Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
37 Reviews
1234.972975
| 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
June 2, 2012

more

June 2, 2012

I've attended the Cambridge Women's Center's Lesbian Chat nights. It's great that they make the space available to our group and they have so many other support groups and ways that they offer support with very little staff and resources.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Likely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 2, 2012

more

June 2, 2012

Welcoming and warm environment that's very accessible

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

June 2, 2012

more

June 2, 2012

The Women's Center is an amazing community center founded in 1971 and empowering women since! I have been a volunteer at the Center since 1980 when they provided a home to Incest Resources, the first organization for survivors of childhood sexual abuse in the country. The Women's Center offered us a radical model to follow on our path to empowerment, great mentors, a belief in survivor self-help and activism, and strength facing a difficult climate at the time. Without their support and encouragement, the national and international survivor movement would never have happened and survivors would have continued to live in isolation and silence. For the past 32 years the Center has provided countless survivors with a safe space to gather, growth-producing groups and workshops, healing and empowerment through the arts, and the inspiration and confidence to create educational and activist projects like the survivor newsletter "For Crying Out Loud," the Survivor Quilt Project, and the Survivor Theatre Project. Everything the Women's Center offers is free and opportunities for survivors are just part of what this extraordinary non-profit provides! After 32 years, I remain a devoted volunteer at the Women's Center.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 2, 2012

more

June 2, 2012

When I needed supportive resources to help me rebuild my life in the aftermath of years of violence, the Women's Center answered that need in extraordinary ways.  The Women's Center helped me to find a skilled and sensative therapist who steadfastly walked with me throughout my process of recovery.  The Women's Cente also gave me access to three high-quality support groups where I met others navigating the road to recovery in the wake of sexual violence.  These support groups are sacred places where women come to share, to grieve, to celebrate living and to empower one another in the wake of violence.  These groups and the safe space the Women's Center provides helped me to develop into the healthy, empowered, life-loving person I am today.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 1, 2012

more

June 1, 2012

I have attended many groups at the Women's Center and I have also facilitated groups there. It is a very welcoming, accepting place and is a vital resource to the community. Furthermore the management of the Women's Center is stellar!! This organization provides a homey atmosphere to many underserved and disenfranchised women - and to all women seeking support and crucial information on all kinds of local services.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 1, 2012

more

June 1, 2012

I attend a meeting once or twice a month in the facility. The volunteers are always friendly and ready to assist you. Without the women's center many groups would have to look elsewhere for a place to meet.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 1, 2012

more

June 1, 2012

I have been a volunteer at the Women's Center for 4 years now. The women's center is such a special place to me. I have answered the emotional support line as well as provided a weekly yoga class to women. The Womens Center provides resources to women from all walks of life. From the battered women's support group, to the healing through art class, it is such a rich environment. To me, the women's center has been a place of refuge where I can be myself around other women and not feel judged or inadequate in any way. There is a strong sense of community and Ming, the director, is an absolute saint. I plan to continue vollunteering there and hope to bring my own children there someday.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 1, 2012

more

June 1, 2012

The Women' s Center is a wonderful place for helping women discover who they are. I first came here many years ago to help me sort out that I was in fact a lesbian. The supportive groups enabled me to come out to myself and to family and friends. I am extremely grateful this organization exists. I donate money and things on their wish list to give back to help the next person.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

June 1, 2012

more

June 1, 2012

I had a great experience helping women with their needs. It was good to know that there was some place that women could go to despite whatever problems that they had or if they just wanted to hang out. I saw people using art as a way to heal, which I felt was empowering.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 1, 2012

more

June 1, 2012

The Cambridge Women's Center is an amazing resource in this community, with a variety of classes, workshops, groups, as well as the resources that are always there for drop-ins (computers, the full kitchen where there's always something to snack on, and the kick-ass volunteers). I can honestly say that without the support I've received there, my life would look very different, and I'm grateful every day to just know that they're there.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers