Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
21 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
July 13, 2012

more

July 13, 2012

i am a 48 year old female african american chef. i have worked my whole life to hone my skills as a culinary profesional. i enrolled into the Womens Initiative program to try and get the tools to help my open Feathers poultry cafe in Alameda Ca. After spending the last 30 years sharing my passion and my ideas with employers, they are successful and i have very little to show for it. now im ready to try and do it for myself and Womens Initiative is an awesome program that is helping me reach my goals. ive learned so much about my lifes work that i wasnt aware of before i did this program. financial aspect, projections, passions and ideas are all a part of what they ask for when they teach you how to write a business plan. they EVERYTHING to light to help you realize you options as a small business owner. I LOVE WI. the staff is great, the instructors are awesome im gonna miss them when its all over. we graduate at the end of july and i feel very strongly that once i submit my business plan and join the success link program, WI will put me intouch with the people i need to help me live my dream. once i get the funding i will hit the ground running and i wont stop until Feathers poultry cafe is the greatest in place Alameda and i plan to use as many WI alumni as i can in my business. thank you.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 13, 2012

more

June 13, 2012

I was introduced to Women's Initiative for Selp Employment last year, when I attended the annual Gala with Nicole Levine, director of the San Francisco region, and it was everything she described it would be… inspiring, motivating, and poignant.
What I didn’t know at the time, but I’m pretty
sure Nicole did, is how I would still be reflecting on the memories of the evening, and the amazing Women’s Initiative staff, volunteers, friends, and especially the graduates I met that night.
As a woman, a mother, and an entrepreneur, I believe our best future is in grassroots job creation. Investing in motivated and talented women who are brave enough to believe in themselves and their businesses is a great place to start!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I'm expanding my comfort zone, with the goal to embrace public speaking!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would love to see the organzation expand state and nationwide.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did you learn about this organization?

They opened a new office in our office building, and we were curious what all the excitment was about.

June 12, 2012

more

June 12, 2012

Being a volunteer at Women's Initiative has given me the tools to create a positive impact on someone's life. I have been able to work with both clients and staff members, and the benefits I have acquired are endless. WI does a wonderful job training and opening opportunities for women; I know this only because of the statistics but because our clients demonstrate it to us everyday!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 10, 2012

more

June 10, 2012

What I like best about the Women's Initiative is that it continues to track and validate it's activities and impact with research to back up it's claims. I advised this non-profit (and will continue to do so) on research methods to measure the impact of the organization and design excellent surveys and metrics to do this. It is rare that a non-profit wants to understand it's impact in an objective way to enable transformation to be more effective in the future. I recently met one of the participants and was struck by her enthusiasm, passion and work ethic as an new entrepreneur.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

meeting the entrepreneurs

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 5, 2012

more

June 5, 2012

Women's Initiative for Self-Employment is an inspiring organization because of it's dedication to serving low-income, high-potential women with big dreams to be self-sustaining. Nearly every client that graduates from the business skills course will tell you how their experience amplified their socioeconomic success, personal confidence, and well-being. The wonderful, compassionate, intelligent staff keeps the organization and clients happy and fulfilled, deeming it a truly great non-profit focused on women's empowerment.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 4, 2012

more

June 4, 2012

The Women's Initiative for Self Employment is a truly a great organization. I am blessed to have received solid business training as well as an extensive mature network of supporters and access to business opportunities. I owe my success and future success to WI. To date, I have launched my spice blend lines in 25 Bay Area Stores and now am expanding to Mid-West. I am working with Bay Area Schools on Healthy Eating Campaigns and Fundraising Programs. Love WI, love the supporters... love the skills to help me reach and exceed my breakeven point before the end of this year. Janis Callon / Founder - Community Spice Company

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Cash Flow Management, Inventory Management, Marketing Strategies

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Advertise so more people know about it.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did you find this group?

A friend of a friend who finished the program.

What, if any, change in your life has this group encouraged?

Expanded my lines of business, gave me the confidence to pitch Fortune 100 Companies. Gave me critical access to large business opportunities and potential investors from their supporters.

June 4, 2012

more

June 4, 2012

as a trainer with this organization, I have seen first hand the impact we have on women's lives....not just on their businesses, but on their overall quality of life. The work we do is so needed!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 1, 2012

more

June 1, 2012

Women's Initiative is an incredibly inspiring and valuable organisation. It is inspiring because as a volunteer, i have met with some of their clientele who have testified of some the most powerful life changes they have gone through as a result of the program. They testify of dramatic changes in their quality of life (increases), of personal empowerment and how they have received much more than they ever anticipated. It is a valuable organisation because the low income clients they produce from their program contribute to the economy in a way they could not before. They create jobs and are in business extraordinarily longer than the national averages. I am not just lucky to volunteer for an organisation of this caliber, i am honored.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 1, 2012

more

June 1, 2012

I have been involved with Women's Initiative as a volunteer and board member for the past 4 years. The organization is all that one would wish for in a non profit. It has an inspiring mission, results that have been proven time and time again, a supportive nurturing community, and strong leadership and fiscal accountability. I am privileged to be associated it and introduce others to it every chance i get. Women's Initiative is changing lives and communities throughout the Bay Area and soon also in Chicago and NYC. We can only wish that federal stimulus money had such an impact!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 1, 2012

more

June 1, 2012

Women's Initiative has created thousands of jobs in the San Francisco bay area by providing the training and support for low income women to start or expand their businesses. Now expanding to Chicago and New York, this organization is one of my favorites because it is life-changing and the results are long term. For every dollar invested in a program, $30 goes back into the communiy. Women's Initaitive has great statistics to show the success. I like supporting organization where I can see the results!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers