Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
53 Reviews
1234.981135
| 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review
April 18, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 18, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

The World Affairs Council has opened my eyes to different cultures around the world. As a student in suburban Pittsburgh, it has given me a new perspective through video conferences with other teens around the world. Their programs have greatly influenced my goals and aspirations for the future.
April 17, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 17, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I am a teacher at Upper St. Clair High School. The World Affairs Council has gone above and beyond in supporting academic achievement in our school. The programs they present to our students provide real world experiences and insights that compliment our classwork. Not only do they provide great programs, but they helped one of our students to make a contact with a Lt. Col. from the US Army War College who is an expert on Afghanistan. The student was able to conduct an interview with the Lt. Col. for insights into the "Peace and Conflict Studies" the student was preparing. Thank You.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 17, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 17, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Through the World Affairs Council of Pittsburgh, I was able to be a Youth Reporter for the One Young World convention that Pittsburgh hosted in 2012. It easily was one of the best experiences of my life. Not only did I get to hear from incredible leaders such as Bill Clinton, Muhammad Yunus, and Kofi Annan, but I also got to interact with young leaders and change makers from over 180 different countries. It was incredibly inspiring and truly an experience I'll absolutely never forget! I will forever be grateful to the World Affairs Council of Pittsburgh for giving high school students like myself the ability to be a part of such a life-changing experience, and for giving us the voice to spread the message of collaboration, innovation, and compassion so far and wide.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 17, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 17, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I am a student at Avonworth High School. The World Affairs Council of Pittsburgh has beyond helpful for me as a student in learning about the world around me. I have participates in the apprenticeship through AIU3 with the Council as well as the Summer Seminar on World Affairs at Dusquense university last year. The apprenticeship was particularly helpful in learning about what it takes to do numerous examples of international careers in various fields. The seminar taught me a lot about specific anecdotal stories of people helping change the world internationally, including talking to refugees from various middle eastern countries. I learned so much during both programs, which prompted me to decide that I want to pursue a career in international affairs. I only wish there was more student involvement opportunities it's the Council because I enjoy it so much!!
April 17, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 17, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I am a teacher at Cornell High School. Over the past few years the World Affairs Council of Pittsburgh sent to of our students abroad, invited our students to events, hosted events at our school, and provided professional development opportunities for our teachers. Each experience our students and teachers have had with the World Affairs Council of Pittsburgh has been absolutely amazing. The World Affairs Council of Pittsburgh really helps making Pittsburgh a remarkable place.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 17, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 17, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I am a social studies teacher at Elizabeth Forward. Over the past three years World Affairs Council has provided our district with a variety of speakers who have lived abroad. The sharing of experiences and cultural background with our students has been extremely valuable. World Affairs Council has literally brought the world to Elizabeth!!!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

provide even more speakers!!!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

The World Affairs Council of Pittsburgh is so helpful and really work to help others!
The organization helped me and literally changed my life when I received a scholarship to study abroad in Spain. I have recommended this organization to many of my fellow classmates in my high school. I was
also able to take part in a World Affairs Summer Seminar this past June. I now have knowledge of many ambassadors and foreign policy/issues and government around the world. Without this organization this wouldn't have been possible. I feel highly about The Council!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Suggest more scholarships for travel

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 4, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 4, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I am a high school student that has benefitted from the World Affairs Council of Pittsburgh exponentially. My connection with the Council has lasted all through high school. Throughout freshman and sophomore years, my social studies class would attend various workshops offered by the council. Topics included The Arab Spring of 2011 and the G20 Summit in Pittsburgh. A panel of riveting speakers introduced the topic, and then the congragation would break into smaller groups in which a more in-depth discussion could be benefitted from. These events were always very enriching and helped bring the concepts we discussed in class in a real-world light.

However, the council has done much, much more for me. I applied to the Global Travel Scholarship in my junior year. After a very in-depth application process which included several essays, recommenations, and an interview, I was selected for the scholarship. Due entirely to the hardwork of the council members in securing funding, I was able to spend five weeks in Morocco without paying a dollar.

I had dreamed of traveling my entire life. However, as one of four children in a single parent family, I could never have achieved that goal on my own. Everytime I think back to the unthinkable generosity that I recieved from the council I am overcome with gratitude. Morocco changed how I look at life in countless ways. I was able to improve as a student and a human being. I was able to connect with people from another culture. Without the Council, I would not be who I am today.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 4, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 4, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

The Students at Pine-Richland School District have enjoyed the benefits of World Affairs Council programs for many years. Whether through guest speakers in the classroom, student competitions like Academic WorldQuest, or summer internships, Pine-Richland students' education is highly enriched. The importance of a globalized education cannot be understated. The World Affairs coiuncil is a great resource for me as a teacher.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 3, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 3, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

In my many years of teaching, the World Affairs Council of Pittsburgh has provided to Upper St. Clair High School students numerous critical and cutting-edge programs, ones that have inspired young minds while increasing global awareness and sensibilities for hundreds of young thinkers. Programs such as the US Army War College Student Symposium and various video conferencing events with important policymakers, authors, and key global-thinkers has allowed me to extend the classroom way beyond its walls. Simply put, the WAC's critically important programs have allowed me to bring the world to my students in ways that simply be impossible otherwise.

More feedback...

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers