Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
81 Reviews
1234.975315
Previous | Next
Write A Review
August 8, 2014

more

August 8, 2014

I met Karen Sugar in 2010 when she was making her presentation on Women4 peace Award. Her speeches touched me and immediately join her program which i started by getting only $100. This has greatly improved my life and my family. I am now running a big hotel in town, all this with support from Women Global Empowerment Fund.

With this i request for more support towards the program so that she can reach out to many women in the community.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

support and encourage more supporters/ donors to fund the micro-credit plus program because it is the only way that the women in community can bring peace in their homes.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

July 9, 2014

more

July 9, 2014

Miriam Akech is my name, Im 28 years old and lives in the town of Gulu in Northern Uganda. Im married with three children, two of them currently in school. For the past 4 years, I have been working hard to manage my small restaurant, which sells local, serving breakfast, lunch and supper every day.

To help expand my business, I requested a loan of 500,000 Ugandan Shillings from WGEF to buy stock for my restaurant, and my stock. My hopes were that in the future I will be able to stock up my restaurant.

Cliet Quote of accomplishment :
“Before I received the Loan I was working alone in my restaurant, currently I employ 2 helpers in the restaurant because we have many customers and sometimes we do outside catering for small community meetings, I have been able to repay my loan in time, I have already applied for the second cycle. What is very important to me I have been able to save 40,000 shillings, and I need to add more saving. My target is to take up 4 loans recycles then I will start using my savings as capital”.
I thank you for giving me the opportunity that has helped my business to grow
God Bless you,
Miriam- WGEF client Gulu

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would expand the unique programing and services to reach more women Ugnada

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

November 6, 2012

more

November 6, 2012

As a mother of seven I had no idea about how my life would be after the impact of the LRA War. I was abducted at the age of six and returned with two children, I hardly knew what to do with my life because my parents were gone. After a few years I met a man whom I thought would provide me with all the security I needed, all was a myth because he kept beating me each time I asked for money and whenever he came home drunk causing even more pain and suffering. With all the pain I wanted to return to the bush where life was much easier but whenever I looked at my children I felt they needed me because no one could look after them after I was gone. It was then that I started growing vegetables and selling but the money was not even enough to cater for our upkeep because my husband could even take it away from me.

I had one problem after the other, with no one to turn to but one day I met a group of Women Benefiting from WGEF, after several days, a peer counselor shared with me a lot about what I was going through and introduced me to the Program, due to my low self esteem I feared to be among other women but gradually I gained the courage.

My life has now changed not only because of the loans but also the trainings that I received. I managed to start up a business and a live stock project which is helping me pay school fees and other basic needs; I also bought a bicycle from the profits which has eased the transportation of my products to the market. At this point the relationship within my family has improved and we are working together to provide for our family, people in my community now respect me and I am now even a community leader, something I thought wasn’t meant for me. At last I have the hope that was long gone.

“Please fellow women, do not think whatever you went through or are going through cannot change – we can rise above poverty once equipped with the right tools”
“Akello Beatrice – Bungatira” God Bless WGEF

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 25, 2010

more

August 25, 2010

"My name is Betty Ocan a widow and chairperson (Pie-Tek Women Group), I joined the Women, s Global Empowerment Fund in 2008 as a client to receive loans it was my first time and I was just been inspired by my neigbour who was getting the services too. I used to stay and sell tomatoes at home and have to suffer with my stress and all the problems in silence, I had no one to share with, and hardly solved problems that I had. Since I joined the WGEF my life changed, since I have my own group members whom we can sit and share with any issues partaining our lives, infct what I used to think they were impossible, they are! With the help of other group members (women). I thank God for this program that provided me with the opportunity of being a peer counselor Imargin Im a leader who is recognised in the community not only by the women undergoing into the program but even other women in the community, now my home is ever full with visiters (women) who come to share and seek advise from me (who did not attend school) and now I fill I must contest in the upcoming elections to become a political woman, why not? There I will struggle to extend my services and make women more aware of their potantials. With my group we continued getting loans from the Women’s Global Empowerment Fund, Im Succeding with my business, seeing it expanding every loan cycle, I learnt to save, and I feel a big change in my life it can be seen even from my physical apearance you know when you have money you will never fear to tell out your views and ideas and people really respects, Im seeing all this with my eyes, I only request that the office continue supporting us and more women in the community in all the programs, there we will have a better generation where women are respected and not taken like properties and tools."

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

through ongoing support, loans and trainings.

More feedback...

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every week

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers