Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
70 Reviews
1234.914295
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
October 3, 2014

more

October 3, 2014

WIFV is an incredible organization that is committed to supporting the work of its members, and promoting women in the field. They are truly an invaluable resource, and I consider myself lucky, as a filmmaker, to be a part of WIFV.
October 3, 2014

more


1 previous review
September 13, 2013

The fantastic members of WIFV-DC have introduced me to the art, science, and business of screenwriting and filmmaking. I'm working to make my dream cone true of producing a film about one of my ancest... more

October 3, 2014

Women in Film and Video in Washington, DC is a fantastic organization for anyone interested in making movies or videos of any kind in any capacity at any level of experience. My interest began as a fledgling screenwriter, and I've gained invaluable knowledge, compatriots, and friends while working on my projects and advancing towards my goals. Thanks WIFV!
September 13, 2013

The fantastic members of WIFV-DC have introduced me to the art, science, and business of screenwriting and filmmaking. I'm working to make my dream cone true of producing a film about one of my ancestors. It's quite an adventure--both his story and my venture into filmmaking. Everyone is supportive and encouraging. With several WIFV members' help. I made a short docudrama called "When Was the War of 1812?" that you can see on YouTube. What do you know about the War of 1812? You can find out!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

... get more sponsors who could help pay to bring in more working professionals from Los Angels and New York for Script DC--the anual screenwriting conference--and to honor more Women of Vision in motion pictures from around the country.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 27, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 27, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

When I moved to Washington, DC in 1993, one of the first organizations I checked out was my local Women in Film & Video because I wanted to make a transition from a career in public relations to writing and producing film. One of the best testimonials I can offer is that I have been a member literally since I attended my first WIFV event and have served on the board, programmed screenings, chaired committees and events among other involvement. Through WIFV I met several of my dear friends, developed vital and useful professional skills and, for some years, most of my work came through WIFV and the networking opportunities it offers. Speaking as a professional who has spent most of my career working for and with non-profits, I find WIFV to be a very well-run organization--efficient, welcoming, up-to-date and continuing to serve the ongoing and ever-changing needs of its members in this region. The listserve alone is worth membership, but beyond that WIFV offers classes, workshops, ongoing topic-specific groups, social events, screenings, conferences and more. It helps members get projects done and then get recognition for accomplishments. I don't believe I would be where I am today professionally or, perhaps, personally had I not joined WIFV all those years ago.
September 26, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
September 13, 2013

I've been a member of WIFV for decades and have found this to be the most caring, member-sensitive professional organization I belong to. What a great group to help us connect with one another, offer ... more

September 26, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

It's no secret that Women in Film and Video (WiFV) has the most amazing listserv and network in the biz. Need actors for a shoot same day? Send an email through the listserv and you'll have them in time. Need a piece of equipment on short notice? Send an email through the listserv and you'll have options. Need advice on a technical problem? Send an email through the listserv and you'll get multiple ideas backed up by your colleagues' experience with similar issues. Need contact info for a particular star? Send an email through the listserv and you'll get a response in minutes. You'll also find as many men who are members and active on the listserv as women. (Real men aren't embarrassed to join a women's organization!) Go to one of the workshops or seminars, and you'll find a wide demographic, from newbies just out of film school to seasoned producers, scriptwriters, directors, etc. This is THE resource for film and video professionals, with chapters across the country. Members are supportive of each other and not competition-phobic. This is the place to encounter colleagues with whom lyou can collaborate. I love WiFV! Have been a member off and on since 1984. Susan Fertig-Dykes
September 13, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I've been a member of WIFV for decades and have found this to be the most caring, member-sensitive professional organization I belong to. What a great group to help us connect with one another, offer each other advice, provide leads for gigs, keep each other up-to-date on our industry and its technology, celebrate together, etc. etc. etc.!!! An example: when I was living and working in Zagreb in the 90s during the Bosnian conflict, going in and out of Sarajevo during the siege, I suddenly received an email from a WIFV member in the U.S. who had found my name through WIFV. She was looking for someone who knew the ropes for getting in and out of Sarajevo with some donations for a women's group there. We'd never met, but because she was a member of WIFV I had no hesitation in inviting her to stay with me and I would help her work through the intricacies of getting on board one of the UNPROFOR flights (about the only way to get in and out at that time). We became friends of course, and are still close to this day.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

How could it get any better? This is an incredibly supportive organization and group of people.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 25, 2014

more


1 previous review
September 16, 2013

At their Dec, 2012 meeting, WIFV assigned a set of actors to read The Setup of my screenplay BAD ACTORS (REV #5). The movie script is posted on www.TriggerStreet.com. The 7 actors read the script, s... more

September 25, 2014

WIFV has brought me into their Writers Seminar @ Dupont Circle, Washington, DC = Intermedia Table.

A writer needs other writers to evaluate their work long before it reaches the general public. Other writers critique and improve the "work in progress." The seminar also makes me a better
critic to improve the work of other writers.

WIFV also provided Actors to read the Setup of my screenplay = BAD ACTORS (REVISION #6), available by Google after WIFV criticism. published on www.TriggerStreet.com.

James J. Moriarty, Jr., author of ebook PROFESSOR MORIARTY'S SHORT STORIES, Amazon.com.
September 16, 2013

At their Dec, 2012 meeting, WIFV assigned a set of actors to read The Setup of my screenplay BAD ACTORS (REV #5). The movie script is posted on www.TriggerStreet.com.

The 7 actors read the script, smiled and nodded they liked it. Three critics @ their evaluation table gave me useful
feedback which I wrote into REV #6.

The women who work behind the screen invited me to a social event in Sept, 2013. They described the nature of their work, the various subject matter of their film ("how to make trail mix," "how to shoot nature film," et al.) They know how prepare finger food, drink and party. Jim Moriarty, author of the ebook, "Professor Moriarty's Short Stories." on Amazon.com

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 12, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 12, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

WIFV DC far exceeds a geographical classification. Its members are actively connected to a global network of industry professionals, expertise, and resources.
September 12, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 12, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Workshops, meetings, social events are exceptional and always timely with
leading experts in our communications arena. The executive director and team
very helpful in anything you need. I have been a member for years. A very supportive
community!
September 4, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 4, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

As a newer member of the film industry, WIFV DC has given me incredible access and support to a world I had previously felt was closed off and only for a select few.

I have no film school background nor connections but I have great curiosity and a desire to work and learn. Luckily, WIFV,
its board members, Director Melissa Houghton & staff, provided mentoring opportunities, tons of member support and exposure, and accessibility.

WIFV DC has been there for me from my first screenwriting workshop ever to helping me co-produce a short film and a lot in between.

Thank you, WIFV DC!
September 4, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 4, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Women in Film & Video is a great resource for anyone working in the industry, both in DC and beyond. I have found several jobs through their email listserve, gone to countless wonderful panels and events, and have made inroads with what turned out to be a very supportive community of filmmakers. Their listserve is amazing - you can find anything you need, even if it's not film-related (but especially if it is). I can't speak highly enough of WIFV. I would not have as high quality a career in the DC video production scene if it weren't for this organization.
September 4, 2014

more

September 4, 2014

Women in Film in Video is an incredible resource to independent producers in the Mid Atlantic States. The group is actively engaged with the film and broadcast community on all levels, local, regional and national. The executive director is incredibly pro active and is always looking for new and inovative ways to provide its members with programs to enhance their skill set and knowledge base. The WIFV list serve provides independent producers with a sense of community and support.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers