Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
81 Reviews
1234.975315
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
August 8, 2014

more

August 8, 2014

I have work for women's global empowerment fund for about 2 years and i have experience a lot as far as their contribution is concern to women especially in Gulu district, a lot of life changing experiences an i am so proud to work with women's global and i would like to appreciate so much mam Karen sugar for all the support
thank a lot
DENIS ABUU

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

increased the area of coverage

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 8, 2014

more

August 8, 2014

Am Kevin Okumu from Gulu in Northern Uganda, i came to know about Women Global empowerment Fund when i joined the organisation as a volunteer, And i have worked in their project for a year now. The great work of micro-credit lending has brought smiles on over 800 faces in my area. the first time i saw Karen Sugar is when she made an amazing presentation on creating voice for women and awarding the grass roots women, this has been my best experience ever Bottle of thanks to WGEF!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would advocate for any organisation to give more funding so that we can continue with this great job.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 7, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
June 7, 2013

The best memory I have volunteering with Women's Global Empowerment Fund was meeting the women involved in the program. They are humble, yet inspirational people. I met Grace Ouma the first year I v... more

August 7, 2014

I met Karen Sugar when I was sophomore in high school, and now, five years later I’m a sophomore in college. I started volunteering for Karen a year after she started her non-profit organization, and now, I’ve been able to see her organization thrive and expand right before my eyes. However, one of my fondest experiences occurred a few weeks after I met Karen. Karen introduced me to some of her clients and WGEF team that were visiting from Gulu, and I happened to sit down with one of her clients Grace. I asked her how the micro-loan program has impacted her life, and she responded most genuinely: the loan has helped her raise her family and create a business. But, what stuck with me was her passion to help empower other women. It takes courage to stand up for your family, but it takes even more courage to stand up for your community. That moment has stuck with me throughout the years, and has inspired me to get involved with global development programs. This coming year I will be president of an organization on campus called “Global Health Initiative,” and it’s aim is to create awareness on health issues, as well as help the local and international community overcome health crises. In the end, my life has, and always will be, forever changed by Women’s Global Empowerment Fund.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

expand to different locations around the world.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 7, 2013

The best memory I have volunteering with Women's Global Empowerment Fund was meeting the women involved in the program. They are humble, yet inspirational people. I met Grace Ouma the first year I volunteered with WGEF, and it amazed me how much a micro-loan and educational opportunities transformed her life. She used the money and her new-found knowledge to not only support her family, but then began reaching out to more women who needed help. She wanted to do something bigger than herself, and that was so beautiful to me. Everyone involved in WGEF has this same mentality, especially the founder Karen Sugar. She has a drive to provide courage, love, and hope to everybody around her. This program has done so much for women, and their families, living in Gulu, Uganda, and I hope it never stops.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 4, 2012

During the summer of my sophmore year in high school I met Karen Sugar and was instantly drawn to her non-profit organization. She described that she held fundraisers to provide micro loans for women in Uganda, and that so far the money had transformed the lives of all the women. From that moment on I started volunteering. So far I have been volunteering for three years now and there has been so many unbelievable things this organization has been able to accomplish. Women's Global Empowerment Fund has given women literacy, health, and leadership education, allowed their buisnesses to exponentially grow, have allowed the women to become more confident and independent, and has even supported them to run for political office. It is truly amazing what so little money can do for a communitiy. I even personally met one of the women, Grace Ouma, who won political office in Uganda. She was so appreciative of everything Karen Sugar and Women's Global Empowerment Fund had done for her life. Hearing her stories and her newfound strength that she had gained throughout this experience makes me unconditionally proud to volunteer for this organization. It is an incrediably fulfilling experience that I will forever continue to support.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 17, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
June 17, 2014

My time as an intern for Women's Global has been truly life changing. This organization provides the tools necessary to strengthen the skills, knowledge and confidence of women who have survived unimaginable hardship. The strategies employed by WGEF are impactful and influential in economic, social and political realms of life. By providing just a chance, an opportunity for women to reach their full potential, WGEF has enabled the beauty and ability that is ingrained in every woman to come forth and potentially change the developmental path of Uganda.

Not only has this organization provided opportunities for women in norther Uganda, but it has also provided opportunities for women like me, who seek a deeper understanding of the workings of the world and who wish to positively impact others. I have witnessed the power of entrepreneurialism, opportunity and education in post-conflict regions. I have discovered the potential for sisterhood and female solidarity to challenge the institutions that continue to perpetuate unequal and unjust political, economic and social systems. I have learned that often, all women need is a chance to use their inherent skills, creativity and intelligence to make profound changes in their lives and the lives of their children. Further, I have learned about the logistical intricacies of the non-profit world and the realistic impact of grassroots volunteerism.

Women's Global, Karen Sugar and the women of Gulu, Uganda have inspired me to believe in myself and to believe in the power of the human spirit. It is through this human spirit that we will ever be able to address the daunting developmental obstacles that lay ahead.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make sure they got more funding!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 21, 2013

more


1 previous review
September 20, 2012

I have had the incredible opportunity to be a part of this organization when it was just an idea, a small thought in the back of Karen Sugar's brillant mind. With a lot of drive, research, love, and h... more

October 21, 2013

I have worked with WGEF since the start, though initially I knew very little of microfinance and post-conflict Uganda. As someone who has witnessed the incredible growth of such an organization, it is a pleasure to share my dedication to the WGEF team and their mission. Karen Sugar, founder and executive director of WGEF), is an incredible leader who saw an opportunity to create positive change for not only her now-female clients but also the Gulu, Uganda community as a whole. Karen's in-depth research of a post-conflict region only propelled her forward, over coming many obstacles, to give these women a chance and an opportunity for monetary and food security for their families, an education and the belief that everyone deserves the right to chase dreams and conquer goals. To say WGEF has made leaps and bounds since the start is an understatement but all challenges have been met with a passion to create a voice for women all over not just in Uganda. And through this organization, thousands of people have had the opportunity to learn more about microfinance; such a simple solution for supporting those in need. I strongly believe WGEF is still just getting its start in changing lives and developing stronger communities. The future is very bright for this nonprofit. Thanks for your interest and please continue to explore this stellar organization at www.wgefund.org

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 20, 2012

I have had the incredible opportunity to be a part of this organization when it was just an idea, a small thought in the back of Karen Sugar's brillant mind. With a lot of drive, research, love, and hope, let me tell you, WGEF has made amazing strides not only on the ground in Northen Uganda but to educate people on the benefits of microfinance and the oppotunities that come when women are given the chance to make a better life for themselves and their famililes. From the start, like any greta nonprofit, there have been bumps in the road, but Karen's clear vision for WGEF, understanding of the region and the need's of the Northern Uganda community has allowed her and her team to persevere. With a zero loan default rate, booming business ideas, healthier home lives and, WGEF client's running for political office it is safe to say that this organization is creating amazing possibilities for the women of Northern Uganda.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 5, 2013

more

October 5, 2013

WGEF is performing outstanding work in Gulu, Uganda. It is amazing what the organization has been able to do with the funds and donations they receive. WGEF is truly making a difference in this community and has a mission worthy of recognition.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 1, 2013

more

October 1, 2013

Akello Beatirice is a single mother of seven living in Gulu, Uganda. Like many other women in her community, Akello still feels the lasting effects that ongoing conflict has inflicted on her community. Abducted at the age of six, Akello spent several years in the hands of the Lord’s Resistance Army before being returned to her community parentless and alone. For the years that followed, Akello continued to suffer under the hands of a drunk and abusive husband plagued with feelings of hopelessness and low self-esteem. These are the challenges facing many women currently living in Uganda. Marred by a history of trauma and facing economic hardships and oppression, these women seem to be fighting and uphill battle. However, it is not these hardships that Women’s Global Empowerment Fund chooses to focus on in their work to address poverty and the marginalization f women in Uganda. Taking a strengths based approach in their programming, WGEF puts emphasis not on the hardships facing these women, but rather on the potential of women as natural leaders in their communities. The results are stunning.

WGEF employs a clever combination of microfinance loans and social programming in their Credit Plus program as they work to help the intelligent and powerful women of Uganda realize their potential. In small groups, women borrow money to fund projects and business ventures toward which they already have an affinity. Through this program, Akello chose to borrow money to invest in a live stock project whose profits are now being used to support her family and send her children to school. In addition to these loans, women are offered access to a variety of social programs including literacy, leadership development and basic business classes. Looking at these programs through the lens of empowerment theory offers exciting insight into how WGEF women are able to work toward self-efficacy to regain power and control over their own lives.

Of vital importance in the quest for self-efficacy is the use of critical consciousness to determine ones place within an existing structure of power and oppression and push back in favor of a more equitable system. Through their Access to Justice initiative, WGEF helps women to define the gender discrimination inherent in the current justice system, as well as teaching them grassroots strategies to advocate for changes that will better provide for them and their families. Many women are then able to use these skills and knowledge as a gateway to political involvement, acting as leaders in their community to hold their government accountable for its actions. On a mezzo level, WGEF trainings in Gender Based Violence allow women to identify and fight back against power dynamics within their own families. When paired with the economic security reaped from participation in the Credit Plus Program, this knowledge allows women to make changes in their own lives, with many now finding themselves in a position of autonomy that conflict, oppression and unequal distribution of power have long deprived them of.

I strongly believe in the work being done by WGEF and feel that, by addressing the needs of both the individual and society, WGEF is posturing these communities for sustainable growth. It is an exciting time to be involved with WGEF and I encourage anyone interested in microfinance or women’s empowerment to learn more about their work.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I think the WGEF model is very strong and would love to see it applied to more communities.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 19, 2013

more


1 previous review
May 10, 2010

I found Women's Global empowerment fund through a classmate. I was interested in pursuing a career in the nonprofit world especially through microfinance. Now, after having been with this organization... more

September 19, 2013

I have been involved with Women's Global Empowerment Fund for about three years now. The most memorable experience I have had with the organization was getting to meet one of our clients from Gulu, Uganda. Grace is one of the most inspiring women I have ever had the privilege to meet. Her experience showed me that WGEF provides so much more than microfinance. Through the literacy and leadership development programs women are given the tools they need to be a part of important policy decisions in their country, and are creating lasting change. Women's Global has proven how a nonprofit can have a large and more importantly lasting impact on the world.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 10, 2010

I found Women's Global empowerment fund through a classmate. I was interested in pursuing a career in the nonprofit world especially through microfinance. Now, after having been with this organization for only a few short months I am absolutely positive that this is the career I want to pursue. I truly believe that in order to create sustainable and lasting change you have to help people help themselves. Women's Global is doing an incredible thing by helping women gain control over their own destiny through microcredit and literacy programs.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I haven't personally met any of the women whose lives we are changing but just knowing that what I am doing is helping them in such a big way has been one of the most rewarding experiences of my life.

More feedback...

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

very dedicated to the mission of this organization.

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

help over 175,000 in northern Uganda to start their own businesses.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every week

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

September 19, 2013

more


1 previous review
May 27, 2012

Women's Global Empowerment Fund is an absolutely inspirational organization, dedicated to helping the women of Gulu, Uganda pull themselves out of poverty, and place themselves at an equal level in th... more

September 19, 2013

I have worked with Women's Global Empowerment Fund for a year and a half now and continue to be inspired every day by the amazing work of both Karen Sugar, as well as every single client in Gulu, Uganda. The organization is truly breaking the mold of the traditional aid model by representing these women as the strong and capable women that they are, instead of viewing them only as victims of past tragedies. WGEF is so much more then just a micro-ledning organization, through the Credit-Plus program women are going back to school, participating in Leadership Development training, and securing themselves a seat at the policy table. This organization has far exceeded my expectations of what a nonprofit can accomplish, and I stand behind all the work that Karen has done, and will continue to do for many years.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 27, 2012

Women's Global Empowerment Fund is an absolutely inspirational organization, dedicated to helping the women of Gulu, Uganda pull themselves out of poverty, and place themselves at an equal level in the playing field. After seeing and talking to Grace, a client in Gulu, I have a greater respect and understanding for the powerful changes this organization can make in these women's lives. The organization is not just about micro-loans and finances, Grace continually talks about how the peer counseling program that was set up alongside the education and literacy programs have truly changed her. These programs which go alongside the loans, are what have enabled Grace to become a true leader in her community, allowing her to support four children, go back to school, have three business, and be elected for local governance in Gulu. That is just one success story, and the organization has more than 3000 women just like Grace, who just needed support to help them realize their undeniable potential.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 24, 2013

more


1 previous review
June 5, 2012

I first became involved in Women's Global in 2008 as a graduate student after discovering them upon returning abroad-I was looking for an grassroots organization that worked. What attracted me to Wome... more

June 24, 2013

As a volunteer for more than 5 years, I have had the opportunity to be involved and see the impacts of WGEF's work. The grassroots model of WGEF goes above and beyond to address the true causes of poverty and empower its participants. Looking forward, WGEF continues to be strong in Uganda and is now expanding its work to Haiti. Working with a local Haitian organization, WGEF will empower women in rural Haiti areas through agricultural training, leadership development, literacy programs, and eventually, microcredit. It's an exciting time to be part of and supporting this great organization!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 5, 2012

I first became involved in Women's Global in 2008 as a graduate student after discovering them upon returning abroad-I was looking for an grassroots organization that worked. What attracted me to Women's Global was their model: a credit-plus model that not only provided credit to women but provided them other tools simultaneously, giving them a tool box of resources that empowered them. I have remained involved in the organizations since and had the opportunity to travel to Gulu, Uganda for a month to help evaluate the program's success and participate in the dental clinic. This only affirmed what I already knew, that Women's Global was making a profound difference in these women's lives.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers