

The World Affairs Council of Pittsburgh has been an invaluable resource in my teaching. Through video conferencing and group lectures sponsored by WAC, my students have had the experience of interacting with some of the top scholars in many fields related to Social Studies. One of my students was even granted a scholarship to travel to Italy and France in 2012 through WAC. All of our dealings with the World Affairs Council have been professional and enlightening, both for the students and staff at my school.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 2, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 2, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

The World Affairs Council of Pittsburgh has been an invaluable resource throughout my teaching career. It is because of the informed and caring staff that my students and I have been able to grow in our international knowledge and forge connections around the world that we would not have had the opportunity to otherwise. I have participated in their Army War College briefings, served on their teacher advisory board and taken my students to participate in their Student Ambassador Program among other programs. All were a huge success. Thank you WACOP for everything!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers