Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
53 Reviews
1234.981135
Write A Review
October 2, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 2, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

The World Affairs Council of Pittsburgh conducted a fantastic video conference at our high school which included a world famous author and member of several administrations, Joseph Cirincione. The program was entitled Fifty Years Since the Cuban Missile Crisis What the Future Holds for Global Peace and Security. It was a student driven program with students asking questions directly to Mr. Circione.
Students were engaged, not only with historical topics, but also current situations such as N. Korea and Iran. THe WAC has been an excellent partner and resource for our students.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 2, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 2, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

As a public policy researcher, I value the excellent programs provided by the World Affairs Council of Pittsburgh. They routinely bring global thinkers to Pittsburgh, not just to talk, but to engage with the community. As the world becomes more connected, it is essential that Pittsburgh's students, business leaders, educators and all other residents learn about global challenges and opportunities. The professional staff of the World Affairs Council does a fantastic job of preparing our region's residents to thrive in a global environment.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 2, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 2, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I am forever indebted to the World Affairs Council of Pittsburgh for their outstanding programs, and dedication to our students. Three of my students were given the opportunity for international travel, forever changing their lives, because of the WAC-Pittsburgh.

Also, I've been able to
attend many of their outstanding programs - lunch time and otherwise, and I always learning something new and valuable.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

not change anything.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 2, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

October 2, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

As a teacher, I have worked with the World Affairs Council of Pittsburgh for the past 5 years. In that time, they have sponsored 3 of my students on all-expense paid summer learning programs to foreign countries. Each year, they also bring guest speakers to my students and organize the Student Ambassador Forum along with multiple video conferences with foreign schools. I have found the organization to be extremely accommodating and thorough in everything they do. In my opinion, the World Affairs Council of Pittsburgh is an entirely professional organization that far exceeds the goals it sets for itself.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 2, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 2, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

The Pittsburgh educational community is fortunate to have the opportunities for our students that are available through the World Affairs Council. For the past two years my students have been involved in the Student Ambassador Program. The international speakers that have visited our schools have sparked an enthusiasm and interest within my students to learn more about other cultures. The students listen intently and eagerly and ask a variety of questions throughout the presentations. This program sparked the students’ interest in ways that I could not reproduce alone in the classroom. This speaks volumes about its effectiveness. When the students attend the culminating conference they are able to interact with a diverse group of professionals. Their presentations help them to become geographically literate and better prepared for the global community. This kind of exposure is essential as we raise our youth to become future leaders in an increasingly complex, interconnected, and diverse world.


More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 2, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 2, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

As a high school principal at a public school, I find the programming from the World Affairs Council of Pittsburgh to be invaluable. The opportunities that my students have had to hear directly from experts across the country and the world about pertinent global issues has been astounding. These experiences are topical and have incredible impact. Additionally, the opportunity to collaborate and speak with students from other countries helps to break down stereotypes and promote positive cultural awareness. Over the last couple of years, our students have communicated with students from Brazil, Pakistan, Slovenia, and Ireland, to name a few. The World Affairs Council of Pittsburgh has become a reliable and vital partner for us that supports our curriculum and the promotion of 21st century skills.-----Ken Lockette, Principal, Avonworth High School

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 1, 2012

more

October 1, 2012

Dr. Sokol and his talented team at the World Affairs Council have made tremendous strides increasing the public exposure of the WAC of Pittsburgh in recent years and continue to do so, today. Events cover a broad spectrum of interests and there is truly "something for everyone." I have been a participant in several events, but clearly the keystone event that highlights the importance and impact of the organization was my participation in a week long fact-finding mission to Europe. Aimed at increasing awareness of the European continent's impact on American interests (as well as a sizable dose of history by those who lived and created it), the trip's well planned agenda and remarkable speaker list speaks to global connections the Pittsburgh Council has to offer. The Council's work is helping to drive Pittsburgh's rebirth.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 28, 2012

more

September 28, 2012

The World Affairs Council literally "brings the World to Pittsburgh" by inviting international leaders, scholars, and decision-makers to Pittsburgh to share their insight on very timely events that shape our world. Council members and participants have the opportunity to meet and enter into discussion with these international leaders and experts. The World Affairs Council of Pittsburgh is a very vibrant organization. I had the privilege of visiting Brussels and Prague with fellow Pittsburgh professionals via the World Affairs Council- an opportunity to learn first hand about the European Union and the challenges facing Europe from economic and political perspectives. What a tremendous opportunity!!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 27, 2012

more

September 27, 2012

The World Affairs Council of Pittsburgh has proved to be an invaluable asset as an educator. They are able to offer the students opportunities to connect with global leaders and world citizens. Students are able to participate in video-conferences either in attendance with the host or via conferencing equipment as well as being invited to attend lectures and conferences. Students need exposure to new ideas, people and cultures, the council allows them these types of opportunities consistently. A wonderful example of their work was bringing famed author and Iranian expert Dr. Trita Parsi. The World Affairs Council procured Dr. Parsi's latest book for students to read and analyze and then brought him to Cornell for an informative interview session with a group of World Cultures Students. Not only was Dr. Parsi and excellent resource for my students he was also an important influence on them. He shared his knowledge as well as his delight at how much Cornell students wanted to know and were willing to do in order to learn. Experiences like this can never be replaced for our students.

Beyond students, the World Affairs Council offers so much to teachers. They are willing to take the extra time to create a conference for your class or school, share any and all resources that they have, they even extend travel opportunities to teachers. They offer educators the opportunity to enrich their classrooms and they make it easy to do.

I have been fortunate enough to work with the World Affairs Council on several levels, please support their work! What they do for teachers, students and their community is unsurpassed!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 27, 2012

more

September 27, 2012

The World Affairs Council offered me the best oppurtunity a teenager at 16 could ever imagine. Without this oppurtunity I wouldn't be the person I am today. I never thought traveling the world was possible But the world affairs council tought me that anything is impossible if thats what you want it to be. You make it possible by going for it. I participated in two programs Both the Global Travel Scholarship Program (a program where students are sent accros the globe to experience new discoveries and culture a new life and new outlook on life back at home) (I traveled to Morocco for a month as a child, and came back a young leader wanting to make a difference not just in my life but in everyone around me I wanted to be the example I want to see as a world leader), and the Summer Seminar on World Affairs (information, history, excellent speakers, and good people this seminar teaches you about the outside world and the struggles and successes of the world today). Both taught many things and opened up my mind to things I never thought. While in the process of the seminar I wasn't to happy maybe a little board but when I traveled out of the country I seen some of the knowledge I learned as a reality. everything you learn will benefit you if you apply it, and somehow you find ways to actually experience it and The World Affairs Council helped me do just that! I will be particpating in the One Young World Summit as a youth reporter just because of the oppurtunities and doors that this program offers there participants

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I am taking two African American courses that involve many things that I learned while being a part of the Global Travel Scholarship Program. (ex: I seen an ancient empire that was de-prived of it's gold and architecture; later in school I found the history behind why that happened....it was good to actually experience something you learn about) Learning about the Euro-crisis in the Summer Seminar on World Affairs was great for when I actually got a chance to use Euros in the Paris Airport.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What, if any, change in your life has this group encouraged?

TO BE A LEADER, open up your mind to the world, and get connected with the inner you so that you can connect to others. No-one can limit your success except yourself!

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers