Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
37 Reviews
1234.972975
Write A Review
June 2, 2012

more

June 2, 2012

The Women's Center is an amazing community center founded in 1971 and empowering women since! I have been a volunteer at the Center since 1980 when they provided a home to Incest Resources, the first organization for survivors of childhood sexual abuse in the country. The Women's Center offered us a radical model to follow on our path to empowerment, great mentors, a belief in survivor self-help and activism, and strength facing a difficult climate at the time. Without their support and encouragement, the national and international survivor movement would never have happened and survivors would have continued to live in isolation and silence. For the past 32 years the Center has provided countless survivors with a safe space to gather, growth-producing groups and workshops, healing and empowerment through the arts, and the inspiration and confidence to create educational and activist projects like the survivor newsletter "For Crying Out Loud," the Survivor Quilt Project, and the Survivor Theatre Project. Everything the Women's Center offers is free and opportunities for survivors are just part of what this extraordinary non-profit provides! After 32 years, I remain a devoted volunteer at the Women's Center.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 1, 2012

more

June 1, 2012

I have been a volunteer at the Women's Center for 4 years now. The women's center is such a special place to me. I have answered the emotional support line as well as provided a weekly yoga class to women. The Womens Center provides resources to women from all walks of life. From the battered women's support group, to the healing through art class, it is such a rich environment. To me, the women's center has been a place of refuge where I can be myself around other women and not feel judged or inadequate in any way. There is a strong sense of community and Ming, the director, is an absolute saint. I plan to continue vollunteering there and hope to bring my own children there someday.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 1, 2012

more

June 1, 2012

I had a great experience helping women with their needs. It was good to know that there was some place that women could go to despite whatever problems that they had or if they just wanted to hang out. I saw people using art as a way to heal, which I felt was empowering.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 1, 2012

more

June 1, 2012

I've been volunteering at the Women's Center for 3 weeks now and it feels so good to be part of this amazing place. So many women walk through the door every day and make use of the computers, the kitchen, the quiet living room, or the long list of volunteer-run programs or groups that take place every day. I'm just so impressed by how, no matter what's going on, there's this fundamental feeling of calm in this place. The staff and volunteer team at the center have really managed the toughest thing in running a space like this, which is to keep the atmosphere grounded and welcoming. Whether the role of the moment is welcoming new faces, or coming up with new ways to fix the faulty toilet handle, the whole community in this place are incredibly dedicated to making it a place where women can connect with one another, track down resources, or just relax and make a cup of coffee.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 31, 2012

more

May 31, 2012

The Women's Center is a warm place to stay! Center offers opportunities for every women to become a person who can advocates yourself and others :)

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 31, 2012

more

May 31, 2012

I am very proud to share my experiences and association as a volunteer at The Women's Center in Cambridge, MA. With a paid staff of one, and a crew of volunteers, this organization serves hundreds of women in the area, providing resources such as outreach, information, free groups, computer access, a variety of rooms that feel like home, a kitchen that is stocked with donations from generous people in the area and a helpline staffed by volunteers. There are also clothes available, flyers and information regarding insurance, activities, employment and did I mention a variety of free groups that can range from anything from Issues in the Media to Support for Trauma Survivors and everything in between (it is constantly changing, thanks to the generous volunteers who donate their time and expertise). The Women's Center has a wonderful director and dedicated volunteers, which somehow or other works on a very limited budget

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

May 31, 2012

more

May 31, 2012

The Cambridge Women's Center is home to many different political,healing,social groups for women. Though humble in appearance it's impact on women in the area has been monumental for the past 3 decades.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Unsure

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Okay

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 31, 2012

more

May 31, 2012

I have been volunteering at the Cambridge Women's Center for over 4 years. It's an amazing place that helped me feel at home when I moved to Boston. It serves so many diverse women with different needs! And it has a remarkable feminist herstory, roots that can potentially ground every woman who walks through the Center's door. I make a month donation and can't say enough about the CWC -- it has enriched me life, giving me a place to explore, discuss, grow and participate in community. The CWC rocks!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers