Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
53 Reviews
1234.981135
| 1 2 3 45 |
Write A Review
October 3, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 3, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Excellent, up to date, important insight on the major issues of the day impacting our society and our students. I would highly recommend this program to anyone who would augment their curriculum or to any school who would like to challenge their students to think. Learning is not a science it is a shared experience and with the World Affairs Council of Pittsburgh it becomes magical.

Michael Cunningham
World Class Schools
Del Valle High School

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nonthing

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 2, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 2, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

The World Affairs Council does an outstanding job of introducing many important global topics to the Southwestern Pennsylvania region. It is perhaps the only organization in the region that has been able to reach a wide range of audiences, including students, teachers and administrators from middle and high schools, academics from area colleges and universities and members of the business community and general public. Its ability to attract speakers from around the country and the world has provided audiences with some of the best programming in any city in the United States. It is a one of the great resources in Pittsburgh.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 2, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 2, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I am currently working on two projects with the World Affairs Council (WAC) of Pittsburgh regarding a regional global Dignity and Respect campaign and a global project based learning experience for regional and international high school students. Collaborating with WAC of Pittsburgh has been a rewarding experience for the students, teachers and school administrators because of the organization's international connections and reputation of delivering programs of the highest caliber. The focus of the events and programs have provided an introduction of the social, cultural and economic uniqueness of the global community.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 2, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 2, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

As an educator who has been teaching students for over a decade, I feel that there is nothing as powerful as having people from diverse cultural backgrounds work with one another and tackle problems together. Students and teachers from National Dali High School- Taiwan had the privilege to connect with their peers from USA, Greece, South Africa, Brazil, Canada and many other countries through the programs the WAC Pittsburgh has provided over the years. We have been able to debate, learn, and negotiate with peers across several continents since 2009, collaborating in real time right from our own country, an opportunity that would have otherwise been impossible without WAC. The WAC programs are extremely valuable not only because of diversity but also in that they have made it possible for the underprivileged to receive structured international education, a major breakthrough for those who will never have a chance to set foot abroad. Through each well thought-out project, WAC has enabled students along with educators to learn and seize the opportunity to strive for their best while collaborating with people around the world!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

provide more resources for them to fluorish even more. (to expand their outstanding job)

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 2, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 2, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

The council has provided my students with invaluable opportunities that we otherwise would not have had access to. From lunch with the French Ambassador to the United States, the U.S. Army War College presentations, to the multiple video conference opportunities that the Council offers...the students are put into contact with people, "who have been there" and have real-world knowledge in regard to international relations. They and I are appreciative of the programs (and the people) that the World Affairs Council of Pittsburgh produces.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 2, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 2, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

For a small organization, the World Affairs Council of Pittsburgh does amazing things for students and members of the community. They are able to leverage technology so that students in Pittsburgh can work directly with other students around the world. No other organization brings that level of interaction to students who may not have left the state. The events for the community, whether it be breakfast briefings, lunches, or political salon's, stimulate an engaged and intellectual discussion on a broad array of topics. I would highly recommend this organization to others and support this organization as it brings global education to Pittsburgh.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 2, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 2, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

The World Affairs Council had offered invaluable opportunities to my students. Their Global Travel Scholarships have enabled students to travel who would never have had such an opportunity otherwise. In addition to the scholarships the Council provides the students with the supports that they need to have a successful experience: reassuring reticent parents, the chance to hear about the experiences of prior scholars, and naturally lots of information about how to have a successful trip. Travel is often life-changing, and for my students who have been lucky enought to participate it has had a lasting effect.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

If I had it I would give them money so that they can expand their activities.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 2, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 2, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

The World Affairs Council of Pittsburgh has been an invaluable resource in my teaching. Through video conferencing and group lectures sponsored by WAC, my students have had the experience of interacting with some of the top scholars in many fields related to Social Studies. One of my students was even granted a scholarship to travel to Italy and France in 2012 through WAC. All of our dealings with the World Affairs Council have been professional and enlightening, both for the students and staff at my school.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 2, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 2, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

The World Affairs Council of Pittsburgh has been an invaluable resource throughout my teaching career. It is because of the informed and caring staff that my students and I have been able to grow in our international knowledge and forge connections around the world that we would not have had the opportunity to otherwise. I have participated in their Army War College briefings, served on their teacher advisory board and taken my students to participate in their Student Ambassador Program among other programs. All were a huge success. Thank you WACOP for everything!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 2, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 2, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I absolutely adore this organization. I have gotten incredible value out of the events the WAC offers for the professional community. They are informative and inspiring and always have guest speakers that are bring tremendous insights about the topic (and they are always in interesting locations so they get me out and about and connected in Pittsburgh). The value of education and insights in a global world cannot be underestimated and the WAC is contributing to making the business community in Pittsburgh smarter, more connected and open to the world.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None - they continously surprise me with their great ideas and how entrenched they are in the Pittsburgh buesiness community but also in the "rest of the world"

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers