Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
21 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
June 13, 2012

more

June 13, 2012

I was introduced to Women's Initiative for Selp Employment last year, when I attended the annual Gala with Nicole Levine, director of the San Francisco region, and it was everything she described it would be… inspiring, motivating, and poignant.
What I didn’t know at the time, but I’m pretty
sure Nicole did, is how I would still be reflecting on the memories of the evening, and the amazing Women’s Initiative staff, volunteers, friends, and especially the graduates I met that night.
As a woman, a mother, and an entrepreneur, I believe our best future is in grassroots job creation. Investing in motivated and talented women who are brave enough to believe in themselves and their businesses is a great place to start!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I'm expanding my comfort zone, with the goal to embrace public speaking!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would love to see the organzation expand state and nationwide.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did you learn about this organization?

They opened a new office in our office building, and we were curious what all the excitment was about.

June 1, 2012

more

June 1, 2012

I have been involved with Women's Initiative as a volunteer and board member for the past 4 years. The organization is all that one would wish for in a non profit. It has an inspiring mission, results that have been proven time and time again, a supportive nurturing community, and strong leadership and fiscal accountability. I am privileged to be associated it and introduce others to it every chance i get. Women's Initiative is changing lives and communities throughout the Bay Area and soon also in Chicago and NYC. We can only wish that federal stimulus money had such an impact!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 1, 2012

more

June 1, 2012

Women's Initiative has created thousands of jobs in the San Francisco bay area by providing the training and support for low income women to start or expand their businesses. Now expanding to Chicago and New York, this organization is one of my favorites because it is life-changing and the results are long term. For every dollar invested in a program, $30 goes back into the communiy. Women's Initaitive has great statistics to show the success. I like supporting organization where I can see the results!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 31, 2012

more

May 31, 2012

I am all about exponential impact. And Women's Initiative has just that. In 2011, Women's Initiative created over 5,500 jobs in the San Francisco Bay Area. Not only do those job directly impact the women who have gone through the training program, but communities are being shaped. Opportunities are growing at community and city-wide levels. Hopefully, one day, Women's Initiative will be in a position have a global impact. Awards like this will help make that growth possible.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 31, 2012

more

May 31, 2012

Women's Initiative has helped over 24,000 women in the past 24 years. The program provides an 11 week mini-MBA program, funding, and support, to help low income women launch their own business. 70% of the graduates still have their businesses 5 years later. Last year this program helped to create 5,500 jobs in the Bay Area. The program helps women become financially indepedent, helps them provide for their children, helps the community AND helps create jobs! The organization now is expanding into 10 urban markets in the U.S. A proven organization that has an impeccable track record- truly transforming lives.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 5, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 5, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I always look for leverage. Women's Initiative really beats everything else. Just in Silicon Valley, we were part of starting 400 successful business last year. These businesses pulled women out of poverty, gave their children a role model, supported the community with new well-paying jobs and financial activity. Nothing wrong with giving a hungry man a fish - but we are teaching women how to build their own fishing enterprise. To top it off, the staf and volunteers are competent and compassionate.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 5, 2012

more

April 5, 2012

I became involved with Women's Initiative 15 years ago because I believed in their mission of helping low-income women escape poverty by becoming their own employer. I've stayed involved because the program works and I see the evidence every time I meet a graduate. If you want to give back to your local community, see low income women succeed in escaping poverty and help their children and families build social capital that will last for generations, Women's Initiative is the organization to support. Men welcome too!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 5, 2012

more

April 5, 2012

Women's Initiative is an ideal model for sustainable job creation in a local community. It does not offer charity, it offers opportunity based on hard work and education.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 4, 2012

more

April 4, 2012

The Women's Initiative is one of the most powerful organization in the local Silicon Valley. Why? Because it it so needed. Because it impacts the lives of others. Because, it makes a difference. This organization is affecting people of lesser social economic status and really creating social change. Now that's really important in this day and age. I attended my first event/gala while I was a Sr. Sales Executive at Hewlett-Packard. I was extremely moved by what had taken place. A room full of five-hundred professional people, all making their mark and contribution to this particular organization. But more importantly, I met the small business owners and entrepreneurs that were able to use the tools that they rec'd (classes, coaching) to greatly impact their circumstance. And along the way they created jobs for others. Now that's pretty powerful. I highly recommend joining the cause. Warm regards, Natalina Gonzalez

Photos

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers