Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
167 Reviews
1234.706595
Previous | 1 2 3...8 |
Write A Review
March 27, 2014

more

March 27, 2014

This organization is very welcoming and it help many people.
December 13, 2013

more

December 13, 2013

here in the women's intercultural center they help a lot the community specially the women as their name says. they have different classes where the community can come and learn. they also have speeches about recent problems.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

i would do nothing.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 12, 2013

more

December 12, 2013

It was interesting leaning about the center and somewhat being part of the community.I had no idea about all the classes they have,the community thrift shop and that it was a place where I can donate my stuff.I really wish I had more things to do and be more involved but after all I had a good experience here.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Advertise more on what the center has to provide.Make the community more aware on what it offers,events and services.I say this because I was clueless on what the center was all about but afterward it was nice to know about it's role in the community.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

It is a great thing when you are volunteering for a company, a school or etc. You learn new things from others, and others learn from you. Volunteering helps you experience what is needed for a workplace.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would not change nothing around this organization it is very well organized and very supportive.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 23, 2013

more

September 23, 2013

I interned at WIC during the summer of 2009. It was the summer after my freshman year in college and I had just recieved a travel grant to intern at organizations that worked on the U.S./Mexico border. Being from the east coast, New Mexico, Mexico and Texas was completely foreign worlds to me. However, while interning at the center for those few months, I was pretty much from day one welcomed with open arms.

There were many things, experiences and people that I still remember fondly from my time there, but most of all I remember learning to always dream big. Mary Carter has just taken over the executive director position at the center, and she had a vision for the center that I had only caught a glimpse of during my time there. However, she always encouraged me to come up with orginal ideas for programs, to see past the current functions of the center into it's limitless future and when I presented my ideas, she listened! As a meager to-be-sophomore this was and still is one of the most important lessons I learned in life.

Moreover, the women I met at this organizations were wonderful, intelligent and moving in their passion for the organization, their families and the community. I got to know everyones stories, many filled with struggle, and saw how much their loved being at the center everyday, and it was incredible. Being surrounded by so many strong woman was such a positive experience for me because it was not everyday on the east coast that I existed in organizations and structures entirely run by a group of women.

The work done at WIC is not only necessarily, but inspirational for the many young girls who hope to become young women someday. Girls who are seeking role models, how to dream and safe place to be themselves. I cannot thank them enough for the opportunity they gave me to learn this at such a young age.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

July 9, 2013

more

July 9, 2013

Jose Contreras

I had the opportunity to collaborate with Ms. Mary Carter at the Womens Intercultural Center and was extremely pleased with her professionalism and interest in supporting the women in the community. I taught a course in entrepreneurship and she backed me totally and
contributed her ideas for the course. I highly recommend Ms. Carter as a professional and a hard worker.
Jose Contreras

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Possibly work with international organizations that have interest in assisting women that need a little bit of help in order to better themselves.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 8, 2013

more

July 8, 2013

I had the pleasure to participate in the Border Awareness Experience (BAE) offered at the Women's Intercultural Center (WInC) through my university. After the program was over I wanted to return to WInC and volunteer with them because the environment that I saw during the BAE was something I wanted to experience in person and learn more about it. I was lucky enough to return to WInC and volunteer there. My experience was unforgettable. I felt part of WInC and I saw first hand how participants would be positively impacted by the work of WInC. I myself was helped by WInC and what I learned and experienced there has helped me up until this day.
WInC is a great nonprofit where people can develop, gain self-esteem and become confident about themselves. I recommend the Women's Intercultural Center to anyone because they can help women and men alike. My time at WInC was very helpful and what I learned from them will always help me and I will never forget it.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make it more known so that more people can benefit from its services and also to have more people support the center monetarily, with their time and in any other way possible.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

July 5, 2013

more

July 5, 2013

this work was good, the first day was a lot but after that i got a little bit easier jobs and a little break here and there, i got to know them and talk to the people that volunteer here and they are all very nice and so is the boss, i would highly recomend if you live in anthony or around here you do your time here.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

i wouldn't

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 2, 2013

more

July 2, 2013

I came here not knowing what to expect, I thought it would be older women and that I wouldn't blend in but I got to know amazing women and their stories. I no longer felt like the outsider. I am truly blessed and I feel that I've been put in this place for a reason. It's an amazing place to grow. I love it!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I know funding is required for this but it would be great if they make it bigger with more rooms for more activities including a women's shelter.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 2, 2013

more

July 2, 2013

I came because I was required to do community service for my education. I really like it because I saw women interested/enjoying/engaging in all the classes/activities.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find a way to provide more funding for them because if they had access to increased funding they would be able to change the lives of many more women.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3...8 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Our volunteers are the are the heart of the Women’s Intercultural Center for it began as a volunteer operated organization.  The Center since its inception places a high value on community involvement.  Volunteers can donate their time and talents in many ways to make a difference in the lives of the women that participate in our programs.Arts and Crafts Group Volunteers: Make arts and crafts to sell at the Center’s gift shop or gallery and craft fairs to raise money for the Center through the classes and workshops we provide. Making crafts at home is also an option for those unable to attend our classes or workshops.  Buildings and Grounds Volunteers: Maintain buildings and grounds by helping clean the facilities, gardening, and overall building maintenance.Community Outreach Volunteers: Host or represent the Center at health fairs and community events. Educate civic community groups about the Center’s programs and services by being part of the Speakers Bureau. Scheduled events vary from weekdays to weekends.Educators/Instructors: Lead classes through our educational and tutoring programs based on experience and expertise.Office Volunteers: Provide administrative office support to Center staff. Mailings, filing, computer input, assemblage of information packets, telephone support, or copying are examples of some office volunteer support.Special Events Volunteers: Assist the Center with annual fundraisers, trainings, workshops and other special events. Volunteer