Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
58 Reviews
1234.913795
| 1 2 3 4...6 |
Write A Review
September 13, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 13, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I joined WIFV in 1999 hoping it would help me transition into a film/video career. It did that and so much more! It provided me a slew of job opportunities, and a platform to fully explore and utilize my event production and leadership skills. I was able to gain valuable experience from a generous and supportive community, and have fully transitioned into a full-blown media and entertainment expert. I thank this community!!

The organization also allows its members to serve and contribute to WIFV's growth, which brings an indescribable satisfaction of giving back--or paying forward--and self growth. I was encouraged in 2009 to bring the Conscious Media roundtable under the auspices of WIFV so that others could discover this burgeoning genre. I was also encouraged by my peers to serve on the Board, and eventually as President, where others saw something in me that I did not see in myself. This is an amazing community of generous creatives and givers.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Like to see it's profile raised. DC is the 3rd largest production community in the US, yet we are still lagging in respect behind LA and NYC.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 13, 2013

more

September 13, 2013

The fantastic members of WIFV-DC have introduced me to the art, science, and business of screenwriting and filmmaking. I'm working to make my dream cone true of producing a film about one of my ancestors. It's quite an adventure--both his story and my venture into filmmaking. Everyone is supportive and encouraging. With several WIFV members' help. I made a short docudrama called "When Was the War of 1812?" that you can see on YouTube. What do you know about the War of 1812? You can find out!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

... get more sponsors who could help pay to bring in more working professionals from Los Angels and New York for Script DC--the anual screenwriting conference--and to honor more Women of Vision in motion pictures from around the country.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 13, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 13, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I've been a member of WIFV for decades and have found this to be the most caring, member-sensitive professional organization I belong to. What a great group to help us connect with one another, offer each other advice, provide leads for gigs, keep each other up-to-date on our industry and its technology, celebrate together, etc. etc. etc.!!! An example: when I was living and working in Zagreb in the 90s during the Bosnian conflict, going in and out of Sarajevo during the siege, I suddenly received an email from a WIFV member in the U.S. who had found my name through WIFV. She was looking for someone who knew the ropes for getting in and out of Sarajevo with some donations for a women's group there. We'd never met, but because she was a member of WIFV I had no hesitation in inviting her to stay with me and I would help her work through the intricacies of getting on board one of the UNPROFOR flights (about the only way to get in and out at that time). We became friends of course, and are still close to this day.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

How could it get any better? This is an incredibly supportive organization and group of people.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 13, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 13, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Without WIFV, I would not have gotten into the DC film world, met some of the most amazing collaborators, or had the guts to start my own film arts nonprofit. This organization is not only one of the most beneficial organizations for women in media in the Washington DC Metro area, it is one of the most beneficial media organizations in general. It fosters a sense of community, has an incredible listserv and professional development programs, brings together people working in disparate parts of the industry, and is welcoming to Washington DC's constant newcomers, students, seasoned veterans, and everyone in between.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

get them enough annual funding so they can have their own space for both administrative offices and programming.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 11, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 11, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Women in Film and Television is an amazing resource for film professionals of all levels in the industry. The newsletter is invaluable, and the events are warm, educational and productive. I highly recommend becoming a member, and meeting other like-minded people. Membership is worth it's weight in gold.

- monda raquel webb, writer/producer

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 11, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 11, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

When I was in the early stages of production on my independent documentary, the best decision I made was to get involved with WIFV. As anyone involved in independent production will attest, it can be lonesome out here! Fortunately the WIFV community has supported me every step of the way on my journey and without their tremendous professional and personal support I would not have completed this film.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help WIFV gain wider financial support to improve outreach for vital areas we can have a positive impact such as with media literacy for youth, and particularly girls education.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

WIFV is so incredibly wonderful. As a transitioning professional--switching into the film/video world from teaching--joining WIFV/attending their events was the best move I could make. WIFV members are always willing to share their resources/lend a helping hand--and the events they hold help you get connected to other film professionals in the DC area. Melissa (Director)--is one of the most generous and knowledgable people in the field and personally has gone out of her way to help me and--okay SO now I'm gushing about WIFV, but I just can't say enough about how fantastic this organization is. My experience has been life-altering!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 5, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 5, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

An absolutely fantastic group full of support for women, and men, in the film and television industry, both in front of and behind the camera! Everyday I see resources made available to our members, i.e.: grants for funding, workshops, film screenings and our annual job fair, as well as opportunities to share knowledge and experiences with our members. Image Makers, a WIFV community outreach program, pairs high school students with non-profits to produce, from concept to screen, broadcast-quality PSAs for the non-profits. The students gain invaluable experience in TV/film production. I wish WIFV had been around when I was in college.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 4, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 4, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

From 2011 to the present, Women in Film DC has provided a platform for screening and producing the relatively little-explored area of spiritual, or conscious, film. Without hesitation, they provide sponsorship, mentoring, easy access to the film "world" of DC to advertise activities, help obtaining free venues, on-line sponsored roundtable forum, and full technical assistance. In essense, they have all but launched this exciting new genre of film with their generous contributions of staff, time, talent and interest.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

how they give so much expertise and time to fulfill project needs.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What is unique about this organization?

Although geared to promoting women, men are eqaually included in their efforts.

July 3, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 3, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

We recently needed to QUICKLY cast a variety of folks, men and women, to play Chefs for our business-to-business eCommerce site. Thankfully, Yolanda Arrington put out a request for us on the Women in Film & Video listserv and within 48 hours we had three REAL Chefs all with live TV experience and dozens of other qualified candidates. Clearly, this is an incredibly vibrant and networked organization. We are so thankful to Yolanda and everyone who wrote with interest. Chris Grant, ePURCHASINGnetwork, Inc., Chief Strategy Officer

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers