Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
53 Reviews
1234.981135
Write A Review
April 17, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

April 17, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

Through the World Affairs Council of Pittsburgh, I was able to be a Youth Reporter for the One Young World convention that Pittsburgh hosted in 2012. It easily was one of the best experiences of my life. Not only did I get to hear from incredible leaders such as Bill Clinton, Muhammad Yunus, and Kofi Annan, but I also got to interact with young leaders and change makers from over 180 different countries. It was incredibly inspiring and truly an experience I'll absolutely never forget! I will forever be grateful to the World Affairs Council of Pittsburgh for giving high school students like myself the ability to be a part of such a life-changing experience, and for giving us the voice to spread the message of collaboration, innovation, and compassion so far and wide.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 17, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 17, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I am a student at Avonworth High School. The World Affairs Council of Pittsburgh has beyond helpful for me as a student in learning about the world around me. I have participates in the apprenticeship through AIU3 with the Council as well as the Summer Seminar on World Affairs at Dusquense university last year. The apprenticeship was particularly helpful in learning about what it takes to do numerous examples of international careers in various fields. The seminar taught me a lot about specific anecdotal stories of people helping change the world internationally, including talking to refugees from various middle eastern countries. I learned so much during both programs, which prompted me to decide that I want to pursue a career in international affairs. I only wish there was more student involvement opportunities it's the Council because I enjoy it so much!!
April 25, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
October 3, 2013

Pittsburgh's World Affairs Council has brought a variety of programs to the students at Our Lady of Grace School in Scott Township for several years. From global video conferences to international sp... more

April 25, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

The World Affairs Council of Pittsburgh has been able to provide a variety of dynamic programs and experiences to my students, building 21st century global citizens and leaders who understand their role in the world today. With the Council's help and resources, we have been able to start our own club at school, and I now have middle schoolers regularly discussing current events in a new and exciting way by talking about the ethics of governance, our moral obligations, and their role in making a positive difference in this world!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make sure EVERY every state had at least one World Affairs Council with its programming accessible to schools (they currently help bridge this by offering videoconferencing).

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 3, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Pittsburgh's World Affairs Council has brought a variety of programs to the students at Our Lady of Grace School in Scott Township for several years. From global video conferences to international speakers, we have been able to collaborate with the council on a number of in-school programs. As a result of the interest sparked by the World Affairs Council, we have developed a world affairs club for students in grades 5-8.

Our students actually look forward to spending the extra time learning about their role in a global society, and they LOVE to talk about international issues! The Council and its programs like the Student Ambassador program for middle school students have been invaluable. They have ignited a spark in our kids that continues to glow and grow stronger each year! From the first day of school, students have been asking what our international theme for the year will be and what special activities the Council has planned for us. I know that I look forward to working with the World Affairs Council just as much as my students do, and I STRONGLY encourage others to get involved!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 2, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

October 2, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

For a small organization, the World Affairs Council of Pittsburgh does amazing things for students and members of the community. They are able to leverage technology so that students in Pittsburgh can work directly with other students around the world. No other organization brings that level of interaction to students who may not have left the state. The events for the community, whether it be breakfast briefings, lunches, or political salon's, stimulate an engaged and intellectual discussion on a broad array of topics. I would highly recommend this organization to others and support this organization as it brings global education to Pittsburgh.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 29, 2011

more

September 29, 2011

I am a senior in high school, who, up until recently, has experienced other cultures and participated in world events only through community service projects and fundraisers (such as raising money for Haiti survivors, etc) in my school. Never had I imaged the opportunities awaiting me through the Pittsburgh World Affairs Council.

I first heard about the Council at the end of my junior year, after being nominated by a teacher for the Council's Travel Abroad Scholarship. I researched the Council and scholarship, and thought, 'Why not give it a shot!' Looking back now, that was a life-changing decision. From the first introductory seminar I attended about the Travel Abroad Scholarship, the Council has opened, and continues to open, countless doors for me. Since then, I have traveled to China as an Experimenter in International Living, experiencing the culture of this foreign country for a month. I've come back a more broad-minded, worldly person. This remarkable experience has, sincerely, shaped the way I intend to live the rest of my life. I owe it to the World Affairs Council of Pittsburgh.

In addition to the amazing feet of sending me to China on full scholarship, they were there every step of the way to ensure that my experience was a rewarding as it could be. It was. Through pre-departure and welcome home seminars they sent me off and brought me home safely. Now that I've returned, I take pride in being a part of the World Affairs Council family. And it does truly feel like a family. I met and formed a tight-knit group with the 17th other recipients of the scholarship. We still stay in touch and share memories of our trips. Beginning college applications and the scary transition into the "real world" the Council administration has helped me with advice in career paths, letters of recommendations, and stand as examples of people in fields that I would like to one day pursue.

Back from China, I am now participating in the World Affairs Council's Apprenticeship in International Affairs. I look forward hearing from professionals in international relations fields at each seminar and know that they will continue to shape my career path.

The Council has brought me to the point I am now. It has shaped how I view my future. They have taken my view of my life and future in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, and widened it to encompass the entire world. It goes without saying the number of opportunities and experiences they've opened my eyes to world-wide, and I am more excited than ever for my future.
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers