Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
37 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
October 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

The World Affairs Council of Pittsburgh is so helpful and really work to help others!
The organization helped me and literally changed my life when I received a scholarship to study abroad in Spain. I have recommended this organization to many of my fellow classmates in my high school. I was
also able to take part in a World Affairs Summer Seminar this past June. I now have knowledge of many ambassadors and foreign policy/issues and government around the world. Without this organization this wouldn't have been possible. I feel highly about The Council!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Suggest more scholarships for travel

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 4, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 4, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I am a high school student that has benefitted from the World Affairs Council of Pittsburgh exponentially. My connection with the Council has lasted all through high school. Throughout freshman and sophomore years, my social studies class would attend various workshops offered by the council. Topics included The Arab Spring of 2011 and the G20 Summit in Pittsburgh. A panel of riveting speakers introduced the topic, and then the congragation would break into smaller groups in which a more in-depth discussion could be benefitted from. These events were always very enriching and helped bring the concepts we discussed in class in a real-world light.

However, the council has done much, much more for me. I applied to the Global Travel Scholarship in my junior year. After a very in-depth application process which included several essays, recommenations, and an interview, I was selected for the scholarship. Due entirely to the hardwork of the council members in securing funding, I was able to spend five weeks in Morocco without paying a dollar.

I had dreamed of traveling my entire life. However, as one of four children in a single parent family, I could never have achieved that goal on my own. Everytime I think back to the unthinkable generosity that I recieved from the council I am overcome with gratitude. Morocco changed how I look at life in countless ways. I was able to improve as a student and a human being. I was able to connect with people from another culture. Without the Council, I would not be who I am today.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 4, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 4, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

The Students at Pine-Richland School District have enjoyed the benefits of World Affairs Council programs for many years. Whether through guest speakers in the classroom, student competitions like Academic WorldQuest, or summer internships, Pine-Richland students' education is highly enriched. The importance of a globalized education cannot be understated. The World Affairs coiuncil is a great resource for me as a teacher.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 3, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 3, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Pittsburgh's World Affairs Council has brought a variety of programs to the students at Our Lady of Grace School in Scott Township for several years. From global video conferences to international speakers, we have been able to collaborate with the council on a number of in-school programs. As a result of the interest sparked by the World Affairs Council, we have developed a world affairs club for students in grades 5-8.

Our students actually look forward to spending the extra time learning about their role in a global society, and they LOVE to talk about international issues! The Council and its programs like the Student Ambassador program for middle school students have been invaluable. They have ignited a spark in our kids that continues to glow and grow stronger each year! From the first day of school, students have been asking what our international theme for the year will be and what special activities the Council has planned for us. I know that I look forward to working with the World Affairs Council just as much as my students do, and I STRONGLY encourage others to get involved!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 3, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 3, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

In my many years of teaching, the World Affairs Council of Pittsburgh has provided to Upper St. Clair High School students numerous critical and cutting-edge programs, ones that have inspired young minds while increasing global awareness and sensibilities for hundreds of young thinkers. Programs such as the US Army War College Student Symposium and various video conferencing events with important policymakers, authors, and key global-thinkers has allowed me to extend the classroom way beyond its walls. Simply put, the WAC's critically important programs have allowed me to bring the world to my students in ways that simply be impossible otherwise.

More feedback...

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 3, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 3, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Excellent, up to date, important insight on the major issues of the day impacting our society and our students. I would highly recommend this program to anyone who would augment their curriculum or to any school who would like to challenge their students to think. Learning is not a science it is a shared experience and with the World Affairs Council of Pittsburgh it becomes magical.

Michael Cunningham
World Class Schools
Del Valle High School

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nonthing

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 2, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 2, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

The World Affairs Council does an outstanding job of introducing many important global topics to the Southwestern Pennsylvania region. It is perhaps the only organization in the region that has been able to reach a wide range of audiences, including students, teachers and administrators from middle and high schools, academics from area colleges and universities and members of the business community and general public. Its ability to attract speakers from around the country and the world has provided audiences with some of the best programming in any city in the United States. It is a one of the great resources in Pittsburgh.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 2, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 2, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I am currently working on two projects with the World Affairs Council (WAC) of Pittsburgh regarding a regional global Dignity and Respect campaign and a global project based learning experience for regional and international high school students. Collaborating with WAC of Pittsburgh has been a rewarding experience for the students, teachers and school administrators because of the organization's international connections and reputation of delivering programs of the highest caliber. The focus of the events and programs have provided an introduction of the social, cultural and economic uniqueness of the global community.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 2, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 2, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

As an educator who has been teaching students for over a decade, I feel that there is nothing as powerful as having people from diverse cultural backgrounds work with one another and tackle problems together. Students and teachers from National Dali High School- Taiwan had the privilege to connect with their peers from USA, Greece, South Africa, Brazil, Canada and many other countries through the programs the WAC Pittsburgh has provided over the years. We have been able to debate, learn, and negotiate with peers across several continents since 2009, collaborating in real time right from our own country, an opportunity that would have otherwise been impossible without WAC. The WAC programs are extremely valuable not only because of diversity but also in that they have made it possible for the underprivileged to receive structured international education, a major breakthrough for those who will never have a chance to set foot abroad. Through each well thought-out project, WAC has enabled students along with educators to learn and seize the opportunity to strive for their best while collaborating with people around the world!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

provide more resources for them to fluorish even more. (to expand their outstanding job)

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 2, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 2, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

The council has provided my students with invaluable opportunities that we otherwise would not have had access to. From lunch with the French Ambassador to the United States, the U.S. Army War College presentations, to the multiple video conference opportunities that the Council offers...the students are put into contact with people, "who have been there" and have real-world knowledge in regard to international relations. They and I are appreciative of the programs (and the people) that the World Affairs Council of Pittsburgh produces.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers