Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
201 Reviews
1234.736325
Write A Review
June 18, 2013

more


1 previous review
February 14, 2011

I've volunteered and attended many of the events this center has had to offer. They offered an opportunity when the City of Anthony first became a City to talk to the candidates running for Mayor and ... more

June 18, 2013

I have volunteered for the Womens Intercultural Center for about a year now. And what I can say is that they surprise me each day. They always have something useful for people who are in need for help. They always find ways to provide classes for people who are in a need to learn. They always have the answer to anything. They do not give up on anybody and they give away free books to help empower education to its community. They reach far and beyond to help each individual who needs help or just some advice. The staff is wonderful that they talk to you personally including the executive director Mary Carter who is able to sustain the center for so long and help out individuals to reach there goals. I have no idea how she does it. The type a dedication I see throughout the staff is something so rare that it is something to be cherished and grateful to still have people like this in a time like this. I am glad to volunteer for such a wonderful organization that has help me developed a greater sense of community.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would like for them to expand from beyond the region they currently serve so that more people can be helped and would experience what I have experienced in the Womens Intercultural Center.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 14, 2011

I've volunteered and attended many of the events this center has had to offer. They offered an opportunity when the City of Anthony first became a City to talk to the candidates running for Mayor and the Trustees by asking them questions that we thought was important in our community. By doing this the Center allowed us to pick who we believed would be the right people to run for the City and who would make the changes we believed we needed in the community. They celebrate their participant and volunteer's birthdays which was really nice because I've never seen anything like that before. Over the summer they have workshops for youth that help mentor them into becoming successful in the future. The best part about this center is they also offer counseling if you have any problems you need to talk about. Not only does the counseling help but just befriending the ladies that come to the center and talking with them. Once you step in the door your life changes forever.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I've seen it every day I volunteer, how incredible these women feel when they leave. All of the different things they learn and different products they make out of it. Come in and you'll see for yourself.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I don't know about changes to this organization but I wish there was more just like them around the nation.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

It made me feel incredible.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

June 18, 2013

more

June 18, 2013

In 2009 I came to the center to volunteer. I had an amazing time learning and it was a great experience for me learning more about my community and our issues. I started working at the center in 2010 as receptions and after 7 months i emerged to program coordinator its being a great experience and I'm so thankful for this opportunity.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 12, 2013

more

June 12, 2013

me gusta benir al centro porque esta la clase de zumba y esta muy padre ...

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 11, 2013

more

June 11, 2013

I had a chance to attend the Border Awareness Experience at the Women's Intercultural Center and if I had to use one word to describe it, it would be "INCREDIBLE". Of course I can use more words than that such as amazing, inspiring, educational, fantastic, life-changing, eye-opening, unbelievable, there's just so much I can say about it. When I first signed on to take part in the Border Awareness Experience I was expecting to be stuck in presentations and just full on powerpoints on immigration, honestly something that would put me to sleep, but the experience at the center was nowhere close to that. I was truly immersed into the experience by having a chance to go on a Border Patrol Tour with actual Border Patrol Agents, host family stays, hearing from a Federal Judge at a Federal Immigration Court, visiting organizations around the city that work with immigrants, and what made the experience truly extraordinary were our hosts at the Center. Two guys by the names of Saif and Eric lead the experience and we met with the Executive Director Mary Carter who was just an inspiring individual with anything she had to say. It was these people that made the experience so much better. Saif actually coordinated and planned out everything my school did for the whole week we were there, and what surprised me the most was that he was so young. I didn't expect someone so young to plan such an amazing experience and be so knowledgable on immigration issues. Saif provided us a lot of insight on the History of the Border and not only the history of immigration and the issues it faces. He was very open and honest with us and I loved it. If the experience would have been just a week hearing from him, I think it would have been perfect as well. Besides being captivated by everything we were learning it was also nice to have the leisure time that was given to us to have fun, go shopping, and hang out with our hosts. Saif and Eric are hilarious and fun to hang out with. They are the perfect combination of seriousness and jokesters they made the experience unforgettable. All I have to say is to anyone that reads this take on the Border Awareness Experience if you have the chance and if at all possible request Saif and Eric to be your guides. Thank you Mary, Saif, Eric, and the Women's Intercultural Center for providing me a life-changing experience that I will never forget.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing, except if possible Saif and Eric should lead every border awareness experience.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 11, 2013

more

June 11, 2013

me a beneficiado venir a zumba para hacer ejercicio....yo pienso q aki es un buen lugar porque hay personas muy amables,en si me gusta el lugar.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

ahorita no cambiaria nada,todo esta muy bien.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 11, 2013

more

June 11, 2013

The Women's Intercultural Center is a great place with friendly staff and with a lot of fun and educational actiities. I love to do Zumba with the wonderful zumba instructor they have.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

At this moment I would not change anything about the center.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 11, 2013

more

June 11, 2013

it helps alot like this center... would not change for something else..

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

no changes

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 11, 2013

more

June 11, 2013

This nonprofit organization has helped a lot of people in the community by having this program for our own health.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

no changes

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 11, 2013

more

June 11, 2013

estoy facinada con estre sentro para las mujeres y nosolo para ellas si no tambien para los ninos muchas actividades y deverian de poner mas de estos sentros para la mujer..... se los recomiendo a unque el personal aveses son dificiles de tratar pero fuera de eso esta padrisimo el lugar

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

el personal

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Okay

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 11, 2013

more

June 11, 2013

I have been coming to the center for a month now and I am very happy with all the friendly people here. It has been very helpful having a place to excersize and one that is very affordable. Thank you so much

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would make it a little bigger bur i do understand that money does not come very easy.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Do a workshop or special training, in reality the options are unlimited. Volunteer