Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
58 Reviews
1234.913795
| 1 ... 3 4 56 |
Write A Review
June 2, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 2, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I think WIFV is a great resource for professionals that are independent as well as those that work in the industry. They offer a number of programs, and provide resources. I think that there needs to be more outreach to youth and young adults as well as more free or low cost programs/workshops/initiatives, etc... In addition to being a fiscal sponsor and media advocate, I'd like to see them become a funding source for film and video grants and competitions in the future. I applaud the Director's work, she is very helpful and supportive to a number of members, including a project that I have been working on for funding.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 2, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 2, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have been a media writer for 35 years, and before becoming active in WIFV my contacts in my industry were strictly business-oriented. As a volunteer producer on WIFV's Web Series project, I am now working with dozens of professionals teaching the next generation of filmmakers and videographers the craft. My new relationships are beyond just business, they are a sharing of our love of what we do and an opportunity to pass our passion along. And by working with younger people, I am in the flow of new ideas that will shape the future of video and film--a terrific advantage for my own business.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The amount of information and number of opportunities for professional development and networking provided by such a slimly staffed organization is amazing. It is a testament to the effectiveness of the leadership and dedication of the membership of WIFV. The membership is comprised of over 1,000 men and women who create media in the metro DC area. Members share successes, questions, information, job opportunities and much more. They also provide media training to young people and honor Women of Vision . There is a little something for everyone in the media industry at WIFV.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

People in our industry tend to work in silos, meaning they tend to not know what people are doing in other areas. And since most people are independent contractors, they tend to be isolated. WIFV brings people together, provides opportunities to learn and share information and best practices and offers opportunities for growth. And it has appeal to young and seasoned professionals alike. There is no other organization in the industry that has the vision or breadth of activities as WIFV

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

WIFV has been invaluable in their service to local filmmakers and writers. Their programs are top notch and they strive to help all of their members achieve their true potential. WIFV has been the single most important organization I've joined.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Women in Film & Video is a diverse organization that offers so many different things to its members and the community at large. From the job fair to youth training, informational and networking events to an outstanding and supportive listserve, WIFV helps people in the media production industry learn and connect. Members use resources from WIFV every day to create both professional and deeply personal media projects. I recommend the organization to all the new and aspiring filmmakers I meet.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Okay

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

My membership with WIFV started as a Student member and has continued these past 15 years. The organization fosters professional growth, community involvement and invests in the education of the next generation. While the name is "Women" in Film & Video and it does focus on developing women in the industry, it is a great organization for men also. When I was looking to start my own company, it was the men and women of WIFV who have encouraged and advised me. It has, more than any other group, given me the resources to pursue my dream. As a woman building an animation studio, it is the professional in WIFV who have been the most supportive.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

support and education to start my own animation studio. It allowed me to network and connect to people outside my sphere of influence and give me the tools to move forward.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I've been lucky to be a member and volunteer for WIFV and each experience gets better. The organization has been crucial in motivating me to start my business. The networking opportunities and the chance to volunteer have been outstanding.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

WIFV is a great resource for learning about opportunities and best practices for production and distribution of original productions. The members are incredibly resourceful and helpful to each other. The programs are substantive and practical. WIFV also engages in community outreach by an annual program that pairs teams of HS students with volunteer production professionals to produce Public Service Announcements for local tax-exempt organizations (beneficiaries in the past have included a women's shelter, youth groups, etc.). The teams' productions are juried and the winning teams announced to the entire organization at an annual dinner event (where al of teh productions are exhibited. WIFV continues to embrace new technologies, for its own use and to help educate its members and it offers benefits that are meaningful to members with substantial experience in their fields as well as individuals new to the area (geographically or in term of experience).

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

As a board member, I've had the opportunity to work with a great group of experienced professionals.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I think it is going great.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What is unique about this organization?

The mix of experience and the way WIFV can address the needs and interests of the vary diverse population of members in meaningful ways.

June 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

WIFV is an organization like no other. They are a supportive organization that actually supports people. I can't tell you how much we've learned, jobs we've gotten, employees we've hired, resources we've been able to find, all because of WIFV.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers