Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
31 Reviews
1234.870975
Write A Review
June 13, 2012

more

June 13, 2012

Women Work Together is wonderful. They have offered me the opportunity to grow as an individual and develop skills never imagined. My spanish has improved as well as my world view. Women Work Together works as a team and I love it!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 11, 2012

more

June 11, 2012

I am we went to a currently in Guatemala for my second volunteer experience with the nonprofit Women Work Together Last week we went to a small village where the young girls ( ages 11-15) are working on a project called " The Life of My Mother". The girls were asked to spend an hour a week talking to their mothers to learn more about their mother's experiences growing up, marrying, having children and then to write those interviews in a journal. Many of the mothers had never had the opportunity to reflect or discuss their lifehistory with their daughters before.

Our time in El Cedro was a very emotional and fun experience for all. After discussing the challenges and obstacles to completing the journals we spent time on a group art project where groups of mothers and daughters worked together to replicate a picture that they had seen only briefly. There was much laughter, team work and drawing as the groups completed their projects. It was wonderful to see everyone taking a break from school and work to have fun, spend time together and work as a team to complete their drawings.

After the whole group had time to see everyone's drawings, we returned to the journals and the girls presented their journals to their mothers, many of whom cannot read or write. The presentations brought tears to all of us and many of the mothers and girls as well. Girls told their mothers of their appreciation of the hardships they have been through and of the support they have provided for their daughters. One girl said she would read this journal to her daughters so that they would know about their grandmother's life. Several girls said they would read their journal to their mother. We concluded this part of the day by acknowledging the value of each person, especially the mothers in the room, since education begins in the home and it is only through their support and efforts that their daughters have the opportunity to go to school today.

Touching the lives of women and girls one at a time!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 11, 2012

more

June 11, 2012

I signed on to design and build a comprehensive new web presence for Women Work Together, and the members of the organization have been gracious, thoughtful, and a pleasure to work with. In a series of meetings we were able to identify the goals and strategies that made the project a success, and it was clear from the beginning how passionate they were about their work. Building a website is a lot easier when you know that it matters.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 22, 2012

more

May 22, 2012

It's been so much fun to volunteer for WWT. The organization is dedicated to "Keeping Girls in School" in Guatemala and the ladies there are always busy putting together projects for the workshops that are held 2+ times a year. I've enjoyed trying out some new skills on things that i've pondered doing but haven't had the opportunity or motivation to try on my own - such as putting together a book to advertise the organization's mission and hone some adobe skills. It's been challenging and rewarding working with such a great group of people. I was particularly attracted to the organization's mission and their willingness to work with me on finding projects to give back.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 16, 2012

more

May 16, 2012

My son is adopted from Guatemala and it's been a great way to learn about his culture. I hope to go for field work as well as a family trip to give him an experience grounded in his culture. I do IT work for WWT and always feel very appreciated.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 16, 2012

more


1 previous review
March 28, 2011

I just returned from my first trip to Guatemala with WWT and it was fabulous. I had heard about WWT for a long time and was sure that what they were doing was a valuable service but until I saw it an... more

May 16, 2012

Going to Guatemala and working with the middle school girls was probably the best volunteer experience I've ever had. Watching the girls as they interacted with each other and with the volunteers was like watching sponges soaking up what is around them. I helped organize a game night that provided lots of fun experiences for them. I look forward to being able to go again very soon.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

March 28, 2011

I just returned from my first trip to Guatemala with WWT and it was fabulous. I had heard about WWT for a long time and was sure that what they were doing was a valuable service but until I saw it and experienced it with my own eyes I had no idea what an impact they are making. Seeing a government caring about the young girls and women in their community as San Pedro does is so inspiring. Women Work Together and the government of San Pedro work together to help and to educate the girls and women of the community.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

person by working with the girls and seeing that they have dreams of bettering their communities and their lives. These girls want to be doctors and teachers-they want to break the cycle of poverty and help those around them.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

want to help raise more money and get more volunteers involved so that the project can continue to grow and succeed.

May 15, 2012

more

May 15, 2012

I loved working with the girls in Guatemala! It was an amazing experience. Even though we were there to impact and motivate these young women to get involved, work together, and take a stand in their community, I feel like THEY impacted ME in the highest degree. I was deeply touched while spending time with girls and women in San Pedro. They have so much energy and so much motivation to help improve their status in their communities. It made me realize how much of our help is needed. It is crucial that we continue to raise awareness about the marginalization of women in these communities as well as stress the importance of education for women. WWT has already made a huge difference for many women in San Pedro and the surrounding communities and, with more support, will continue to make a difference in an effort to one day make all these women finally feel important, valued, and cherished in their communities.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

May 15, 2012

more

May 15, 2012

While completing my Masters in Library and Information Sciences I was fortunate to be able to participate in not one but two trips to San Pedro Sacatepequez, Guatemala with Women Work Together. Dr. Ehlers had noticed that a common theme with her girl's groups was a desire to have a library so she reached out to our department. I worked not only with the Girls Clubs, the Women's Groups, and the Leadership Institutes, I was also able to work with the local librarians during my stay to lay groundwork for future library projects in the area. It was an amazing experience and I was able to see first hand how much the community values WWT and the impact they are having on women and girls particularly in the rural communities. My work with WWT reminded me how lucky I am and the responsibility that we have to help out those less fortunate. WWT is not about just throwing money at a problem (although money is necessary for the work) it's about working with the community and empowering members of the community to bring about positive change and owning their own projects and goals.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

May 15, 2012

more


1 previous review
March 29, 2011

Volunteering has always been a part of my life but my experience volunteering with Women Work Together has topped the rest. Not only was this a hands on experience in which I actually was able to see ... more

May 15, 2012

My experience with Women Work Together completely changed my life and revitalized my desire to change the world through education. It was the most positive and heartwarming event in my life thus far and for that I am so grateful. This organization is really improving the lives of girls and women in Guatemala. Everyone involved with Women Work Together are kind, compassionate, motivated, and most of all, inspiring.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

March 29, 2011

Volunteering has always been a part of my life but my experience volunteering with Women Work Together has topped the rest. Not only was this a hands on experience in which I actually was able to see the difference the work was making, it was also amazing to see so many people so thrilled about WWT's presence. At the end of our workshops, the young women would be hugging us (a few crying) because they were all so grateful for our presence and assistance. I could never adequately express how profound and valuable this experience was. In a place where women are rarely, if ever, told they are valuable and crucial to society, WWT is greatly helping to change the dynamics of gender. Women Work Together is an incredible organization with astounding people. This organization is proof that we all can make a difference.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

first hand experience. Going to Guatemala and working with some of the Guatemalan people revealed to me that this organization is getting results and will continue to get results. Not only is Women Work Together helping people but the people are also appreciative and encouraging of their help. My heart is changed by these young Guatemalan women who already have such strong opinions and strive to create change in themselves and their community.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

get more people involved but this is already changing. The organization is continually growing and as more people become aware of Women Work Together's extraordinary mission more people will get involved!

March 29, 2011

more

March 29, 2011

I am both a donor and a volunteer. I've been involved with several organizations that support women's empowerment in various ways, and WWT is a standout in the way that it opens opportunities for girls and women by encouraging them to make the most of their own strengths. WWT has made effective partnerships with local officials and organizations -- the local officials had helped women to organize themselves in groups to effect more powerful change in their communities, and WWT is helping girls and women to take advantage of that opportunity. By working with teens, WWT is helping girls see that their futures are in their own hands.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I was a volunteer workshop facilitator in the summer of 2009, when WWT was just coming into being. It was exhilarating to see the teenage girls and women opening up and coming together as they realized what strength they already possessed! Most of them had never had the chance to interact in that way, and it was a revelation to them. I have no doubt that community leaders were generated during those days -- and women who will be equal partners and even leaders in their families.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

simply let it continue to grow and extend its opportunities to more girls and women in Guatemala.

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

research and recommend a better, affordable, user friendly way for us to better organize our contact data base.