Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
167 Reviews
1234.706595
| 1 ... 3 4 5...16 |
Write A Review
June 27, 2013

more

June 27, 2013

i feel extremely upset of how everything ended with ZunbAnnette class. In the way of how they completly just close the doors for many women in the center and of course i am one of those. Yes they may be another Zumba there but yet its not the same , with ZumbaAnnette in at the center we felt like home even though there were at times where we didint felt welcome but i loved the class Annette would give us there, besides it was really close to my home which thats a big plus.
i feel things should have been different in the way they manange the center.
Maybe handling at their own time and more private, because getting our instructor Annette out of the restroom is not right or out of her class, just to simply because they need it to talk to her.One of the main reasons they gave us was because of our children, for the reason being our children could not attend the class and because of them the center was a mess now..i strongly believed that we are in a community where we all need to help each other and the center should have a place where our kids can be part of it, they should consider having a day care in there or someone that can helped other women while they get some streess off their shoulder.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

make sure everyone felt welcome and help them in anyway i can, thats inciuding speaking spanish to anyone who does not speak english, having restrroms open to all the peaople in the center, and definatly have some to take care of our kids

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Unsure

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

None

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Somewhat badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 27, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 15, 2012

I like coming to the womens intercultural center because of the nice activities they offer for us. more

June 27, 2013

I am very disappointed in the women's intercultural center! They have very unprofessional workers(Allan Carter). who was very disrespectful to us this morning when we went in just like every morning to our zumba vlass. We were notified that there was no.longer zumba for us we asked for an explanation and told us that our kids were destroying the center. hmmm I honestly dont know how if our kids were forced to sit outside on a chair. And started telling us that we were soo dirty that we didn't know how to clean after ourselfs. I dont know how that is if we had to sweep and threw the restroom trash! wich thay was not our job. but we did it to help out our instructor to please the director. Not to mention we were only allowed to use one restroom for almost 30 ladies. :-\. And after that they starded hidding the toilet paper and paper towels from us. We would ask the front desk and the answer we would get was that the director had the keys to the closet and was not available. What kind of service are u guys.giving our community!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would change everything starting with director and employees!.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

None

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Somewhat badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 15, 2012

I like coming to the womens intercultural center because of the nice activities they offer for us.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 26, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 12, 2012

The Womens Intercultural Center is a great place for women in the community to participate In different activities. I participate in a daily basis in the zumba classes that are provided for all the w... more

June 26, 2013

I believed and had read an article that the Womens Intercultural center was made for all the women in the community and that the center was a place made specifically for women to have a place to socialize with each other. TODAY more than 50 women that attended Annette's zumba class were proved wrong. The center wasnt made for all the women in the community of Anthony, it is only opened for the women that are wanted there! Annette is known to be one of the best instructors in the community and has helped many women with there health, depression ext. Annette class has personally helped me with my overweight and depression. With the class being canceled it will affect all the women that got together every morning and every afternoon to dedicate one hour to them selfs. I believe that the decision that was made today was poorly and obviously the women that attended the center specifically for Annette's zumba class were put aside and we all feel that our vote as women did not count.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

None

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Somewhat badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 12, 2012

The Womens Intercultural Center is a great place for women in the community to participate In different activities. I participate in a daily basis in the zumba classes that are provided for all the women and men in the community. It has helped me with my health, stress and loss of weight. The center also has many other activities that everyone in the community can participate.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 26, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 15, 2012

The Women's Intercultural Center helped me get in shape and stay active. A lot of motivation. more

June 26, 2013

I am very disappointed with the woman's cultural center. A a woman that is trying to stay fit and healthy and I always thought that The Woman's Heath Center was for the woman's well being, unfortunalty that Is not the case in this matter. I have been doing very well doing Zumba my dr advices me not to stop doing my Zumba and my instructor has motivated me keep it up. I would just like to see what we can do to stop this injustice and I do believe the woman that is in charge at this time is not being fair on kicking the Zumba class out of the Center. Again THE WOMAN'S CULTURAL CENTER IS FOR THE WOMAN AND WE ARE GETTING KICKED OUT! We need to find somebody that cares for the woman and help the woman of this community. I do hope something is done and we can have justice.
Victoria Torres

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get a new director that truly cares for woman and that caring for the community. It's a total injustice at this time. I can't BELIEVE they are kicking us out!!!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

None

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

No

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 15, 2012

The Women's Intercultural Center helped me get in shape and stay active. A lot of motivation.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 26, 2013

more

June 26, 2013

Que falta de etika prefesionalismo de Directora tienen en este Centro cultural de la mujer me siento descriminada por ablar Espanol cuando estamos en otra siglo de era que nosave lo importante que es hoy en dia ser bilingue, y para colmo nos quita Zumba cuando se supone que es un centro para la mujer donde puede venir mucha jente para aprender a sali a delante ranto en la.clases de Ingles como en la salud y otras actividades para que la mujer pueda aprender a desembolverse por por si solasola favor si hay alguuen mas arriba que ella tienen que empesar por aser algo por el centro

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Definitibamente expesificando la Directora porfavor ella no merese estar en ese puesto cuando descrimina y no ase nada por la mujer...

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

None

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 20, 2013

more

June 20, 2013

This center has many nice people and is well maintained. Many fun activities and its really great meeting the ladies there. Its very pretty and I had fun going. I can see myself visiting again and again.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 18, 2013

more


1 previous review
February 14, 2011

I've volunteered and attended many of the events this center has had to offer. They offered an opportunity when the City of Anthony first became a City to talk to the candidates running for Mayor and ... more

June 18, 2013

I have volunteered for the Womens Intercultural Center for about a year now. And what I can say is that they surprise me each day. They always have something useful for people who are in need for help. They always find ways to provide classes for people who are in a need to learn. They always have the answer to anything. They do not give up on anybody and they give away free books to help empower education to its community. They reach far and beyond to help each individual who needs help or just some advice. The staff is wonderful that they talk to you personally including the executive director Mary Carter who is able to sustain the center for so long and help out individuals to reach there goals. I have no idea how she does it. The type a dedication I see throughout the staff is something so rare that it is something to be cherished and grateful to still have people like this in a time like this. I am glad to volunteer for such a wonderful organization that has help me developed a greater sense of community.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would like for them to expand from beyond the region they currently serve so that more people can be helped and would experience what I have experienced in the Womens Intercultural Center.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 14, 2011

I've volunteered and attended many of the events this center has had to offer. They offered an opportunity when the City of Anthony first became a City to talk to the candidates running for Mayor and the Trustees by asking them questions that we thought was important in our community. By doing this the Center allowed us to pick who we believed would be the right people to run for the City and who would make the changes we believed we needed in the community. They celebrate their participant and volunteer's birthdays which was really nice because I've never seen anything like that before. Over the summer they have workshops for youth that help mentor them into becoming successful in the future. The best part about this center is they also offer counseling if you have any problems you need to talk about. Not only does the counseling help but just befriending the ladies that come to the center and talking with them. Once you step in the door your life changes forever.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I've seen it every day I volunteer, how incredible these women feel when they leave. All of the different things they learn and different products they make out of it. Come in and you'll see for yourself.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I don't know about changes to this organization but I wish there was more just like them around the nation.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

It made me feel incredible.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

June 18, 2013

more

June 18, 2013

In 2009 I came to the center to volunteer. I had an amazing time learning and it was a great experience for me learning more about my community and our issues. I started working at the center in 2010 as receptions and after 7 months i emerged to program coordinator its being a great experience and I'm so thankful for this opportunity.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 12, 2013

more

June 12, 2013

me gusta benir al centro porque esta la clase de zumba y esta muy padre ...

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 11, 2013

more

June 11, 2013

I had a chance to attend the Border Awareness Experience at the Women's Intercultural Center and if I had to use one word to describe it, it would be "INCREDIBLE". Of course I can use more words than that such as amazing, inspiring, educational, fantastic, life-changing, eye-opening, unbelievable, there's just so much I can say about it. When I first signed on to take part in the Border Awareness Experience I was expecting to be stuck in presentations and just full on powerpoints on immigration, honestly something that would put me to sleep, but the experience at the center was nowhere close to that. I was truly immersed into the experience by having a chance to go on a Border Patrol Tour with actual Border Patrol Agents, host family stays, hearing from a Federal Judge at a Federal Immigration Court, visiting organizations around the city that work with immigrants, and what made the experience truly extraordinary were our hosts at the Center. Two guys by the names of Saif and Eric lead the experience and we met with the Executive Director Mary Carter who was just an inspiring individual with anything she had to say. It was these people that made the experience so much better. Saif actually coordinated and planned out everything my school did for the whole week we were there, and what surprised me the most was that he was so young. I didn't expect someone so young to plan such an amazing experience and be so knowledgable on immigration issues. Saif provided us a lot of insight on the History of the Border and not only the history of immigration and the issues it faces. He was very open and honest with us and I loved it. If the experience would have been just a week hearing from him, I think it would have been perfect as well. Besides being captivated by everything we were learning it was also nice to have the leisure time that was given to us to have fun, go shopping, and hang out with our hosts. Saif and Eric are hilarious and fun to hang out with. They are the perfect combination of seriousness and jokesters they made the experience unforgettable. All I have to say is to anyone that reads this take on the Border Awareness Experience if you have the chance and if at all possible request Saif and Eric to be your guides. Thank you Mary, Saif, Eric, and the Women's Intercultural Center for providing me a life-changing experience that I will never forget.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing, except if possible Saif and Eric should lead every border awareness experience.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Our volunteers are the are the heart of the Women’s Intercultural Center for it began as a volunteer operated organization.  The Center since its inception places a high value on community involvement.  Volunteers can donate their time and talents in many ways to make a difference in the lives of the women that participate in our programs.Arts and Crafts Group Volunteers: Make arts and crafts to sell at the Center’s gift shop or gallery and craft fairs to raise money for the Center through the classes and workshops we provide. Making crafts at home is also an option for those unable to attend our classes or workshops.  Buildings and Grounds Volunteers: Maintain buildings and grounds by helping clean the facilities, gardening, and overall building maintenance.Community Outreach Volunteers: Host or represent the Center at health fairs and community events. Educate civic community groups about the Center’s programs and services by being part of the Speakers Bureau. Scheduled events vary from weekdays to weekends.Educators/Instructors: Lead classes through our educational and tutoring programs based on experience and expertise.Office Volunteers: Provide administrative office support to Center staff. Mailings, filing, computer input, assemblage of information packets, telephone support, or copying are examples of some office volunteer support.Special Events Volunteers: Assist the Center with annual fundraisers, trainings, workshops and other special events. Volunteer