Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
74 Reviews
1234.959465
Previous | 1 2 3...6 |
Write A Review
July 9, 2014

more

July 9, 2014

Miriam Akech is my name, Im 28 years old and lives in the town of Gulu in Northern Uganda. Im married with three children, two of them currently in school. For the past 4 years, I have been working hard to manage my small restaurant, which sells local, serving breakfast, lunch and supper every day.

To help expand my business, I requested a loan of 500,000 Ugandan Shillings from WGEF to buy stock for my restaurant, and my stock. My hopes were that in the future I will be able to stock up my restaurant.

Cliet Quote of accomplishment :
“Before I received the Loan I was working alone in my restaurant, currently I employ 2 helpers in the restaurant because we have many customers and sometimes we do outside catering for small community meetings, I have been able to repay my loan in time, I have already applied for the second cycle. What is very important to me I have been able to save 40,000 shillings, and I need to add more saving. My target is to take up 4 loans recycles then I will start using my savings as capital”.
I thank you for giving me the opportunity that has helped my business to grow
God Bless you,
Miriam- WGEF client Gulu

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would expand the unique programing and services to reach more women Ugnada

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 20, 2014

more

June 20, 2014

I have been working with this organization in development as of recent, and I feel that I can say without a doubt that this nonprofit is revolutionary. Their ability to be completely focused on the sustainability, independence, and empowerment of their clientele, while simultaneously giving many opportunities to develop multiple key facets of the clientele's livelihood, is unique to say the least. It has been a pleasure so far to work with the organization, and I look forward to being with WGEF while they continue and expand their outreach, support, and empowerment of women and their communities across the globe.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

N/A

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 18, 2014

more


3 previous reviews - show all
October 11, 2013

I am continually impressed by the work Karen Sugar, and the Women's Global Empowerment Fund, are doing in Uganda. Rather than fixate on the difficulties of living in a post-conflict region, the progra... more

June 18, 2014

Women's Global Empowerment Fund is a unique and inspiring organization that supports female entrepreneurs by strengthening their economic, political, and social outlook. These women are incredibly inspiring - I can only hope to mimic their passion and determination to provide for their families and strengthen their communities. WGEF pairs economic support with opportunities to participate in leadership development, literacy and health programs that give the women the peer support they need to be successful. In a post-conflict region, providing these resources is KEY to a healthy recovery.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

The more staff we can support in Gulu - the better!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 11, 2013

I am continually impressed by the work Karen Sugar, and the Women's Global Empowerment Fund, are doing in Uganda. Rather than fixate on the difficulties of living in a post-conflict region, the program works to build women up, and emphasize the role they have in rebuilding their communities. Having worked as an intern, a volunteer, and now as a nonprofit professional, I hold Women's Global in high regard. Partnering microfinance, literacy and leadership programs, and other development work, WGEF has reached hundreds of women and has supported the growth of their community. Meeting Grace, a WGEF client, on a trip to Denver a few years ago, was one of the most memorable experiences of my life. Hearing her story, watching her speak, and learning of everything she has built for herself and her family, is incredibly moving. If I had to pick one nonprofit to support, Women's Global is it!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Karen Sugar and her dedicated team of volunteers need SUPPORT! I can only imagine the work they would do with more man-power.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 13, 2012

Women's Global Empowerment Fund is working extremely hard to improve the lives of hundreds of women in Northern Uganda, using hands-on and grassroots methods that have proven very effective! The most inspiring part of WGEF's work is that the women are improving themselves through hard work, determination, and community-building. To listen to the stories of how these women have taken the initiative and the tools from WGEF's programs to improve their lives is truly awe-inspiring. I'm very proud to be a part of the organization and see just how powerful women really are!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 12, 2012

I just began interning with the Women's Global Empowerment Fund, and it has already completely changed my perspective on non-profit work. The group uses an ingenious grassroots strategy to cater to the needs of the clients, and the success in just 5 years is astounding. I recently met Grace Okwello, one of WGEF's clients, and she has completely inspired me. A mother of four, business owner, restauranteur, and politician, she is an example of the strength women can have in their communities if empowered through strategic and thoughtful means. This non-profit is a spectacular model of how we can reach out to developing communities and EMPOWER them to build themselves.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 17, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
June 17, 2014

My time as an intern for Women's Global has been truly life changing. This organization provides the tools necessary to strengthen the skills, knowledge and confidence of women who have survived unimaginable hardship. The strategies employed by WGEF are impactful and influential in economic, social and political realms of life. By providing just a chance, an opportunity for women to reach their full potential, WGEF has enabled the beauty and ability that is ingrained in every woman to come forth and potentially change the developmental path of Uganda.

Not only has this organization provided opportunities for women in norther Uganda, but it has also provided opportunities for women like me, who seek a deeper understanding of the workings of the world and who wish to positively impact others. I have witnessed the power of entrepreneurialism, opportunity and education in post-conflict regions. I have discovered the potential for sisterhood and female solidarity to challenge the institutions that continue to perpetuate unequal and unjust political, economic and social systems. I have learned that often, all women need is a chance to use their inherent skills, creativity and intelligence to make profound changes in their lives and the lives of their children. Further, I have learned about the logistical intricacies of the non-profit world and the realistic impact of grassroots volunteerism.

Women's Global, Karen Sugar and the women of Gulu, Uganda have inspired me to believe in myself and to believe in the power of the human spirit. It is through this human spirit that we will ever be able to address the daunting developmental obstacles that lay ahead.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make sure they got more funding!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 21, 2013

more


1 previous review
September 20, 2012

I have had the incredible opportunity to be a part of this organization when it was just an idea, a small thought in the back of Karen Sugar's brillant mind. With a lot of drive, research, love, and h... more

October 21, 2013

I have worked with WGEF since the start, though initially I knew very little of microfinance and post-conflict Uganda. As someone who has witnessed the incredible growth of such an organization, it is a pleasure to share my dedication to the WGEF team and their mission. Karen Sugar, founder and executive director of WGEF), is an incredible leader who saw an opportunity to create positive change for not only her now-female clients but also the Gulu, Uganda community as a whole. Karen's in-depth research of a post-conflict region only propelled her forward, over coming many obstacles, to give these women a chance and an opportunity for monetary and food security for their families, an education and the belief that everyone deserves the right to chase dreams and conquer goals. To say WGEF has made leaps and bounds since the start is an understatement but all challenges have been met with a passion to create a voice for women all over not just in Uganda. And through this organization, thousands of people have had the opportunity to learn more about microfinance; such a simple solution for supporting those in need. I strongly believe WGEF is still just getting its start in changing lives and developing stronger communities. The future is very bright for this nonprofit. Thanks for your interest and please continue to explore this stellar organization at www.wgefund.org

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 20, 2012

I have had the incredible opportunity to be a part of this organization when it was just an idea, a small thought in the back of Karen Sugar's brillant mind. With a lot of drive, research, love, and hope, let me tell you, WGEF has made amazing strides not only on the ground in Northen Uganda but to educate people on the benefits of microfinance and the oppotunities that come when women are given the chance to make a better life for themselves and their famililes. From the start, like any greta nonprofit, there have been bumps in the road, but Karen's clear vision for WGEF, understanding of the region and the need's of the Northern Uganda community has allowed her and her team to persevere. With a zero loan default rate, booming business ideas, healthier home lives and, WGEF client's running for political office it is safe to say that this organization is creating amazing possibilities for the women of Northern Uganda.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 17, 2013

more

October 17, 2013

I have worked with Women's Global Empowerment Fund since 2007 to-date, every day that passed I'm more inspired to continue working with WGEF client in Gulu.Seeing women (Clients) representing themselves in small community forums, participating in elective position makes feel that WGEF is doing much more then just a micro-ledning organization. I have and will continue to stand behind all the work that WGEF is doing and sooner it is providing sustainable solutions to communities it serves.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would continue working with WGEF to support women in Gulu

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 5, 2013

more

October 5, 2013

WGEF is performing outstanding work in Gulu, Uganda. It is amazing what the organization has been able to do with the funds and donations they receive. WGEF is truly making a difference in this community and has a mission worthy of recognition.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 1, 2013

more

October 1, 2013

Akello Beatirice is a single mother of seven living in Gulu, Uganda. Like many other women in her community, Akello still feels the lasting effects that ongoing conflict has inflicted on her community. Abducted at the age of six, Akello spent several years in the hands of the Lord’s Resistance Army before being returned to her community parentless and alone. For the years that followed, Akello continued to suffer under the hands of a drunk and abusive husband plagued with feelings of hopelessness and low self-esteem. These are the challenges facing many women currently living in Uganda. Marred by a history of trauma and facing economic hardships and oppression, these women seem to be fighting and uphill battle. However, it is not these hardships that Women’s Global Empowerment Fund chooses to focus on in their work to address poverty and the marginalization f women in Uganda. Taking a strengths based approach in their programming, WGEF puts emphasis not on the hardships facing these women, but rather on the potential of women as natural leaders in their communities. The results are stunning.

WGEF employs a clever combination of microfinance loans and social programming in their Credit Plus program as they work to help the intelligent and powerful women of Uganda realize their potential. In small groups, women borrow money to fund projects and business ventures toward which they already have an affinity. Through this program, Akello chose to borrow money to invest in a live stock project whose profits are now being used to support her family and send her children to school. In addition to these loans, women are offered access to a variety of social programs including literacy, leadership development and basic business classes. Looking at these programs through the lens of empowerment theory offers exciting insight into how WGEF women are able to work toward self-efficacy to regain power and control over their own lives.

Of vital importance in the quest for self-efficacy is the use of critical consciousness to determine ones place within an existing structure of power and oppression and push back in favor of a more equitable system. Through their Access to Justice initiative, WGEF helps women to define the gender discrimination inherent in the current justice system, as well as teaching them grassroots strategies to advocate for changes that will better provide for them and their families. Many women are then able to use these skills and knowledge as a gateway to political involvement, acting as leaders in their community to hold their government accountable for its actions. On a mezzo level, WGEF trainings in Gender Based Violence allow women to identify and fight back against power dynamics within their own families. When paired with the economic security reaped from participation in the Credit Plus Program, this knowledge allows women to make changes in their own lives, with many now finding themselves in a position of autonomy that conflict, oppression and unequal distribution of power have long deprived them of.

I strongly believe in the work being done by WGEF and feel that, by addressing the needs of both the individual and society, WGEF is posturing these communities for sustainable growth. It is an exciting time to be involved with WGEF and I encourage anyone interested in microfinance or women’s empowerment to learn more about their work.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I think the WGEF model is very strong and would love to see it applied to more communities.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 19, 2013

more


1 previous review
May 10, 2010

I found Women's Global empowerment fund through a classmate. I was interested in pursuing a career in the nonprofit world especially through microfinance. Now, after having been with this organization... more

September 19, 2013

I have been involved with Women's Global Empowerment Fund for about three years now. The most memorable experience I have had with the organization was getting to meet one of our clients from Gulu, Uganda. Grace is one of the most inspiring women I have ever had the privilege to meet. Her experience showed me that WGEF provides so much more than microfinance. Through the literacy and leadership development programs women are given the tools they need to be a part of important policy decisions in their country, and are creating lasting change. Women's Global has proven how a nonprofit can have a large and more importantly lasting impact on the world.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 10, 2010

I found Women's Global empowerment fund through a classmate. I was interested in pursuing a career in the nonprofit world especially through microfinance. Now, after having been with this organization for only a few short months I am absolutely positive that this is the career I want to pursue. I truly believe that in order to create sustainable and lasting change you have to help people help themselves. Women's Global is doing an incredible thing by helping women gain control over their own destiny through microcredit and literacy programs.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I haven't personally met any of the women whose lives we are changing but just knowing that what I am doing is helping them in such a big way has been one of the most rewarding experiences of my life.

More feedback...

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

very dedicated to the mission of this organization.

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

help over 175,000 in northern Uganda to start their own businesses.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every week

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

September 19, 2013

more


1 previous review
May 27, 2012

Women's Global Empowerment Fund is an absolutely inspirational organization, dedicated to helping the women of Gulu, Uganda pull themselves out of poverty, and place themselves at an equal level in th... more

September 19, 2013

I have worked with Women's Global Empowerment Fund for a year and a half now and continue to be inspired every day by the amazing work of both Karen Sugar, as well as every single client in Gulu, Uganda. The organization is truly breaking the mold of the traditional aid model by representing these women as the strong and capable women that they are, instead of viewing them only as victims of past tragedies. WGEF is so much more then just a micro-ledning organization, through the Credit-Plus program women are going back to school, participating in Leadership Development training, and securing themselves a seat at the policy table. This organization has far exceeded my expectations of what a nonprofit can accomplish, and I stand behind all the work that Karen has done, and will continue to do for many years.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 27, 2012

Women's Global Empowerment Fund is an absolutely inspirational organization, dedicated to helping the women of Gulu, Uganda pull themselves out of poverty, and place themselves at an equal level in the playing field. After seeing and talking to Grace, a client in Gulu, I have a greater respect and understanding for the powerful changes this organization can make in these women's lives. The organization is not just about micro-loans and finances, Grace continually talks about how the peer counseling program that was set up alongside the education and literacy programs have truly changed her. These programs which go alongside the loans, are what have enabled Grace to become a true leader in her community, allowing her to support four children, go back to school, have three business, and be elected for local governance in Gulu. That is just one success story, and the organization has more than 3000 women just like Grace, who just needed support to help them realize their undeniable potential.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 3...6 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers