Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
26 Reviews
1234.923085
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
February 5, 2014

more

February 5, 2014

This is one of the most effective and rewarding nonprofit organizations that I've ever had the pleasure of supporting. In addition to volunteering as an instructor, I have the honor of serving on the education committee for the second year in a row. As both a former educator and corporate trainer, I readily recognize and appreciate the value that their services provide to this community on an ongoing basis.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 18, 2013

more

April 18, 2013

I have been serving as a Board Member for the Women's Resource of Houston since 2010 and it has been the most empowering and impactful organization that I have ever been involved with. We teach over 4000 women and girls each year, and help them to become strong, self sufficient women. Our organization changes not only our student's lives, but their entire families. I believe that financial literary is a very important tool to help end poverty, and I am proud to be part of an organization that is changing lives in a permanent and meaningful way.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 4, 2013

more

March 4, 2013

The Women's Resource Center provides my adult students with invaluable and lifelong financial education knowledge and skills. FDICMoney Smart courses such as Bank On It, Check It Out, Money Matters, Borrowing Basics, Pay Yourself First, To Your Credit, Charge It Right and Financial Recovery provide pre tests, concepts, practical applications, and post tests. The presenters are punctual, knowledgeable, and eager to educate, equip, and empower.The curriculum is very organized and client - focused. My students look forward to each course. The Women's Resource Center's staff, volunteers,and courses are amazing!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 27, 2013

more

February 27, 2013

Women's Resource Center is great! They have been providing financial literacy and girl empowerment groups in my high school for the past three years. The facilitator (Fay) does a fabulous job and the girls learn some great tools such as budgeting, importance of saving, etc. I love that they bring in successful business women to speak to the girls about their journey and current business. The guest speakers are always a favorite of the girls.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 27, 2013

more

February 27, 2013

If you're looking for an organization to volunteer for, the Women's Resource Center is it. Changes to our global economy start with the individual, but if you don't have the tools to put a plan in motion you're lost before you've begun. WRC is doing this. They are equipping women to manage their resources wisely. As a volunteer I've heard so many poignant stories about the financial struggles that these women face on a day to day basis. I am humbled by and forever changed by this experience. Knowledge is power and we are giving our students power. A worthy cause indeed!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 20, 2013

more

February 20, 2013

I started volunteering with this organization in October of 2011. I was looking for an organization that offered financial education classes to promote financial literacy - particularly with women. Danielle, Kelly and LaTanya are phenomenal. They are organized and highly responsive to the communities they serve. These women are passionate about the mission of this organization and tireless in their efforts to promote financial literacy and improve the lives of the women in our community.



More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 2, 2011

more

April 2, 2011

The organization has been conducting financial classes in the Harris County Jail for female inmates who are incarcerated for 6 months or more. They have been very instrumentsl in educating these women for financial success and dealing with financial problems once released from incarceration. They have been extremely timely in the preparation of their materials and their volunteers are extremely dedicated to the service. The inmates are grateful to have the information about loans, cleaning up bad credit, etc. We count ourselves very lucky that this organization is willing to come into a place where most of these people have been forgotten and give the hope of a future.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have had female inmates who have been released call and tell me the information provided this organizatioin was helpful

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Update the printed materials. In some cases they appear ouitdated.

March 31, 2011

more

March 31, 2011

The Women's Resource of Greater Houston (TWR) is an awesome organization, with a world changing mission. I have been a volunteer for this organization for at least three years now and my life has never been the same. TWR is dedicated to empowering women and young girls by teaching them how to properly utilize their finances. (Some classes include men as well.) My experience has been that teaching these students gives them the tools to change from existing to LIVING because they learn to control their finances and not vice versa. TWR makes it so easy to volunteer because they provide a schedule of classes that you can choose from based on your availability, and they provide all the materials. TWR has helped me to grow personally and has a provided a platform whereby I am able to fulfill my passion for teaching and give back to the community. If you want to make a difference in the quality of life for people, TWR is the organization to join.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

My Company has donated funds to support TWR and now partners with them in printing teaching materials. Also, the materials they use have sharpened my skills and enables me to help my clients.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Hire me to work full time.

March 30, 2011

more

March 30, 2011

The Women's Resource Center provides financial education to about 4,500 women per year. They also have programs to help teenagers and at-risk girls. They have an impressive volunteer base, a highly professional and dedicated (but small) staff, and they always make their volunteers feel appreciated. They spend their money wisely and are a community model on how a non-profit should be run.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

financial education. I hear great stories all the time. They help an under-served population better their lives by understanding how to manage the limited amount of money they have to live on.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

get even more people involved, especially at the Junior Partners level.

March 30, 2011

more

Review from Guidestar
March 30, 2011

The Women’s Resource is a phenomenal organization! They truly are making an impact on so many individuals’ lives in the Houston area.

In 2010, my company partner with TWR to conduct the first Future Leader’s Forum for Young Women. This was a one day leadership conference, held at a
local college, which empowered girls in grades 9th-12th. We had 100 girls participate in the event from all over Houston and the surrounding areas. We assigned seats at the tables with students from different schools in order to promote and encourage networking. Our keynote speaker was Josh Shipp, also known as the “Dr. Phil for teens”. In addition, we conducted a speed networking session and played Financial Jeopardy. The feedback from the students was amazing! I get emails almost daily asking when the next event is going to be scheduled.

The staff at The Women’s Resource is passionate about their role. They care about the clients they serve and in effect make a difference in our communities.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

My company partner with The Women's Resouce for the first Future Leader's Forum for Young Women. I was one of the Project Managers.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give them endless funds and resources as they without a doubt make a difference in the communities they serve.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

None.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

Absolutely! I've been so many wonderful people. Also, one can definitely see the impact the organization has in the community and the individuals they serve.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Like I've accomplished something and that I've mad a difference.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Teach a financial education class at one of our partner agencies. Volunteer