Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
5 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
July 5, 2012

more

July 5, 2012

I've been a season subscriber and financial supporter of Woolly Mammoth Theater Company for years. Woolly's tagline is "defy convention," and they do that with every production and initiative they undertake. From arts education to innovative plays to supporting the work of new and emerging artists to making it possible to make a living as an artist in Washington, DC, Woolly is vital to the local arts community. I look forward to every interaction I have with the development and artistic staff and can't wait to see what they're going to come up with in the future.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 16, 2012

more

June 16, 2012

Woolly Mammoth brings cutting edge theatre to the DC area scene, as well as fostering creative new playwrights. This dual commitment contributes to thriving seasons of plays and of enthusiastic audience followers across a broad spectrum.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 11, 2012

more

June 11, 2012

Woolly Mammoth Theatre Company certainly lives up to its reputation as Washington's most daring theatre company. As a resident of DC for over 5 years now with many connections to some of our area's best theaters, I have never seen a show at Woolly that hasn't made me think, feel, and walk away inspired. But it's more than just their artistic choices that makes this company daring. Woolly Mammoth Theatre Company dares to engage its community on the issues that affect us all. In a recent collaboration with the American Foundation for Equal Rights and Broadway Impact, Woolly presented a special reading and town hall discussion of "8, " a play about Proposition 8 in California. I have never felt more included in and impacted by a theatrical community than at this event. Woolly Mammoth is a model for non-profit theatres around the country.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 6, 2012

more

June 6, 2012

Woolly Mammoth Theatre Company and its artistic director, Howard Shalwitz, reawakened my belief in the transformative power of theater. As a native Washingtonian, for years, I evinced a somewhat jaundiced view of local theater arts in my hometown. I was proud of those few stages that had achieved national recognition but I did not understand how effectively a theater company could unite with a community and grow, how it could strengthen itself and still question itself in a way that was both provocative and entertaining. My decades of faithful attendance have cemented that view. I LOVE going to see a Woolly Mammoth production. I never know if I will be charmed or put off, but I always know that I will be challenged to discover more profound meanings in the theater-going experience.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

1) A feeling of personal pride that I was a part of the growth of this organization. 2) A knowledge that large numbers of people have told me that the Woolly Mammoth was the coolest theater experience in Washington. 3) A delight in seeing the organization flourish and become a cultural fixture in the fast-evolving arts scene in the District of Columbia.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give it more space to grow as a teaching institution.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What specific problem, purpose, priority, or project prompted your gift?

My gifts are, and have always been, prompted by a desire to see the liveliest intellectual theatrical conversation mounted in the soul-deadening environment of the Nation's Capital. It is dangerous to grow too smug and confident in a place like Washington, DC. Our citizens must be reminded, in any way possible, that there are more questions than there are answers in celebrating the Great American Miracle.

Why did you make your donation at this time?

We face a dark future for any art that isn't paid for by the workings of the base interests of banquet catering and soft core prostitution that make up the bedrock of Washington life.

What would you tell others about this organization?

Woolly Mammoth Theatre Company did not grow out of a vacuum in the artistic life of Washington, DC. It was established and has flourished because there is here in Washington a deep and abiding interest in provoking serious and potentially disturbing questions in the minds of people who love live theater.

June 6, 2012

more

June 6, 2012

We love Woolly Mammoth productions and it has been our theater company of choice since moving to the area in 1987. We are constantly surprised and impressed by the quality of performance and stagecraft. It all comes together seamlessly for really interesting theater. Many of the productions that worked out their kinks HERE go on to great success elsewhere.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers