Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
53 Reviews
1234.981135
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
May 18, 2014

more


1 previous review
September 27, 2012

The World Affairs Council of Pittsburgh has provided my students the opportunity to experience global connections without leaving the building. The Council puts forth video conference opportunities op... more

May 18, 2014

Had the wonderful pleasure of working again this year with the World Affairs Council of Pittsburgh. Early in the school year my students participated in a video conference. The preparation guide was so thorough and also extremely manageable. My students were exceptionally prepared, but I did not have to relinquish a large amount of class time. In February I took a group of students to compete at the Academic World Quest. The competition never disappoints. It is both challenging and fun for all involved. Thank you World Affairs for giving both my students and myself a way to extend our learning.
September 27, 2012

The World Affairs Council of Pittsburgh has provided my students the opportunity to experience global connections without leaving the building. The Council puts forth video conference opportunities open to students 9-12 whereby each learner researches, prepares, and discusses pertinent world issues using modern technology and teachers as facilitators. As a World Geography and Cultures instructor this fruitful involvement with learners from the global community provides genuine and authentic learning. Without the Council’s incentives and support my students would have missed a true cultural experience.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 4, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

May 4, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

In an increasingly globalized world, our region is blessed to have the World Affairs Council. The international connections and outreach and the intellectual stimulation the Council provides for our students is unmatched and unparalleled. Whether students meet with staff members from international diplomatic corps, international corporate professionals, university professors, or with officers from the U.S. Army War College, every Council program is relevant and thought provoking. I am proud of the Council's 80 year history of stewardship to the young people of our region and am honored to be an educator that is member of this outstanding organization.

Bill Soff
Hempfield Area High School
Greensburg, PA

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would not make any changes.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 25, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 25, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

The World Affairs Council of Pittsburgh provides extraordinary opportunities to students! I want to send them major appreciation for the Academic World Quest competition, which encourages students to study a wide range of current event related topics, then demonstrate their knoweldge in a team competition. My students love it, and I am so glad we are invited to particpate. We would never have this opportunity without them!
April 23, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

April 23, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

Top notch organization! I am honored and proud to say that I am a Global Travel Scholar. The World Affairs Council of Pittsburgh awarded me a phenomenal expedition...one that I'll never forget. Traveling to Japan was a life changing journey. It allowed me to gain a better appreciation for other cultures as well as my own. The staff of the organization are very professional, courteous and thorough. A "hands-on"approach throughout the entire process. Kept us well informed and encouraged you to call upon them with any questions or concerns you had. The World Affairs Council of Pittsburgh made a dream a reality. I was truly thrilled to visit anime production companies, magna studios, and neighborhoods famous for contemporary art. I have greatly benefited from this highly rewarding experience and feel strongly that i will be able to relate my experience in Japan to my academic and professional goals.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 23, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

April 23, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

The World Affairs Council provides people with the opportunity to discover cultures all across the globe. The organization makes something that is otherwise very difficult, possible. Being able to understand another culture on the most authentic scale of interaction and immersion, is a wonderful experience, and creates international thinkers. Being able to accept other cultures and thinking internationally can help bring the world together, and The World Affairs Council of Pittsburgh is a strong driving force of this in our city.
April 23, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

April 23, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

The World Affairs Council of Pittsburgh is a first-class organization. As a school teacher, I have used their programming many times to benefit my students. Each time, they have shown a willingness to not only provide a comprehensive experience, but also accommodate any of my specific needs. I have donated money for a number of years.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Increase the amount of middle and elementary school programming as most offerings cater to high school students.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 23, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 23, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

The World Affairs Council of Pittsburgh is an invaluable resource to many schools. The programs the WACP are like none other offered in the region, and students gain unique and enriching knowledge and experiences from the great variety of programs they offer.
April 21, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

April 21, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

The World Affairs Council has offered our students opportunities to access information and gain a variety of perspectives about the ever-changing world around them. Their support of high school programs / education is without comparison. Our students are hungry to learn more about their world and the World Affairs Council makes it relevant and brings it alive by making opportunities for students to engage with adults who are working closely with others around the world.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 18, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

April 18, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I really appreciate all of the work that the World Affairs Council does for high school students, like myself, around the Pittsburgh area. I have participated in many programs with the council including the AIU International Affairs Apprenticeship Program, video conferences, and various other events. Also, I will soon be shadowing an employee at the council to get a truly hands-on experience. The council has really opened my eyes to international situations and provided me with a lot of guidance when it comes to deciding upon a career and a major for college. It has helped me realize my love for international relations and the study of how different cultures behave and interact. I cannot express enough how grateful I am for the opportunities the council has provided, and I will most definitely take advantage of their programs even more in the future.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

N/A

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 17, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

April 17, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I am a teacher at Cornell High School. Over the past few years the World Affairs Council of Pittsburgh sent to of our students abroad, invited our students to events, hosted events at our school, and provided professional development opportunities for our teachers. Each experience our students and teachers have had with the World Affairs Council of Pittsburgh has been absolutely amazing. The World Affairs Council of Pittsburgh really helps making Pittsburgh a remarkable place.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers