Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
58 Reviews
1234.913795
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

WIFV is a key organization that promotes the work of women filmmakers while providing the tools and training to succeed both personally and professionally. With over 70 events a year, WIFV plays a key role in the community by bringing together speakers, sponsors and influential members of the community to share their expertise and educate others.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

WIFV is an awesome organization for anyone looking to be more connected and educated within the media space.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

When I first began exploring the area, I joined WIFV DC and was blown away with the quality of people I met. The work members are doing is not only passionate and personal, but also echoes the world class production community that resides in DC. There is such a diversity among members - producers, editors, writers, artists, filmmakers of all genres as well as those in the technical side of the biz. We even have members who just love film. Its been a tremendous resource for me and constant inspiration. There are numerous workshops and roundtables regularly, as well as a commitment to community involvement. Any member will find support and expertise available to them, and the warmth and hospitality of a real community. As a new board member, my experience was validated when I learned most members chose to run for the board because they simply wanted to give back to an organization that has given so much to them.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Continue to find ways to clarify and streamline the many and varied opportunities presented so the public can grasp all it has to offer.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

WIFV is an amazing resource for media makers in the DC area and beyond. I've lived in San Francisco and New York - both of which are amazing towns for media types, but I've never seen anything as robust of as the breadth and depth of programming and support that WIFV offers the filmmaking community. They are amazing resource for media makers at every level - from students and those just starting out their careers to business owners and those that have been in the business for decades. The fact that the "founding mothers" are still members and actively involved 35 years after the organization started is proof positive that WIFV is the real deal.

WIFV has something for everyone regardless of area of focus -- from narrative to documentary, from editing, to graphics, to writing and directing and outreach/distribution. They also understand new platforms and new media outlets.

WIFV also collaborates closely with other media organizations in the DC area, around the country and across the globe, so they really have their finger on the pulse of what's happening in the media landscape. Plus, their convening power is amazing.

WIFV is the 'must join' organization for anyone interested in media making.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Raise the profile even higher. WIFV does amazing work worthy of a world-class organization and I wish more people in the DC area and beyond knew the breadth and depth of what WIFV has to offer.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

The WIFV DC CHapter is an advocacy, training and information star in the DC Metro Media Industry! There are several events to network, our membership is large and quite diverse and the LISTSERVE is outstanding!

It has been a tremendous asset to my career and I am honored to serve as a
board member.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Melissa needs a miny me, she is so great it would be good to clone her!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

When I was considering a career move to media in 2007, Women in Film & Video-DC was one of the first resources I discovered, and everyone I encountered said WIFV was THE place to start and grow a media career. I started volunteering right away and have had the honor of being mentored by WIFV's Executive Director, Melissa Houghton, for the last six years. WIFV even helped me get my first position in the industry! Along the way, I have gotten to know and learn from many WIFV members. In 2012, I was elected to the WIFV board, and now I'm Vice President of Development! Needless to say, I have benefited personally and directly from Women in Film & Video, and I recommend the organization to anyone starting or transitioning into a media career.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

I joined WIFV not long after graduating from college. A nearly a decade later, I'm entering my fourth year on the board and have co-chaired numerous projects. WIFV has a way of supporting your professional and personal growth, while helping you gain the confidence you need to become a better leader and organizer. Membership in this organization is priceless.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

find a way to pour more funding into the great work WIFV is doing.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013

more


1 previous review
February 27, 2010

WIFV DC provides me with opportunities to network and learn. From those opportunities I found employment, upped my knowledge base and made friends. WIFV - you ROCK! more

October 28, 2013

When I moved to the DC area a few years ago, I networked with a few organizations and found Women in Film an Video to the be most organized of the bunch. The mission statement is about professional networking and career development - and the organization follows its mission - but it is so much more. I have re-framed by professional outlook and career choices due in part, to the seminars I have attended.

As with most organizations - they are only as good as their people. WIFV is largely volunteer-led - and dedication of its members is top notch.
I have benefited enormously by my association with WIFV, and now in the process of "passing it on"

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Be able to fund a larger staff.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 27, 2010

WIFV DC provides me with opportunities to network and learn. From those opportunities I found employment, upped my knowledge base and made friends. WIFV - you ROCK!

More feedback...

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

The staff and volunteers are fantastic. All are approachable, and encourage new ideas. Their comittment to giving back to the community is what sets them apart!

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every month

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

I am now a Board Member of WIFV because, of all the organizations I have ever joined in my life, WIFV has really helped me transform. I wanted to transition into filmmaking for a very long time but did not know how. Because of their mission and nurturing atmosphere I can now call myself a filmmaker. We just conducted our annual ScriptDC filmmakers weekend which just keeps getting better and better. My personal mission is to make funding available to women filmmakers so that our stories are shared with the rest of the world. I started writing and producing because I was so tired of the way women were being represented in feature films and reality television. I really did not need to see another "unscripted" reality character throw something. I want to experience all of the layers women characters bring to story. I must say I have really enjoyed being a member of WIFV and hope to continue to help women as they have helped me.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get a major sponsor, like Comcast or Lifetime, to help with the costs of presenting the 60-70 educational and networking events we present each year - at the lowest cost possible so that all economic classes are able to attend.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 11, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 11, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

When I was in the early stages of production on my independent documentary, the best decision I made was to get involved with WIFV. As anyone involved in independent production will attest, it can be lonesome out here! Fortunately the WIFV community has supported me every step of the way on my journey and without their tremendous professional and personal support I would not have completed this film.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help WIFV gain wider financial support to improve outreach for vital areas we can have a positive impact such as with media literacy for youth, and particularly girls education.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers