Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
46 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review
April 23, 2014

more

April 23, 2014

The World Affairs Council of Pittsburgh is an invaluable resource to many schools. The programs the WACP are like none other offered in the region, and students gain unique and enriching knowledge and experiences from the great variety of programs they offer.
April 21, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 21, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

The World Affairs Council has offered our students opportunities to access information and gain a variety of perspectives about the ever-changing world around them. Their support of high school programs / education is without comparison. Our students are hungry to learn more about their world and the World Affairs Council makes it relevant and brings it alive by making opportunities for students to engage with adults who are working closely with others around the world.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 18, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 18, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I really appreciate all of the work that the World Affairs Council does for high school students, like myself, around the Pittsburgh area. I have participated in many programs with the council including the AIU International Affairs Apprenticeship Program, video conferences, and various other events. Also, I will soon be shadowing an employee at the council to get a truly hands-on experience. The council has really opened my eyes to international situations and provided me with a lot of guidance when it comes to deciding upon a career and a major for college. It has helped me realize my love for international relations and the study of how different cultures behave and interact. I cannot express enough how grateful I am for the opportunities the council has provided, and I will most definitely take advantage of their programs even more in the future.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

N/A

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 18, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 18, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

The World Affairs Council has opened my eyes to different cultures around the world. As a student in suburban Pittsburgh, it has given me a new perspective through video conferences with other teens around the world. Their programs have greatly influenced my goals and aspirations for the future.
April 17, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 17, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I am a teacher at Upper St. Clair High School. The World Affairs Council has gone above and beyond in supporting academic achievement in our school. The programs they present to our students provide real world experiences and insights that compliment our classwork. Not only do they provide great programs, but they helped one of our students to make a contact with a Lt. Col. from the US Army War College who is an expert on Afghanistan. The student was able to conduct an interview with the Lt. Col. for insights into the "Peace and Conflict Studies" the student was preparing. Thank You.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 17, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 17, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Through the World Affairs Council of Pittsburgh, I was able to be a Youth Reporter for the One Young World convention that Pittsburgh hosted in 2012. It easily was one of the best experiences of my life. Not only did I get to hear from incredible leaders such as Bill Clinton, Muhammad Yunus, and Kofi Annan, but I also got to interact with young leaders and change makers from over 180 different countries. It was incredibly inspiring and truly an experience I'll absolutely never forget! I will forever be grateful to the World Affairs Council of Pittsburgh for giving high school students like myself the ability to be a part of such a life-changing experience, and for giving us the voice to spread the message of collaboration, innovation, and compassion so far and wide.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 17, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 17, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I am a student at Avonworth High School. The World Affairs Council of Pittsburgh has beyond helpful for me as a student in learning about the world around me. I have participates in the apprenticeship through AIU3 with the Council as well as the Summer Seminar on World Affairs at Dusquense university last year. The apprenticeship was particularly helpful in learning about what it takes to do numerous examples of international careers in various fields. The seminar taught me a lot about specific anecdotal stories of people helping change the world internationally, including talking to refugees from various middle eastern countries. I learned so much during both programs, which prompted me to decide that I want to pursue a career in international affairs. I only wish there was more student involvement opportunities it's the Council because I enjoy it so much!!
April 17, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 17, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I am a teacher at Cornell High School. Over the past few years the World Affairs Council of Pittsburgh sent to of our students abroad, invited our students to events, hosted events at our school, and provided professional development opportunities for our teachers. Each experience our students and teachers have had with the World Affairs Council of Pittsburgh has been absolutely amazing. The World Affairs Council of Pittsburgh really helps making Pittsburgh a remarkable place.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 17, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 17, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I am a social studies teacher at Elizabeth Forward. Over the past three years World Affairs Council has provided our district with a variety of speakers who have lived abroad. The sharing of experiences and cultural background with our students has been extremely valuable. World Affairs Council has literally brought the world to Elizabeth!!!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

provide even more speakers!!!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

The World Affairs Council of Pittsburgh is so helpful and really work to help others!
The organization helped me and literally changed my life when I received a scholarship to study abroad in Spain. I have recommended this organization to many of my fellow classmates in my high school. I was
also able to take part in a World Affairs Summer Seminar this past June. I now have knowledge of many ambassadors and foreign policy/issues and government around the world. Without this organization this wouldn't have been possible. I feel highly about The Council!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Suggest more scholarships for travel

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers