Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
182 Reviews
1234.719785
| 1 2 3...7 |
Write A Review
June 28, 2013

more

June 28, 2013

I have volunteered here for the BEA. I have had a great time with the well organized program. I have hosted students and shown them around our community. it has bee a great experience.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would help them fix the flooring in the gallery room.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 28, 2013

more


1 previous review
May 9, 2012

This is an awesome organization! I encourage women of all walks of life to come and participate in their programming and/or support them financially or in any way possible. The work that they do is t... more

June 28, 2013

Women's Intercultural Center is a great non profit organization. it provides a variety of classes to help empower women. I myself have taken several classes such as computers, and nutrition in the past. I am very pleased with everything and all the help I have received.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get the center a more noticeable sign.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 9, 2012

This is an awesome organization! I encourage women of all walks of life to come and participate in their programming and/or support them financially or in any way possible. The work that they do is truly amazing!

Videos

Where It Starts

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

My personal life. They have broaden my horizons and taught me many things as well as attained a

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

support their efforts financially.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

Nothing, they've been great to me.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

It was life changing. I've learned so much from sewing to solar panel installation to how to apply for scholarships. It's really been amazing!

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

It made me feel like I was making a difference in other peoples live and it made me feel good.

June 27, 2013

more

June 27, 2013

I came to the Center to one class then I took additional classes and even though I still take classes, I am now a volunteer instructor. Additionally, I received a contract to make cakes when one of the donors of the Center stopped by for a visit. The employees, the volunteers and everyone that is here has helped me a lot and I have made lots of friends when I had none. As I plan my 25th wedding anniversary everyone here is helping with the table arrangements, making the food and so much more. I didn't even ask for help, they all offered to help because this is how it works here. I love it here and everyone involved with the Center.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None they're doing a great job!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 26, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 15, 2012

The Women's Intercultural Center helped me get in shape and stay active. A lot of motivation. more

June 26, 2013

I am very disappointed with the woman's cultural center. A a woman that is trying to stay fit and healthy and I always thought that The Woman's Heath Center was for the woman's well being, unfortunalty that Is not the case in this matter. I have been doing very well doing Zumba my dr advices me not to stop doing my Zumba and my instructor has motivated me keep it up. I would just like to see what we can do to stop this injustice and I do believe the woman that is in charge at this time is not being fair on kicking the Zumba class out of the Center. Again THE WOMAN'S CULTURAL CENTER IS FOR THE WOMAN AND WE ARE GETTING KICKED OUT! We need to find somebody that cares for the woman and help the woman of this community. I do hope something is done and we can have justice.
Victoria Torres

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get a new director that truly cares for woman and that caring for the community. It's a total injustice at this time. I can't BELIEVE they are kicking us out!!!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

None

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

No

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 15, 2012

The Women's Intercultural Center helped me get in shape and stay active. A lot of motivation.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 20, 2013

more

June 20, 2013

This center has many nice people and is well maintained. Many fun activities and its really great meeting the ladies there. Its very pretty and I had fun going. I can see myself visiting again and again.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 12, 2013

more

June 12, 2013

me gusta benir al centro porque esta la clase de zumba y esta muy padre ...

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 11, 2013

more

June 11, 2013

I had a chance to attend the Border Awareness Experience at the Women's Intercultural Center and if I had to use one word to describe it, it would be "INCREDIBLE". Of course I can use more words than that such as amazing, inspiring, educational, fantastic, life-changing, eye-opening, unbelievable, there's just so much I can say about it. When I first signed on to take part in the Border Awareness Experience I was expecting to be stuck in presentations and just full on powerpoints on immigration, honestly something that would put me to sleep, but the experience at the center was nowhere close to that. I was truly immersed into the experience by having a chance to go on a Border Patrol Tour with actual Border Patrol Agents, host family stays, hearing from a Federal Judge at a Federal Immigration Court, visiting organizations around the city that work with immigrants, and what made the experience truly extraordinary were our hosts at the Center. Two guys by the names of Saif and Eric lead the experience and we met with the Executive Director Mary Carter who was just an inspiring individual with anything she had to say. It was these people that made the experience so much better. Saif actually coordinated and planned out everything my school did for the whole week we were there, and what surprised me the most was that he was so young. I didn't expect someone so young to plan such an amazing experience and be so knowledgable on immigration issues. Saif provided us a lot of insight on the History of the Border and not only the history of immigration and the issues it faces. He was very open and honest with us and I loved it. If the experience would have been just a week hearing from him, I think it would have been perfect as well. Besides being captivated by everything we were learning it was also nice to have the leisure time that was given to us to have fun, go shopping, and hang out with our hosts. Saif and Eric are hilarious and fun to hang out with. They are the perfect combination of seriousness and jokesters they made the experience unforgettable. All I have to say is to anyone that reads this take on the Border Awareness Experience if you have the chance and if at all possible request Saif and Eric to be your guides. Thank you Mary, Saif, Eric, and the Women's Intercultural Center for providing me a life-changing experience that I will never forget.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing, except if possible Saif and Eric should lead every border awareness experience.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 11, 2013

more

June 11, 2013

me a beneficiado venir a zumba para hacer ejercicio....yo pienso q aki es un buen lugar porque hay personas muy amables,en si me gusta el lugar.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

ahorita no cambiaria nada,todo esta muy bien.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 11, 2013

more

June 11, 2013

The Women's Intercultural Center is a great place with friendly staff and with a lot of fun and educational actiities. I love to do Zumba with the wonderful zumba instructor they have.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

At this moment I would not change anything about the center.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 11, 2013

more

June 11, 2013

This nonprofit organization has helped a lot of people in the community by having this program for our own health.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

no changes

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Our volunteers are the are the heart of the Women’s Intercultural Center for it began as a volunteer operated organization.  The Center since its inception places a high value on community involvement.  Volunteers can donate their time and talents in many ways to make a difference in the lives of the women that participate in our programs.Arts and Crafts Group Volunteers: Make arts and crafts to sell at the Center’s gift shop or gallery and craft fairs to raise money for the Center through the classes and workshops we provide. Making crafts at home is also an option for those unable to attend our classes or workshops.  Buildings and Grounds Volunteers: Maintain buildings and grounds by helping clean the facilities, gardening, and overall building maintenance.Community Outreach Volunteers: Host or represent the Center at health fairs and community events. Educate civic community groups about the Center’s programs and services by being part of the Speakers Bureau. Scheduled events vary from weekdays to weekends.Educators/Instructors: Lead classes through our educational and tutoring programs based on experience and expertise.Office Volunteers: Provide administrative office support to Center staff. Mailings, filing, computer input, assemblage of information packets, telephone support, or copying are examples of some office volunteer support.Special Events Volunteers: Assist the Center with annual fundraisers, trainings, workshops and other special events. Volunteer