Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
58 Reviews
1234.913795
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
December 19, 2013

more

December 19, 2013

I had the amazing opportunity to volunteer on WIFV's first 48 Hour Film Fest entry. It was exhausting and exhilarating at the same time. Exhilarating because of the caliber of professionals that were working alongside me. This experience led me to another opportunity whereby I produced and directed WIFV's first Web pilot. I cannot think of many volunteer jobs where I could tap into an entire organization for assistance. I was able to find production assistants, a DP, an audio technician, actors, a set designer, a costumer, an editor, a music composer and the list goes on... I have cultivated so many friendships from this organization! My experiences with WIFV have made me a little smarter, a little more confident and definitely more media savvy.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would clone Melissa Houghton, the director. She is amazing!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

WIFV-DC Is a super-supportive community consisting of veteran, seasoned, and in-transition professionals in film, video, + just about any multi-media platform. You will find a healthy representation of freelancers, small/large production companies, and network executives. Each function presents a good time to network, get the latest industry news, and identify resources to grants and programming. As a three-year volunteer of its Image Makers program, I became hooked on WIFV and found each subsequent volunteer experiences equally rewarding.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

WIFV DC is an amazing resource for those in media. Both Men and Women! It has helped me in so many ways but the most helpful have been the networking and informational seminars. Being involved as a member and serving on the Board has allowed me the opportunity to get to know and to work along side some amazing people. People who are willing to take you under their wing and share with you their knowledge and network and are excited to have a hand in helping you grow. I have never known a more giving group of people. This organization is a "must join" and should be at the top of your list of professional memberships.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

focus on getting the word out more so that WIFV DC becomes a household name. In speaking with students in the area I would mention WIFV and hear that they "have heard the name but didn't know that much about it." If you're in Media, you need to know about it.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 14, 2013

more

September 14, 2013

I've been a member of Women in Film and Video-DC for five years now, having joined as I transitioned from playwriting to screenwriting. My goal was to find mentors within the community, which I certainly did, but more importantly, I was immediately and warmly encouraged to make my own contributions to the community. It has been through service to my fellow member, male and female, that I have found great satisfaction and insight into my craft, and in building those relationships, I'm continually learning, finding and creating my place in the film and television industry. I can't imagine that I'd been anywhere near where I'm at today without the guidance, support, and friendship of the dedicated group of filmmakers at Women in Film in Video-DC. I will be forever indebted to them, and forever grateful for my connection with them. I encourage anyone new to the industry to enrich their own opportunities by joining this vital and ever-growing community.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

If I could? I would write them a big fat check!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 13, 2013

more

September 13, 2013

The fantastic members of WIFV-DC have introduced me to the art, science, and business of screenwriting and filmmaking. I'm working to make my dream cone true of producing a film about one of my ancestors. It's quite an adventure--both his story and my venture into filmmaking. Everyone is supportive and encouraging. With several WIFV members' help. I made a short docudrama called "When Was the War of 1812?" that you can see on YouTube. What do you know about the War of 1812? You can find out!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

... get more sponsors who could help pay to bring in more working professionals from Los Angels and New York for Script DC--the anual screenwriting conference--and to honor more Women of Vision in motion pictures from around the country.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 2, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 2, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have been a media writer for 35 years, and before becoming active in WIFV my contacts in my industry were strictly business-oriented. As a volunteer producer on WIFV's Web Series project, I am now working with dozens of professionals teaching the next generation of filmmakers and videographers the craft. My new relationships are beyond just business, they are a sharing of our love of what we do and an opportunity to pass our passion along. And by working with younger people, I am in the flow of new ideas that will shape the future of video and film--a terrific advantage for my own business.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Women in Film & Video is a diverse organization that offers so many different things to its members and the community at large. From the job fair to youth training, informational and networking events to an outstanding and supportive listserve, WIFV helps people in the media production industry learn and connect. Members use resources from WIFV every day to create both professional and deeply personal media projects. I recommend the organization to all the new and aspiring filmmakers I meet.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Okay

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I've been lucky to be a member and volunteer for WIFV and each experience gets better. The organization has been crucial in motivating me to start my business. The networking opportunities and the chance to volunteer have been outstanding.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 11, 2010

more

June 11, 2010

I am a student, and I've already gained so many important connections. I've gotten a lot of PA work and experience thanks to WIFV. Their weekly events are so informative and inspiring. I'm planning to start pre-production on my own film soon and I would not be able to do it without the help from WIFV

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Getting PA work.

More feedback...

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every month

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

May 21, 2010

more

May 21, 2010

Women in Film & Video has been the best organization because of the people I've met and the workshops I've attended. There is an old saying that you get what you give, and that explains WIFV. I've volunteered since my membership started in 2001. I've gained friends, mentors and confidence.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I've started my own business and am about to embark on a historic journey that has been documented recently in the Washington Post. THAT is a direct result of my membership in WIFV.

More feedback...

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every week

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers