Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
58 Reviews
1234.913795
| 1 2 3...6 |
Write A Review
October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

WIFV DC is an amazing resource for those in media. Both Men and Women! It has helped me in so many ways but the most helpful have been the networking and informational seminars. Being involved as a member and serving on the Board has allowed me the opportunity to get to know and to work along side some amazing people. People who are willing to take you under their wing and share with you their knowledge and network and are excited to have a hand in helping you grow. I have never known a more giving group of people. This organization is a "must join" and should be at the top of your list of professional memberships.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

focus on getting the word out more so that WIFV DC becomes a household name. In speaking with students in the area I would mention WIFV and hear that they "have heard the name but didn't know that much about it." If you're in Media, you need to know about it.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

WIFV is an amazing resource for media makers in the DC area and beyond. I've lived in San Francisco and New York - both of which are amazing towns for media types, but I've never seen anything as robust of as the breadth and depth of programming and support that WIFV offers the filmmaking community. They are amazing resource for media makers at every level - from students and those just starting out their careers to business owners and those that have been in the business for decades. The fact that the "founding mothers" are still members and actively involved 35 years after the organization started is proof positive that WIFV is the real deal.

WIFV has something for everyone regardless of area of focus -- from narrative to documentary, from editing, to graphics, to writing and directing and outreach/distribution. They also understand new platforms and new media outlets.

WIFV also collaborates closely with other media organizations in the DC area, around the country and across the globe, so they really have their finger on the pulse of what's happening in the media landscape. Plus, their convening power is amazing.

WIFV is the 'must join' organization for anyone interested in media making.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Raise the profile even higher. WIFV does amazing work worthy of a world-class organization and I wish more people in the DC area and beyond knew the breadth and depth of what WIFV has to offer.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

The WIFV DC CHapter is an advocacy, training and information star in the DC Metro Media Industry! There are several events to network, our membership is large and quite diverse and the LISTSERVE is outstanding!

It has been a tremendous asset to my career and I am honored to serve as a
board member.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Melissa needs a miny me, she is so great it would be good to clone her!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

When I was considering a career move to media in 2007, Women in Film & Video-DC was one of the first resources I discovered, and everyone I encountered said WIFV was THE place to start and grow a media career. I started volunteering right away and have had the honor of being mentored by WIFV's Executive Director, Melissa Houghton, for the last six years. WIFV even helped me get my first position in the industry! Along the way, I have gotten to know and learn from many WIFV members. In 2012, I was elected to the WIFV board, and now I'm Vice President of Development! Needless to say, I have benefited personally and directly from Women in Film & Video, and I recommend the organization to anyone starting or transitioning into a media career.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

I joined WIFV not long after graduating from college. A nearly a decade later, I'm entering my fourth year on the board and have co-chaired numerous projects. WIFV has a way of supporting your professional and personal growth, while helping you gain the confidence you need to become a better leader and organizer. Membership in this organization is priceless.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

find a way to pour more funding into the great work WIFV is doing.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013

more


1 previous review
February 27, 2010

WIFV DC provides me with opportunities to network and learn. From those opportunities I found employment, upped my knowledge base and made friends. WIFV - you ROCK! more

October 28, 2013

When I moved to the DC area a few years ago, I networked with a few organizations and found Women in Film an Video to the be most organized of the bunch. The mission statement is about professional networking and career development - and the organization follows its mission - but it is so much more. I have re-framed by professional outlook and career choices due in part, to the seminars I have attended.

As with most organizations - they are only as good as their people. WIFV is largely volunteer-led - and dedication of its members is top notch.
I have benefited enormously by my association with WIFV, and now in the process of "passing it on"

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Be able to fund a larger staff.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 27, 2010

WIFV DC provides me with opportunities to network and learn. From those opportunities I found employment, upped my knowledge base and made friends. WIFV - you ROCK!

More feedback...

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

The staff and volunteers are fantastic. All are approachable, and encourage new ideas. Their comittment to giving back to the community is what sets them apart!

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every month

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

I am now a Board Member of WIFV because, of all the organizations I have ever joined in my life, WIFV has really helped me transform. I wanted to transition into filmmaking for a very long time but did not know how. Because of their mission and nurturing atmosphere I can now call myself a filmmaker. We just conducted our annual ScriptDC filmmakers weekend which just keeps getting better and better. My personal mission is to make funding available to women filmmakers so that our stories are shared with the rest of the world. I started writing and producing because I was so tired of the way women were being represented in feature films and reality television. I really did not need to see another "unscripted" reality character throw something. I want to experience all of the layers women characters bring to story. I must say I have really enjoyed being a member of WIFV and hope to continue to help women as they have helped me.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get a major sponsor, like Comcast or Lifetime, to help with the costs of presenting the 60-70 educational and networking events we present each year - at the lowest cost possible so that all economic classes are able to attend.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 21, 2013

more

October 21, 2013

Their ScriptDC event was amazing. Direct access to people who can help me realize my dreams. And done with spirit, verve and fun.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Thankfully, they allow men as well. It's such a great organization I wonder if a cap on men's participation should be considered. I am one of the 20% men involved.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 16, 2013

more

September 16, 2013

At their Dec, 2012 meeting, WIFV assigned a set of actors to read The Setup of my screenplay BAD ACTORS (REV #5). The movie script is posted on www.TriggerStreet.com.

The 7 actors read the script, smiled and nodded they liked it. Three critics @ their evaluation table gave me useful
feedback which I wrote into REV #6.

The women who work behind the screen invited me to a social event in Sept, 2013. They described the nature of their work, the various subject matter of their film ("how to make trail mix," "how to shoot nature film," et al.) They know how prepare finger food, drink and party. Jim Moriarty, author of the ebook, "Professor Moriarty's Short Stories." on Amazon.com

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 14, 2013

more

September 14, 2013

I've been a member of Women in Film and Video-DC for five years now, having joined as I transitioned from playwriting to screenwriting. My goal was to find mentors within the community, which I certainly did, but more importantly, I was immediately and warmly encouraged to make my own contributions to the community. It has been through service to my fellow member, male and female, that I have found great satisfaction and insight into my craft, and in building those relationships, I'm continually learning, finding and creating my place in the film and television industry. I can't imagine that I'd been anywhere near where I'm at today without the guidance, support, and friendship of the dedicated group of filmmakers at Women in Film in Video-DC. I will be forever indebted to them, and forever grateful for my connection with them. I encourage anyone new to the industry to enrich their own opportunities by joining this vital and ever-growing community.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

If I could? I would write them a big fat check!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers