Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
70 Reviews
1234.914295
Write A Review
September 26, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
February 8, 2014

Women In Film in Washington, D.C. has welcomed me and my Film Option book, "Pinkhoneysuckle," in to a world where I had no understanding. We, on joining are welcomed, and library and film services ar... more

September 26, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Women In Film @ Video, Washington, D.C. allows those like me with books which are, "Movie Options," to connect with experienced individuals who serve to educate, to inspire, and to guide us through a process which is unfamiliar turf. "Movie Options," are coveted, but more coveted is the time when the Option is initiated and a film dialogue begins. Through WIFV, in one day's time, one can see levels we did not know existed in the filming process, how people search for sets, design--And especially tender to me are the times when members can save dollars, for other members are so generous as to share their equipment as well as to report mistakes along with what was done well as they became a name in films.//Recommended articles for reading help us to filter out a lot of time wasted and go to the sources of knowledge the board and members may share.//There is a personal touch to so many events which makes us proud that such film library and talent exist in our nation's capital.//"Pinkhoneysuckle," my mid-century story of Agrarian Southern Appalachia had to be researched for dates and events of 60s included three assassinations and left a nation fully insecure, but this non-profit welcomes us to come in no matter where we are from--"Use our materials," so my novel covering Bible Belt, almost 19th century living, all the way through really growing up in Washington, D.C. has a central source which will have filmed all this former cotton field labor child could record--For women and children were so overworked in the south after the diaspora north--But WIFV is apt to be a film directors dream work place--Where else can one go and know pictures of Washington on fire as I witnessed will be filed and ready to support, "Pinkhoneysuckle," the novel as it becomes a wrapped up film. // We existed white and black, and we worked together to get crops in, and most other Appalachian writings will take you to coal country. Non-Profits will not have taken families with white skin out of the pictures--For in the cotton fields--We were all just trying to have a l00 lb. day, for three dollars could purchase dime store shoes. Poverty, the great equalizer; is part of unspeakable acts, so I'm one of countless who never dreamed that Washington, D.C. would not be just for homecoming, but the proof and story of my Appalachia exists where this, a number 1 non-profit has kept the footprint of our lives however it possibly could.//The best ingredient for WIFV success is that same equality spread out like a doormat, and once you've crossed in to it--Even with a large membership--The board President and all of those who serve there realize the challenges for the young as well as those who are older, and therein--They are setting up for a bright future.

Hollywood could learn greatly from these magnificent women and men--The, "Care," factor is something so unique to this group that one splendid moment--It would appear that these folks care enough to dance on the head of a pin. I congratulate those who nominated and chose WIFV once again this year. Thank you.

Barbara Everett Heintz, Author of, "Movie Option," "Pinkhoneysuckle," a story for adults and especially for history buffs, nurses and social workers who read it and come away realizing, "White Trash," and, "Hillbilly," are as unkind as any other name calling of human beings.

Congratulations to WIFV.
Barbara Everett Heintz, "Pinkhoneysuckle," Author
February 8, 2014

Women In Film in Washington, D.C. has welcomed me and my Film Option book, "Pinkhoneysuckle," in to a world where I had no understanding. We, on joining are welcomed, and library and film services are made known with the kindest of welcomes. I read the news letter with amazement as I learn every thing from the language and complexity of film--Then I breath deeply to see this 3000 plus member organization allow people to offer services from anything to do with film or to search for housing or a particular job. The price of membership is negligible to the offerings from the best of film libraries to technical support to we technically challenged persons who knock at the door of WIFV. Any person who has an interest in great film will see results of so many studies, reports of foundations and for the young and excited, I see internships and scholarships which you will find no place else. There is an over tone of excitement laid out before us about whatever is going on across the country in film at any level, and I am surprised that I have felt such a personal and early comfort in laying forward issues regarding film in our country when my area is writing. I guarantee that one will learn something through this boundlessly generous organization just by asking, for at no point has someone failed to respond to this novice who knew nothing of how my book could transform from book to film. Generosity is the number one anchor of WIFV which I see open to all, and along with that--Hospitality, and placing the two together was like coming home to a good mother after a long time being away. I do thank Washington D.C., and the workers from directors to volunteers who keep this organization at a level of humility even with its wondrous works and generous support. May each know that we are aware out here as members, and I gladly give my name to this 5 Star organization. Thank you. Barbara Everett Heintz

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would endeavor to hold on to the spirit which has brought it to where it is at this time, for the measure of its worth is not overstated in its best reviews.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

December 19, 2013

more

December 19, 2013

I had the amazing opportunity to volunteer on WIFV's first 48 Hour Film Fest entry. It was exhausting and exhilarating at the same time. Exhilarating because of the caliber of professionals that were working alongside me. This experience led me to another opportunity whereby I produced and directed WIFV's first Web pilot. I cannot think of many volunteer jobs where I could tap into an entire organization for assistance. I was able to find production assistants, a DP, an audio technician, actors, a set designer, a costumer, an editor, a music composer and the list goes on... I have cultivated so many friendships from this organization! My experiences with WIFV have made me a little smarter, a little more confident and definitely more media savvy.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would clone Melissa Houghton, the director. She is amazing!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

WIFV-DC Is a super-supportive community consisting of veteran, seasoned, and in-transition professionals in film, video, + just about any multi-media platform. You will find a healthy representation of freelancers, small/large production companies, and network executives. Each function presents a good time to network, get the latest industry news, and identify resources to grants and programming. As a three-year volunteer of its Image Makers program, I became hooked on WIFV and found each subsequent volunteer experiences equally rewarding.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

WIFV DC is an amazing resource for those in media. Both Men and Women! It has helped me in so many ways but the most helpful have been the networking and informational seminars. Being involved as a member and serving on the Board has allowed me the opportunity to get to know and to work along side some amazing people. People who are willing to take you under their wing and share with you their knowledge and network and are excited to have a hand in helping you grow. I have never known a more giving group of people. This organization is a "must join" and should be at the top of your list of professional memberships.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

focus on getting the word out more so that WIFV DC becomes a household name. In speaking with students in the area I would mention WIFV and hear that they "have heard the name but didn't know that much about it." If you're in Media, you need to know about it.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 14, 2013

more

September 14, 2013

I've been a member of Women in Film and Video-DC for five years now, having joined as I transitioned from playwriting to screenwriting. My goal was to find mentors within the community, which I certainly did, but more importantly, I was immediately and warmly encouraged to make my own contributions to the community. It has been through service to my fellow member, male and female, that I have found great satisfaction and insight into my craft, and in building those relationships, I'm continually learning, finding and creating my place in the film and television industry. I can't imagine that I'd been anywhere near where I'm at today without the guidance, support, and friendship of the dedicated group of filmmakers at Women in Film in Video-DC. I will be forever indebted to them, and forever grateful for my connection with them. I encourage anyone new to the industry to enrich their own opportunities by joining this vital and ever-growing community.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

If I could? I would write them a big fat check!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 3, 2014

more


1 previous review
September 13, 2013

The fantastic members of WIFV-DC have introduced me to the art, science, and business of screenwriting and filmmaking. I'm working to make my dream cone true of producing a film about one of my ancest... more

October 3, 2014

Women in Film and Video in Washington, DC is a fantastic organization for anyone interested in making movies or videos of any kind in any capacity at any level of experience. My interest began as a fledgling screenwriter, and I've gained invaluable knowledge, compatriots, and friends while working on my projects and advancing towards my goals. Thanks WIFV!
September 13, 2013

The fantastic members of WIFV-DC have introduced me to the art, science, and business of screenwriting and filmmaking. I'm working to make my dream cone true of producing a film about one of my ancestors. It's quite an adventure--both his story and my venture into filmmaking. Everyone is supportive and encouraging. With several WIFV members' help. I made a short docudrama called "When Was the War of 1812?" that you can see on YouTube. What do you know about the War of 1812? You can find out!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

... get more sponsors who could help pay to bring in more working professionals from Los Angels and New York for Script DC--the anual screenwriting conference--and to honor more Women of Vision in motion pictures from around the country.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 2, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 2, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have been a media writer for 35 years, and before becoming active in WIFV my contacts in my industry were strictly business-oriented. As a volunteer producer on WIFV's Web Series project, I am now working with dozens of professionals teaching the next generation of filmmakers and videographers the craft. My new relationships are beyond just business, they are a sharing of our love of what we do and an opportunity to pass our passion along. And by working with younger people, I am in the flow of new ideas that will shape the future of video and film--a terrific advantage for my own business.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Women in Film & Video is a diverse organization that offers so many different things to its members and the community at large. From the job fair to youth training, informational and networking events to an outstanding and supportive listserve, WIFV helps people in the media production industry learn and connect. Members use resources from WIFV every day to create both professional and deeply personal media projects. I recommend the organization to all the new and aspiring filmmakers I meet.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Okay

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I've been lucky to be a member and volunteer for WIFV and each experience gets better. The organization has been crucial in motivating me to start my business. The networking opportunities and the chance to volunteer have been outstanding.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 11, 2010

more

June 11, 2010

I am a student, and I've already gained so many important connections. I've gotten a lot of PA work and experience thanks to WIFV. Their weekly events are so informative and inspiring. I'm planning to start pre-production on my own film soon and I would not be able to do it without the help from WIFV

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Getting PA work.

More feedback...

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every month

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers