Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
27 Reviews
1234.925935
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
February 5, 2014

more

February 5, 2014

This is one of the most effective and rewarding nonprofit organizations that I've ever had the pleasure of supporting. In addition to volunteering as an instructor, I have the honor of serving on the education committee for the second year in a row. As both a former educator and corporate trainer, I readily recognize and appreciate the value that their services provide to this community on an ongoing basis.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 27, 2013

more

February 27, 2013

If you're looking for an organization to volunteer for, the Women's Resource Center is it. Changes to our global economy start with the individual, but if you don't have the tools to put a plan in motion you're lost before you've begun. WRC is doing this. They are equipping women to manage their resources wisely. As a volunteer I've heard so many poignant stories about the financial struggles that these women face on a day to day basis. I am humbled by and forever changed by this experience. Knowledge is power and we are giving our students power. A worthy cause indeed!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 20, 2013

more

February 20, 2013

I started volunteering with this organization in October of 2011. I was looking for an organization that offered financial education classes to promote financial literacy - particularly with women. Danielle, Kelly and LaTanya are phenomenal. They are organized and highly responsive to the communities they serve. These women are passionate about the mission of this organization and tireless in their efforts to promote financial literacy and improve the lives of the women in our community.



More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 31, 2011

more

March 31, 2011

The Women's Resource of Greater Houston (TWR) is an awesome organization, with a world changing mission. I have been a volunteer for this organization for at least three years now and my life has never been the same. TWR is dedicated to empowering women and young girls by teaching them how to properly utilize their finances. (Some classes include men as well.) My experience has been that teaching these students gives them the tools to change from existing to LIVING because they learn to control their finances and not vice versa. TWR makes it so easy to volunteer because they provide a schedule of classes that you can choose from based on your availability, and they provide all the materials. TWR has helped me to grow personally and has a provided a platform whereby I am able to fulfill my passion for teaching and give back to the community. If you want to make a difference in the quality of life for people, TWR is the organization to join.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

My Company has donated funds to support TWR and now partners with them in printing teaching materials. Also, the materials they use have sharpened my skills and enables me to help my clients.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Hire me to work full time.

March 30, 2011

more

March 30, 2011

The Women's Resource Center provides financial education to about 4,500 women per year. They also have programs to help teenagers and at-risk girls. They have an impressive volunteer base, a highly professional and dedicated (but small) staff, and they always make their volunteers feel appreciated. They spend their money wisely and are a community model on how a non-profit should be run.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

financial education. I hear great stories all the time. They help an under-served population better their lives by understanding how to manage the limited amount of money they have to live on.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

get even more people involved, especially at the Junior Partners level.

March 30, 2011

more

Review from Guidestar
March 30, 2011

The Women’s Resource is a phenomenal organization! They truly are making an impact on so many individuals’ lives in the Houston area.

In 2010, my company partner with TWR to conduct the first Future Leader’s Forum for Young Women. This was a one day leadership conference, held at a
local college, which empowered girls in grades 9th-12th. We had 100 girls participate in the event from all over Houston and the surrounding areas. We assigned seats at the tables with students from different schools in order to promote and encourage networking. Our keynote speaker was Josh Shipp, also known as the “Dr. Phil for teens”. In addition, we conducted a speed networking session and played Financial Jeopardy. The feedback from the students was amazing! I get emails almost daily asking when the next event is going to be scheduled.

The staff at The Women’s Resource is passionate about their role. They care about the clients they serve and in effect make a difference in our communities.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

My company partner with The Women's Resouce for the first Future Leader's Forum for Young Women. I was one of the Project Managers.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give them endless funds and resources as they without a doubt make a difference in the communities they serve.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

None.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

Absolutely! I've been so many wonderful people. Also, one can definitely see the impact the organization has in the community and the individuals they serve.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Like I've accomplished something and that I've mad a difference.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

March 30, 2011

more

March 30, 2011

As a financial advisor, I know the importance of financial literacy. However, not everyone has the luxury of having a financial advisor. Sometimes those who need help the most, can't access it. That's why I'm so passionate about being a volunteer and board member of The Women's Resource of Greater Houston. The Women's Resource teaches free personal finance classes to women, children (and sometimes even men) in the greater Houston area. As a volunteer, I teach classes on basic financial tools that everyone needs to succeed in life!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

There have been many instances after I have taught a class that someone has come up to me afterwards to thank me for helping them realize something they should be doing or need to change. I truly believe I have a strong impact on people and that slowly The Women's Resource is helping people achieve financial literacy.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

try to recruit more volunteers so that we could have more of an impact educating people in the Houston area!

March 30, 2011

more

March 30, 2011

I have volunteered at The Women's Resource of Greater Houston since the summer of 2010. I can honestly say that I am extremely proud to work for such a wonderful organization. During my time as a volunteer, I have witnessed the full scope of the incredible services that the Women's Resource provides to the community. As the social media intern, I help publicize different events and classes that are taking place. Although the primary goal of this organization is to provide financial education to women, their achievements far surpass this intended purpose.
While filming a class for social media purposes, I had the opportunity to see the incredible interaction between the teachers and those taking the class. It was really heartwarming to watch the effectiveness of the volunteers and to see how the students took advice to heart and changed their spending habits. To me, The Women's Resource is a powerhouse of financial education, yes, but is also a source of empowerment for women. The quality of financial education this non-profit provides allows females of all different ages all across Houston to truly become independent, develop new goals, and reach those goals.
In addition to financial education classes, The Women's Resource also developed Project LEAD to help younger girls still in high school to develop these skills before adulthood. This program contributes to the welfare and future of these girls. I am thoroughly impressed by what I've seen of The Women's Resource in my time as a volunteer, and know that the future is just as promising.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

witnessing students change their spending habits and lives through the free financial education classes offered by The Women's Resource. As a result, I've also become more aware of and curtailed my own spending habits.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

promote steady growth, because I think that this organization truly has the ability to reach each and every single woman in Houston.

March 29, 2011

more

March 29, 2011

The Women's Resource of Greater Houston (TWR) has a mission of helping women and children develop social, financial and personal skills through education and experience. Primary tools are financial education seminars offered broadly throughout the Houston area, Project LEAD (Leadership, Education and Development for "at risk" high school girls) and funding of studies on critical issues important to women, children and families.

The reach of TWR in the Houston area is huge. By aggressively seeking new venues for the financial education seminars, recruting new volunteers and providing a package of materials for each class, TWR has become a major provider of financial education and leadership for women and girls in the community.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

In providing financial education seminars to many groups in a variety of venues, I've gained a much better appreciation for the depth of the problem and what part I can play in enabling improvement. My most rewarding experiences have been when a student in one of the seminars subsequently shares a success. One student reported recovering some "lost" 401(k) money after an investment seminar. Another reported obtaining an Individual Development Account for continuing education.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

My input is not so much a "change" but rather to stay focused on the current mission. TWR provides a unique and valuable service in the Houston area. Others provide complementary services like resume writing, job placement, substance abuse counseling, tax preparation and so forth. It would be easy to expand into those arenas but I think the most benefit to the community can be achieved by just continuing to improve the current offerings.

March 14, 2011

more

March 14, 2011

I am busy like every other working mother but I wouldnt trade my time teaching at NAM for anything. My stresses and problems are put into perspective when I teach the ladies (and sometimes men) about money. I know they have worked hard all day and had to juggle with kids to get to the class by 7pm. I know they are tired and probably scared about how they will "make ends meet". I try to identify with them through my past experiences and get them excited about getting out of debt and controling their budget and not letting the money/debt control them. Jesus said to love your neighbor, and they are my neighbors.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

When the class participants fill out the "what I've learned" questionnaire, they usually write that they learned something new that they can use.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

do nothing?

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Teach a financial education class at one of our partner agencies. Volunteer