Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
5 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
November 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Women's Center and Shelter of Greater Pittsburgh provides a vital service and is a valuable asset to our community. The staff creates a caring, safe environment for all of the women and children that they serve. It is a privilege to support this sanctuary.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 10, 2012

more

May 10, 2012

My first interaction with Women's Center and Shelter of Greater Pittsburgh was in 2006. I went there to learn more about intimate partner violence as part of my training/education in the social work field. I was immediately impressed by the passion of staff members and volunteers working with women and their children and to end intimate partner violence--it was palpable and energizing. The second thing I noticed was how comforting and welcoming the environment was--from the people who greet you when you arrive, the professionals working there, and the home-like and relaxing decor. Despite the fact that this is a confidential and high-security building, it is warm and open energetically. Thirdly, I was amazed to find that I was gaining education and experience about intimate partner violence from an agency that is a known leader in the field. Their work has always been cutting edge; they provide services that are trauma-informed and they follow best practices in all they do. Since my initial training at Women's Center and Shelter, I have had the opportunity and privilege to continue learning from them. I am thankful to report that they have continued to improve since 2006 and are continuing to do better, and better work. I am very thankful this service and agency exists.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 20, 2011

more

April 20, 2011

WC&S is one of the best nonprofits in Pennsylvania. It is a sanctuary in which every one feels emotionally and physically safe. I have been particularly impressed by the degree of training that all volunteers are required to undergo. We are trauma-informed, women-centered advocates. That means that everyone who works here, for free or for pay, has been educated to understand the terrible trauma that women survive when their partners have battered and abused them. Everyone is informed about the effects of trauma on the brain and body. Everyone is trained in active listening techniques. Everyone I have met here displays remarkable compassion for people who have been abused. All departments are well-organized and led by extremely competent people who would earn much more money with their skills in a different, profit-based workplace. People work and volunteer here because they passionately care about social justice. It's a wonderful place.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I've seen how it has helped numerous women obtain protection from their abusers and stalkers. I have also seen how women have become more confident and capable as a result of the emotional, legal, and professional support that they have received here.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I can't think of anything I would change.

January 3, 2011

more

January 3, 2011

I met a woman about ten years ago who was very isolated socially, depressed, being abused by her husband and living in the horrible conditions he caused; finally I begged her to go to this women's center and shelter for support, and finally she did! At first she didn't like the groups but she liked the counselor; after awhile she dropped out, but now she's going back again and LIKES the groups too. She is doing better and is more assertive and has reached out online to support groups where she has made friends and is subscribing to some things with hope that someday she can get away totally. Life is still hard for her, but she is developing self-esteem and sometimes uses her power to stand up for herself and to take breaks from the bad situation. I'm very grateful to this nonprofit as it may have saved her life.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

seeing this woman blossom and assert herself in some very important ways--and seeing her survive!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

encourage people to give it money so it can stay open and continue to provide services.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

How did you learn about this organization?

flyer on a table at a Cellular Expansion healing free seminar

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

February 16, 2007
3 people found this review helpful

more

February 16, 2007
3 people found this review helpful

This organization provides a vital service to our community – and it’s a great place to volunteer! I’ve worked in the children’s room at the shelter, and always left wishing I could stay longer. The children are always so excited to have someone new to play with – it’s a great opportunity to have an excuse to be a kid again! The staff of the shelter is kind and dedicated, and they make volunteers feel at home. Even more important, the staff creates a caring, safe environment for all of the women and children that they serve. The Women’s Center and Shelter is a great asset to the community!

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2006

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers