Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
73 Reviews
1234.95895
Previous | 1 2 3...8 |
Write A Review
August 11, 2014

more

August 11, 2014

My wife and I had a wonderful weekend getaway at Woodstock Farm Animal Sanctuary this past May. We stayed at the on-site bed-and-breakfast, and that really helped us to feel like we were a part of all the good that is being done there. It's such a peaceful, serene place that gives you the chance to recharge and help a great cause at the same time. Although we didn't have time to volunteer on the farm this visit, we will be returning in the future and plan to volunteer then. More than simply being a nice place for a weekend stay in the country, I was impressed with the focus on education that is presented in such an engaging way. Taking the tour, meeting the animals, and learning about their past lives is a real eye-opener for many, and represents the kind of knowledge you can carry forward and use to make a difference in our world.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 9, 2014

more

August 9, 2014

My home away from home! I love every part of this sanctuary. To be greeted by turkeys and goats as soon as you walk in says enough. This place is filled with love and compassion. Since discovering WFAS, I have become increasingly curious and excited to learn about living a life cruelty free, and have been for the past 3 years :-)

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 8, 2014

more

August 8, 2014

My husband and I visited Woodstock Farm Animal Sanctuary 7/31/14 . It was our first time volunteering but I hope it won't be our last . If we didn't live over 100 miles away , I would be a regular! The animals roam freely around the barns which is so cool for city dwellers who never have the opportunity to hang with the gang! The vibe from staff is that they are caring and devoted and work hard to provide a safe nurturing haven for all the animals. We we're given the chore of raking and cleaning up a barn stall which may not seem glamorous by any means but I left there feeling like a star ... At least in the eyes of those gentle sweet beasts. I now have a greater understanding of what farm animal rescue is all about and only wish there are more and more places like WFAS

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 8, 2014

more

August 8, 2014

My husband, son and goddaughter visited the Woodstock Farm Animal Sanctuary and we were so glad we did! We were so happy to see once mistreated animals living in peace. My six year old son and my nine year old goddaughter enjoyed tremendously. We volunteered for a day. They learned so much about animals and I think what's most important they were able to comprehend that animals have feelings, just like us. The workers are wonderful, caring, and very informative. I feel this place is a safe haeven not only for these beautiful animals, but for anyone else who enters.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 8, 2014

more

August 8, 2014

I first visited the Woodstock Farm Animal Sanctuary (WFAS) in 2010. I've been vegan ever since. The one-on-one time bonding with the animals is phenomenal. The Staff is absolutely wonderful, and extremely appreciative of my time volunteering. Living in NYC, i try to travel to WFAS as often as possible, especially when I'm craving animal therapy/nature. The B&B on the farm is perfection.

WFAS will open your eyes, melt your heart, and change your life.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 8, 2014

more

August 8, 2014

Woodstock Farm Animal Sanctuary, is such a warm and welcoming place! I volunteered in the beginning of August 2014 and the compassion and kindness that went on was like,no other. Drive up into the parking lot and you are greeted with the view of a sun-filled farm with animals roaming about freely. Take a seat on the benches by the visitor center and you will have an extremely friendly farm cat, a friendly goat, chickens, and multiple turkeys come up to you and ask for a petting. Being a teenager, I really was not sure about volunteering (what's farmwork?). But after cleaning a duck coop, I saw the ducks playing in their new bedding and it was just so adorable and worthwhile. You don't have to volunteer if you don't want to, bring a camera and connect with the animals! The animals are truly so compassionate, and the workers there care immensely about them. They work tirelessly from coop to coop, barn to barn. Its obvious that the caretakers truly love what they do and love the animals they do it for. Support WFAS and you will support the rescued animals and workers that care deeply for them.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

have more volunteers helping them and more animal caretakers!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 8, 2014

more

August 8, 2014

The Woodstock Farm Animal sanctuary gave me my first close-up encounters with animals used for food, and therefore WFAS is where I first fell in love with farm animals. Their staff, despite being pulled in many directions at once by the needs of the animals, are so kind and friendly and fun to be around. This place became my #1 getaway destination when I needed to get out of NYC and do something truly useful. I now live across the country and am missing WFAS dearly--I am looking into other farm animal sanctuaries to volunteer at out here, but know that there will never be anyplace like WFAS!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 8, 2014

more

August 8, 2014

Woodstock Farm Animal Sanctuary is one of my favorite places on earth to go. I love how intimate it is, spending quality hands-on time with the animal family and the wonderful staff/volunteers. The scenery is spectacular and the guest house is so beautiful. If I didn't have to I would never leave!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 8, 2014

more


1 previous review
July 26, 2013

Last summer, I drove up to WFAS a couple of times to spend time taking care of the animals there. I was a budding vegan at the time and was inspired by the staff's dedication to the animals. There i... more

August 8, 2014

I volunteered at WFAS a couple of summers ago and my experience changed me in ways that have stayed with me every day. I have them on my FB newsfeed so I can stay in touch with their work since I can't be there more often. On one of the days that I was there, I helped one of the staff work with the chickens in the treatment facility, to care for their feet. I learned so much about the condition that the animals often show up to the sanctuary in. It was heartening to see how much dedication it takes each day, each hour for the staff and volunteers to care for these beautiful rescued creatures. And it saddens me to think that these are only a fraction of the animals who are out there who don't make it to a sanctuary like this one. If I lived closer, I would be there more often to help. This place is awesome!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make it bigger so that they could take in more animals. Help it raise more money so they could pay more staff members to care for the animals they would take in!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 26, 2013

Last summer, I drove up to WFAS a couple of times to spend time taking care of the animals there. I was a budding vegan at the time and was inspired by the staff's dedication to the animals. There is loads of information about veganism and why it is important not only for your health, but for the safety and welfare of the animals and the sustainability of our planet. As a volunteer, I could find myself brushing the goats, cleaning the sheep pens or hen houses, or helping the care givers clean wounded chickens. All in a day's work. The work was rigorous and at the end of the day, I felt like I had really done something important. Being around the energy of these sweet animals fortified me in my choice not to eat meat or dairy.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

The only changes I would make would be to have the staff more receptive to working with volunteers and a bit more organized.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 8, 2014

more


1 previous review
October 4, 2013

This sanctuary takes in all types of animals and creates an eden of congeniality. Where else could you see a capybara bathing with his doggie friends? No matter how full they are, or how financially... more

August 8, 2014

I only know about Woodstock Farm Animal Sanctuary through social media. I have to limit the number of rescue organizations that I follow. I have selected three that represent all that is the best in the rescue field. Woodstock always amazes me with their compassion and humor and dedication to all living creatures. They take on those animals that aren't instantly "Awwww" material and make them animals that we CARE about. Bulls, pigs and goats suddenly have stolen my heart. Thank you Woodstock Farm Animal Sanctuary.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give them more funds in order to carry out their mission more fully.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 4, 2013

This sanctuary takes in all types of animals and creates an eden of congeniality. Where else could you see a capybara bathing with his doggie friends? No matter how full they are, or how financially on the edge they always put the animals first. Their posts fill me with admiration because every thought is infused with a great love for the animals. I have never seen a grumbly or mean post coming from Woodstock Farm Animal Sanctuary. I follow four excellent rescue groups and I can say that this one ranks at the top and that they deserve any help you can offer.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

give them the resources to reach out to more animals. I see no flaws in their business plan that need changing.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3...8 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Brush goats, pig poop patrol, clean a chicken coop Volunteer