Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
186 Reviews
1234.715055
| 1 2 3 4...9 |
Write A Review
July 8, 2013

more

July 8, 2013

I had the pleasure to participate in the Border Awareness Experience (BAE) offered at the Women's Intercultural Center (WInC) through my university. After the program was over I wanted to return to WInC and volunteer with them because the environment that I saw during the BAE was something I wanted to experience in person and learn more about it. I was lucky enough to return to WInC and volunteer there. My experience was unforgettable. I felt part of WInC and I saw first hand how participants would be positively impacted by the work of WInC. I myself was helped by WInC and what I learned and experienced there has helped me up until this day.
WInC is a great nonprofit where people can develop, gain self-esteem and become confident about themselves. I recommend the Women's Intercultural Center to anyone because they can help women and men alike. My time at WInC was very helpful and what I learned from them will always help me and I will never forget it.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make it more known so that more people can benefit from its services and also to have more people support the center monetarily, with their time and in any other way possible.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

July 5, 2013

more

July 5, 2013

this work was good, the first day was a lot but after that i got a little bit easier jobs and a little break here and there, i got to know them and talk to the people that volunteer here and they are all very nice and so is the boss, i would highly recomend if you live in anthony or around here you do your time here.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

i wouldn't

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 2, 2013

more

July 2, 2013

I came here not knowing what to expect, I thought it would be older women and that I wouldn't blend in but I got to know amazing women and their stories. I no longer felt like the outsider. I am truly blessed and I feel that I've been put in this place for a reason. It's an amazing place to grow. I love it!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I know funding is required for this but it would be great if they make it bigger with more rooms for more activities including a women's shelter.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 2, 2013

more

July 2, 2013

I came because I was required to do community service for my education. I really like it because I saw women interested/enjoying/engaging in all the classes/activities.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find a way to provide more funding for them because if they had access to increased funding they would be able to change the lives of many more women.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 2, 2013

more

July 2, 2013

I wast not sure what to expect, but as I experienced the Center and the great people here, I fell in love. The Center wants to empower not only women but all members of the community. This community definitely needs encouragement. The Center offers this and much more!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing, they are always looking for ways to improve their operations.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 28, 2013

more

June 28, 2013

Well my experience was very unplesent and upsetting they should not treat women like that i belive that the zumba class was very helpfull for many women in the community they need know how to communicate and learn more about using peoples skills because they dont have no right to do such out ragious thing without notifing the women because this center should benefit the COMMUNITY NOT THE WORKERS

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Review the employees or remove them from that center

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 27, 2013

more

June 27, 2013

I really enjoyed my time at the Center! It was fun and I felt right at home the moment I walked in. It was obvious that the Center is so instrumental to the community with its Zumba classes, gordita sales, art classes, and citizenship courses. It is a well rounded institution that has the well being and empowerment of the women in Anthony at heart every day. I wish to work with the Center again and to bring some of that heart back home with me in the shape of a career helping women become independent and empowered.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

June 27, 2013

more

June 27, 2013

tengo muchos anos visitando, educandome, compartiendo mis conocimientos con la comunidad de anthony nm y siempre ha sido un placer el estar ahi en este edificio. tuve la suerte de conocer sus inicios desde que se estaba construyendo y siempre he visto la buena voluntad de todos los que lo iniciarion, he visto el crecimiento del centro atravez de la directora Mary Carter, la ayuda de su familia en este crecimiento , en forma voluntaria, ha sido fundamental para el desarrollo de la comunidad de anthony. mucha gente se ha beneficiado de los servicios de el Centro Intercultural de la Mujer en Anthony NM. doy gracias por poder servir como voluntaria y seguir sirviendo a la comunidad de anthony nm. olga I. Hernandez Promotora

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

yo no cambiaria nada en este momento, el centro esta creciendo a su ritmo y desarrollando nuevos planes para el futuro

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 27, 2013

more

June 27, 2013

i feel extremely upset of how everything ended with ZunbAnnette class. In the way of how they completly just close the doors for many women in the center and of course i am one of those. Yes they may be another Zumba there but yet its not the same , with ZumbaAnnette in at the center we felt like home even though there were at times where we didint felt welcome but i loved the class Annette would give us there, besides it was really close to my home which thats a big plus.
i feel things should have been different in the way they manange the center.
Maybe handling at their own time and more private, because getting our instructor Annette out of the restroom is not right or out of her class, just to simply because they need it to talk to her.One of the main reasons they gave us was because of our children, for the reason being our children could not attend the class and because of them the center was a mess now..i strongly believed that we are in a community where we all need to help each other and the center should have a place where our kids can be part of it, they should consider having a day care in there or someone that can helped other women while they get some streess off their shoulder.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

make sure everyone felt welcome and help them in anyway i can, thats inciuding speaking spanish to anyone who does not speak english, having restrroms open to all the peaople in the center, and definatly have some to take care of our kids

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Unsure

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

None

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Somewhat badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 27, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 15, 2012

I like coming to the womens intercultural center because of the nice activities they offer for us. more

June 27, 2013

I am very disappointed in the women's intercultural center! They have very unprofessional workers(Allan Carter). who was very disrespectful to us this morning when we went in just like every morning to our zumba vlass. We were notified that there was no.longer zumba for us we asked for an explanation and told us that our kids were destroying the center. hmmm I honestly dont know how if our kids were forced to sit outside on a chair. And started telling us that we were soo dirty that we didn't know how to clean after ourselfs. I dont know how that is if we had to sweep and threw the restroom trash! wich thay was not our job. but we did it to help out our instructor to please the director. Not to mention we were only allowed to use one restroom for almost 30 ladies. :-\. And after that they starded hidding the toilet paper and paper towels from us. We would ask the front desk and the answer we would get was that the director had the keys to the closet and was not available. What kind of service are u guys.giving our community!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would change everything starting with director and employees!.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

None

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Somewhat badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 15, 2012

I like coming to the womens intercultural center because of the nice activities they offer for us.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Do a workshop or special training, in reality the options are unlimited. Volunteer