Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
199 Reviews
1234.733675
Write A Review
June 12, 2013

more

June 12, 2013

me gusta benir al centro porque esta la clase de zumba y esta muy padre ...

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 11, 2013

more

June 11, 2013

I had a chance to attend the Border Awareness Experience at the Women's Intercultural Center and if I had to use one word to describe it, it would be "INCREDIBLE". Of course I can use more words than that such as amazing, inspiring, educational, fantastic, life-changing, eye-opening, unbelievable, there's just so much I can say about it. When I first signed on to take part in the Border Awareness Experience I was expecting to be stuck in presentations and just full on powerpoints on immigration, honestly something that would put me to sleep, but the experience at the center was nowhere close to that. I was truly immersed into the experience by having a chance to go on a Border Patrol Tour with actual Border Patrol Agents, host family stays, hearing from a Federal Judge at a Federal Immigration Court, visiting organizations around the city that work with immigrants, and what made the experience truly extraordinary were our hosts at the Center. Two guys by the names of Saif and Eric lead the experience and we met with the Executive Director Mary Carter who was just an inspiring individual with anything she had to say. It was these people that made the experience so much better. Saif actually coordinated and planned out everything my school did for the whole week we were there, and what surprised me the most was that he was so young. I didn't expect someone so young to plan such an amazing experience and be so knowledgable on immigration issues. Saif provided us a lot of insight on the History of the Border and not only the history of immigration and the issues it faces. He was very open and honest with us and I loved it. If the experience would have been just a week hearing from him, I think it would have been perfect as well. Besides being captivated by everything we were learning it was also nice to have the leisure time that was given to us to have fun, go shopping, and hang out with our hosts. Saif and Eric are hilarious and fun to hang out with. They are the perfect combination of seriousness and jokesters they made the experience unforgettable. All I have to say is to anyone that reads this take on the Border Awareness Experience if you have the chance and if at all possible request Saif and Eric to be your guides. Thank you Mary, Saif, Eric, and the Women's Intercultural Center for providing me a life-changing experience that I will never forget.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing, except if possible Saif and Eric should lead every border awareness experience.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 11, 2013

more

June 11, 2013

me a beneficiado venir a zumba para hacer ejercicio....yo pienso q aki es un buen lugar porque hay personas muy amables,en si me gusta el lugar.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

ahorita no cambiaria nada,todo esta muy bien.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 11, 2013

more

June 11, 2013

The Women's Intercultural Center is a great place with friendly staff and with a lot of fun and educational actiities. I love to do Zumba with the wonderful zumba instructor they have.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

At this moment I would not change anything about the center.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 11, 2013

more

June 11, 2013

it helps alot like this center... would not change for something else..

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

no changes

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 11, 2013

more

June 11, 2013

This nonprofit organization has helped a lot of people in the community by having this program for our own health.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

no changes

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 11, 2013

more

June 11, 2013

estoy facinada con estre sentro para las mujeres y nosolo para ellas si no tambien para los ninos muchas actividades y deverian de poner mas de estos sentros para la mujer..... se los recomiendo a unque el personal aveses son dificiles de tratar pero fuera de eso esta padrisimo el lugar

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

el personal

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Okay

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 11, 2013

more

June 11, 2013

I have been coming to the center for a month now and I am very happy with all the friendly people here. It has been very helpful having a place to excersize and one that is very affordable. Thank you so much

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would make it a little bigger bur i do understand that money does not come very easy.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 11, 2013

more

June 11, 2013

I have been going to the woman's center for over a year and I have enjoyed going there everyday. The zumba class has really helped me stay healthy and I will continue coming to the center.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 11, 2013

more

June 11, 2013

I love the center because it has given me the opportunity of having fun at zumba class. And with having fun I have lost a lot of weight.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Likely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Do a workshop or special training, in reality the options are unlimited. Volunteer