Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
167 Reviews
1234.706595
| 1 2 3 4...16 |
Write A Review
July 2, 2013

more

July 2, 2013

I wast not sure what to expect, but as I experienced the Center and the great people here, I fell in love. The Center wants to empower not only women but all members of the community. This community definitely needs encouragement. The Center offers this and much more!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing, they are always looking for ways to improve their operations.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 1, 2013

more


1 previous review
February 17, 2011

The center helps develop self reliance in the participants of the program. It is based on a three step approach. The approaches are circular in nature so none is more important than the other, but sim... more

July 1, 2013

The WinC is a great organization. The center is a one stop shop for any Women's issue one can think of. The center empowers women to fulfill their dreams through educational, political and economic resources. Many of the people that are helped by the center have never had the self esteem to begin their own business. There are numerous successful Alumni.

The dedication and strive for women's education is something I have seen in no other organization. The center assist women in developing action plans on financing and/or using the centers resources for various educational pursuits. For some it may be college for others it may be a specific trade. The summer program which immerges students in the border region is a well known program; which helps highlight the issues on the border.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

assist in gaining more financial support for this great organization.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 17, 2011

The center helps develop self reliance in the participants of the program. It is based on a three step approach. The approaches are circular in nature so none is more important than the other, but simply build upon each other. These three approaches are education, economic self sufficiency and consciousness raising for change. In the education aspect the center has partnered with Dona Ana Community College to bring the participants opportunities to study ESL, citizenship and GED programs. The eventual goal is to bring the participant up to the level of being a self sustaining entrepreneur who can make a difference in the community and pass on the opportunities to other needy individuals in the area.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

seeing some the arts that the participants have created. The items are of professional quality and can very easily be sold at studios to help bring income to the clients seeking to improve there c

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

try to find a way to bring more donations to the organization. The need for this organization is so great in the community that the limited funding handicaps the organization from fully targeting all the needy in the local community.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

What is unique about this organization?

The three step approach. The participant learns life skills, skills needed to survive in the community, economic skills and the skill of self- sufficiency.

June 30, 2013

more

June 30, 2013

The WInC has been a tremendously helpful resource for my documentary film, journalism, and my own international community-building initiatives.

The staff have consistently gone above and beyond to make sure that I have had access to a diverse range of voices for my projects, and they are
refreshingly open-minded and non-dogmatic about a host of highly politicized issues around border and immigration policies.

Most importantly, the staff are just really sincere people, who are as kind and helpful as they are hard working and open to new ideas.

I have traveled all over and worked with community-based institutions in many countries, and the WInC easily stands out as one of the best, and an example to be emulated.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make sure they have the funding they need to be able to spread their message and their capacities to an even broader community. These guys make every dollar count. We need more organizations like them, and they should be supported so that they are able to provide an example to even more individuals and organizations.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 28, 2013

more

June 28, 2013

I have volunteered here for the BEA. I have had a great time with the well organized program. I have hosted students and shown them around our community. it has bee a great experience.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would help them fix the flooring in the gallery room.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 28, 2013

more


1 previous review
May 9, 2012

This is an awesome organization! I encourage women of all walks of life to come and participate in their programming and/or support them financially or in any way possible. The work that they do is t... more

June 28, 2013

Women's Intercultural Center is a great non profit organization. it provides a variety of classes to help empower women. I myself have taken several classes such as computers, and nutrition in the past. I am very pleased with everything and all the help I have received.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get the center a more noticeable sign.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 9, 2012

This is an awesome organization! I encourage women of all walks of life to come and participate in their programming and/or support them financially or in any way possible. The work that they do is truly amazing!

Videos

Where It Starts

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

My personal life. They have broaden my horizons and taught me many things as well as attained a

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

support their efforts financially.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

Nothing, they've been great to me.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

It was life changing. I've learned so much from sewing to solar panel installation to how to apply for scholarships. It's really been amazing!

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

It made me feel like I was making a difference in other peoples live and it made me feel good.

June 28, 2013

more

June 28, 2013

WInC organized home stays for members of our organization to get to know the community better. Mary Carter was incredibly helpful, friendly, and organized. The entire staff is so committed to meeting the needs of each and every community member. I felt honored to be able to partner with such stong community leaders.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 28, 2013

more

June 28, 2013

Well my experience was very unplesent and upsetting they should not treat women like that i belive that the zumba class was very helpfull for many women in the community they need know how to communicate and learn more about using peoples skills because they dont have no right to do such out ragious thing without notifing the women because this center should benefit the COMMUNITY NOT THE WORKERS

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Review the employees or remove them from that center

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 27, 2013

more

June 27, 2013

I really enjoyed my time at the Center! It was fun and I felt right at home the moment I walked in. It was obvious that the Center is so instrumental to the community with its Zumba classes, gordita sales, art classes, and citizenship courses. It is a well rounded institution that has the well being and empowerment of the women in Anthony at heart every day. I wish to work with the Center again and to bring some of that heart back home with me in the shape of a career helping women become independent and empowered.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

June 27, 2013

more

June 27, 2013

tengo muchos anos visitando, educandome, compartiendo mis conocimientos con la comunidad de anthony nm y siempre ha sido un placer el estar ahi en este edificio. tuve la suerte de conocer sus inicios desde que se estaba construyendo y siempre he visto la buena voluntad de todos los que lo iniciarion, he visto el crecimiento del centro atravez de la directora Mary Carter, la ayuda de su familia en este crecimiento , en forma voluntaria, ha sido fundamental para el desarrollo de la comunidad de anthony. mucha gente se ha beneficiado de los servicios de el Centro Intercultural de la Mujer en Anthony NM. doy gracias por poder servir como voluntaria y seguir sirviendo a la comunidad de anthony nm. olga I. Hernandez Promotora

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

yo no cambiaria nada en este momento, el centro esta creciendo a su ritmo y desarrollando nuevos planes para el futuro

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 27, 2013

more

June 27, 2013

I came to the Center to one class then I took additional classes and even though I still take classes, I am now a volunteer instructor. Additionally, I received a contract to make cakes when one of the donors of the Center stopped by for a visit. The employees, the volunteers and everyone that is here has helped me a lot and I have made lots of friends when I had none. As I plan my 25th wedding anniversary everyone here is helping with the table arrangements, making the food and so much more. I didn't even ask for help, they all offered to help because this is how it works here. I love it here and everyone involved with the Center.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None they're doing a great job!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Our volunteers are the are the heart of the Women’s Intercultural Center for it began as a volunteer operated organization.  The Center since its inception places a high value on community involvement.  Volunteers can donate their time and talents in many ways to make a difference in the lives of the women that participate in our programs.Arts and Crafts Group Volunteers: Make arts and crafts to sell at the Center’s gift shop or gallery and craft fairs to raise money for the Center through the classes and workshops we provide. Making crafts at home is also an option for those unable to attend our classes or workshops.  Buildings and Grounds Volunteers: Maintain buildings and grounds by helping clean the facilities, gardening, and overall building maintenance.Community Outreach Volunteers: Host or represent the Center at health fairs and community events. Educate civic community groups about the Center’s programs and services by being part of the Speakers Bureau. Scheduled events vary from weekdays to weekends.Educators/Instructors: Lead classes through our educational and tutoring programs based on experience and expertise.Office Volunteers: Provide administrative office support to Center staff. Mailings, filing, computer input, assemblage of information packets, telephone support, or copying are examples of some office volunteer support.Special Events Volunteers: Assist the Center with annual fundraisers, trainings, workshops and other special events. Volunteer