Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
10 Reviews
1234.95
Previous | Next
Write A Review
July 1, 2012

more

July 1, 2012

During my recent semester-long internship with Women Thrive Worldwide, I was impressed by the commitment, knowledge, and resourcefulness that its staff displayed as they worked to incorporate women’s needs and perspectives into every facet of the United States’ international assistance. Women Thrive has an immediate impact on multiple issues—trade, gender-based violence, agriculture— that are of strategic importance to women in developing countries across the globe. Their approach, which combines support for short-term relief measures with investments in long-term policy solutions for maximum impact, helps overcome the fiscal limitations and partisan debates of today in the interest of a more equitable tomorrow. Women Thrive is a smart, focused organization run by a talented and passionate staff.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

May 30, 2012

more

May 30, 2012

I was an intern with Women Thrive for a year. I was able to work in 2 departments with a number of smart, driven and passionate women. I was always treated as a valued member of the team and given the opportunity to learn and grow throughout my time there. Seeing everyone in the office work so tirelessly for the rights of women around the world, even when things weren't going their way was truly inspiring. I had such a wonderful experience with Women Thrive that even after being away for over a year I still keep in touch with staff members and follow their work closely.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

May 29, 2012

more

May 29, 2012

During fall 2011, I had the privilege of interning at Thrive. Although I worked only in one department of Thrive, I received mentor-ship and support from all the staff. I always felt respected, appreciated, and that my work was a valuable contribution. I most admire the work environment at Thrive which promotes leadership among staff, respect, and a value for time. Thrive definitely appreciates all its staff- which includes a focus on interns. Brown bag lunches where my peers and I got to pick the brain of leaders and policy- including Ritu Sharma- was so rewarding. I received as very well rounded experience- seeing Thrive in action on the Hill or on panels- and I was encouraged to learn by attending the numerous talks around DC.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

May 29, 2012

more

May 29, 2012

Women Thrive Worldwide is an extraordinary organization that has advocated successfully for women’s rights since 1998. Several of Women Thrive Worldwide's significant campaigns include advocating for the Trafficking Victims Protection Act of 2000, the Access for Afghan Women Act of 2002, and President Obama's Quadrennial Diplomacy and Development Review.

As an intern, I saw first-hand the tremendous collaboration between Women Thrive Worldwide and its domestic and international partners. This organization is certainly deserving of the 2012 Women’s Empowerment Award.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 24, 2012

more

May 24, 2012

I worked for Thrive as an intern, and it was a wonderful experience. The staff is made up of intelligent, capable, effective women whose enthusiasm and energy is inspiring. While I was there, the Thrive team went out of their way to make me feel included and involved, and always treated me like a colleague rather than "just an intern." The office environment was laid back, but extremely efficient, which made it easy to be productive. Women Thrive Worldwide is a great place to volunteer, and I would recommend the organization to anyone looking for an internship or a career in this field.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 24, 2012

more

May 24, 2012

I worked as an intern with Women Thrive Worldwide between January and May of 2012 and I was greatly impressed with the organization. More than other small NGOs I've worked with, they get things done. They advocate 24-7 on behalf of women throughout the world, making sure decision makers in DC understand the necessity of investing in women, defending their rights and ensuring that they have a seat at the table in all foreign aid efforts. As an intern, it was inspiring to work with a group of such hardworking, smart and determined women. In an internship it can be easy to feel like you're just free (or cheap) labor with no real voice but my supervisor made sure that I felt included and that my contribution was valuable. I felt like what I was doing mattered both to the organization but also to women throughout the world.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers