Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
63 Reviews
1234.920635
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
September 12, 2014

more

September 12, 2014

WIFV DC far exceeds a geographical classification. Its members are actively connected to a global network of industry professionals, expertise, and resources.
September 12, 2014

more

September 12, 2014

Workshops, meetings, social events are exceptional and always timely with
leading experts in our communications arena. The executive director and team
very helpful in anything you need. I have been a member for years. A very supportive
community!
September 4, 2014

more

September 4, 2014

As a newer member of the film industry, WIFV DC has given me incredible access and support to a world I had previously felt was closed off and only for a select few.

I have no film school background nor connections but I have great curiosity and a desire to work and learn. Luckily, WIFV,
its board members, Director Melissa Houghton & staff, provided mentoring opportunities, tons of member support and exposure, and accessibility.

WIFV DC has been there for me from my first screenwriting workshop ever to helping me co-produce a short film and a lot in between.

Thank you, WIFV DC!
September 4, 2014

more

September 4, 2014

Women in Film & Video is a great resource for anyone working in the industry, both in DC and beyond. I have found several jobs through their email listserve, gone to countless wonderful panels and events, and have made inroads with what turned out to be a very supportive community of filmmakers. Their listserve is amazing - you can find anything you need, even if it's not film-related (but especially if it is). I can't speak highly enough of WIFV. I would not have as high quality a career in the DC video production scene if it weren't for this organization.
September 4, 2014

more

September 4, 2014

Women in Film in Video is an incredible resource to independent producers in the Mid Atlantic States. The group is actively engaged with the film and broadcast community on all levels, local, regional and national. The executive director is incredibly pro active and is always looking for new and inovative ways to provide its members with programs to enhance their skill set and knowledge base. The WIFV list serve provides independent producers with a sense of community and support.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

This is a group of very positive folks whose chief endeavor is to support women to the nth degree in their cinematic endeavors. They are so positive (and it comes from the top!) you just want to do your very best when working with them and you get a lot more in return, and I'm a guy...

More feedback...

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

I cannot say enough positive things about WIFV. I joined the organization as a neophyte in the film world and quickly found a wonderful, supportive and talented community in WIFV. I recommend this organization to every filmmaker I meet and attend as many of their valuable events as my schedule allows. Their dedication to the profession is remarkable and both men and women will find helpful resources through WIFV.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 16, 2013

more

September 16, 2013

At their Dec, 2012 meeting, WIFV assigned a set of actors to read The Setup of my screenplay BAD ACTORS (REV #5). The movie script is posted on www.TriggerStreet.com.

The 7 actors read the script, smiled and nodded they liked it. Three critics @ their evaluation table gave me useful
feedback which I wrote into REV #6.

The women who work behind the screen invited me to a social event in Sept, 2013. They described the nature of their work, the various subject matter of their film ("how to make trail mix," "how to shoot nature film," et al.) They know how prepare finger food, drink and party. Jim Moriarty, author of the ebook, "Professor Moriarty's Short Stories." on Amazon.com

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 13, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 13, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I joined WIFV in 1999 hoping it would help me transition into a film/video career. It did that and so much more! It provided me a slew of job opportunities, and a platform to fully explore and utilize my event production and leadership skills. I was able to gain valuable experience from a generous and supportive community, and have fully transitioned into a full-blown media and entertainment expert. I thank this community!!

The organization also allows its members to serve and contribute to WIFV's growth, which brings an indescribable satisfaction of giving back--or paying forward--and self growth. I was encouraged in 2009 to bring the Conscious Media roundtable under the auspices of WIFV so that others could discover this burgeoning genre. I was also encouraged by my peers to serve on the Board, and eventually as President, where others saw something in me that I did not see in myself. This is an amazing community of generous creatives and givers.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Like to see it's profile raised. DC is the 3rd largest production community in the US, yet we are still lagging in respect behind LA and NYC.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 13, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 13, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Without WIFV, I would not have gotten into the DC film world, met some of the most amazing collaborators, or had the guts to start my own film arts nonprofit. This organization is not only one of the most beneficial organizations for women in media in the Washington DC Metro area, it is one of the most beneficial media organizations in general. It fosters a sense of community, has an incredible listserv and professional development programs, brings together people working in disparate parts of the industry, and is welcoming to Washington DC's constant newcomers, students, seasoned veterans, and everyone in between.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

get them enough annual funding so they can have their own space for both administrative offices and programming.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers